We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It’s about the experience...”
Review of The Crab Shack

The Crab Shack
Ranked #7 of 59 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 8 - US$ 20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Crab Shack isn't just a restaurant, it's a destination! We seat more than 700 guests and offer both indoor and outdoor dining options. Both dining rooms and our outdoor dining deck offer picturesque views of Chimney Creek. Both the young and young-at-heart will enjoy our interactive, educational "Gator Lagoon" which is home to 78 baby alligators; our aviary which is home to more than a dozen rescued exotic birds, and our "Gift Shack". The Crab Shack offers traditional Low Country fare, including fresh streamed and boiled seafood and slow-cooked BBQ. We also have a kid's menu available with shrimp, mac 'n' cheese, hot dogs, and pizza. The Crab Shack is and always has been a family owned business, and recently began shipping our entrees in easy-to-cook meal kits through LoCo To Go. Stop by and experience all we have to offer for yourself!
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

Very touristy- but fun with the gators and birds although I can’t say whether the critters are super happy in captivity. They seem well fed at least.
Food is pricey and kind of bland but the house hot sauce offers good flavor if you want to kick it up a notch. Shrimp was cooked perfectly.
Atmosphere is cool- lots of candid opportunities. More about the experience than the food- but worth a visit.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecrabshack, Guest Relations Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We're glad that you enjoyed our peel-and-eat shrimp, as well as our unique ambiance and many photo op spots. We are sorry to hear that you found your food to be bland, please do always ask for a manager if ever there is any aspect of your visit that does not meet your expectations so we can take corrective action. We also want to assure you that all of our animals are well cared for and regularly seen by a veterinarian. We appreciate you recommending us to others, and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (5,422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 142 of 5,422 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

We came in last night- 8/17/2018 for our last night out in Savannah. It was the second time we visited during our stay and we were so happy to come back! The food is amazing and so is the service! Our sever last night, Anna, was so friendly and helpful. We are from NJ and told her we wished there was a place like The Crab Shack by us and she told us about the delivery service they had so that we can order their food! Yay! By the way we had the Captians Sampler platter for 3 and it was so delicious and fresh! We actually had it both times we visited! Yes it was that good check out the pics below! Not a bad view either eh?

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank thepintos2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecrabshack, Guest Relations Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your first visit so much you joined us for a second meal during a recent trip to Savannah! We're glad that you enjoyed our Captain's sampler platter, as well as our unique ambiance, our outdoor deck with views of Chimney Creek, and the service you received- we will be sure to pass your compliments on to Ana. We appreciate you recommending us to others, and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

We had quite a good time at the crab shack! The alligator pond was awesome. Our waitress, Ana, was great and the atmosphere was very hospitable and laid-back. I will say, the only reason I give this 4 stars instead of 5 is I was disappointed in all of the styrofoam. We threw all of our plates and cups away, and it seemed like a waste. But the food was delicious—we got a low country broil—and it was really well seasoned. I’ll go back after I work up an appetite! Very rich food.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Kellyisdabomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecrabshack, Guest Relations Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We're glad that you enjoyed your meal, as well as our unique ambiance, our interactive Gator Lagoon, and the service you received- we will be sure to pass your compliments on to Ana. We understand your concern about our environmental impact, and we want you to know it is important to us, too. We are currently researching more environmentally friendly serving ware. We appreciate you recommending us to others, and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

Really good crab and sides. Morgan was our server and very attentive and accommodating letting us switch tables. We sat outside on their huge porch which was a great atmosphere. Was 90+ degree day but shade and fans kept it cool. Derek was not our server however took time to teach us how to eat local blue crabs. Highly recommend for a fun and unique meal.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank MKington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecrabshack, Guest Relations Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We're glad that you enjoyed your meal, as well as our unique ambiance, our outdoor deck with views of Chimney Creek, and the service you received- we will be sure to pass your compliments on to Morgan and Derek. We appreciate you recommending us to others, and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

When ever we are in the Savannah area, we heard to the Crab Shack on Tybee Island for dinner. We have the Sampler Platter for one. It has crab, shrimp, mussels, crawfish, sausage, and potatoes. It comes with a bowl of butter and/or cocktail sauce for dipping.
Go there for excellent food and lots of great family fun. Prices are reasonable, drinks are not skimpy so I will highly recommend this place.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank 909peggyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecrabshack, Guest Relations Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We're glad that you enjoyed our Captain's sampler platter, as well as our unique ambiance. We appreciate you recommending us to others, and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crab Shack also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to The Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing