We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Tybee Island Inn - Nice Getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tybee Island Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tybee Island Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Tybee Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
653 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 360 helpful votes
“Tybee Island Inn - Nice Getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Most of the rooms here are extremely nice, for example, the Captain's Quarters has an awesome huge copper bathtub, the Lighthouse Room has a great balcony overlooking the gigantic tree in the front yard, many of the rooms have large bathtubs. The grounds are nicely done and there are many little seating areas. The innkeeper very nicely provides beach towels, hats, and coolers. Ice cream and other snacks are available at all time; cookies or croissants are available late afternoon. If you have a dog, the Flamingo Room is pet-friendly and has a gated area. The only thing negative & I hesitate to call it a problem is to access the bathroom in the Flamingo Room, one must use a very, very tight spiral staircase. My husband & I joked that it would be easier to climb up a rope & slide down a fireman's pole than to manuever the spiral staircase. If you don't have a pet, opt for one of the other rooms as the Inn is very nice. If you do have a pet, be prepared for a steep access to the restroom. Also be aware that dogs are not allowed on beaches; there is a $200.00 fine. The location of the inn is great; restaurants are within easy walking distance and the beach is nearby.

Room Tip: Unless you have a pet, avoid the Flamingo Room due solely to the steep spiral staircase used to acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hola4876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    61
    21
    14
    13
See reviews for
53
250
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We enjoyed our experience at the Pelican Cottage. It was very close to Savannah, the restaurants at Tybee and really close to The Crab Shack (very delightful as well). Pets were happy there since it was spacious. We look forward to another visit in the future. Thanks for the hospitality! "2 THUMBS UP!"

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We also booked our trip through Groupon which was a first for us. I was a little hesitant as I have never used one of these before. We could not have received a better welcome than what received coming into the B&B on Friday. We loved our cottage, and so enjoyed our Strawberry Cupcake after dinner.
The breakfast was very good, and served with true Southern Hospitality.
Thank you for a wonderful weekend, and look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WarthogOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austell, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

My husband and I just return from Trybee Island..We started at the Peclian Cottage..everyone were SO FREINDLY AND NICE!!! Cathy was that BEST she went out of her way to make our stay WONDERFUL!!! We will be back..

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markelnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

My husband I just returned from a weekend getaway at Tybee Island Inn. We loved it! Kathy our hostess was kind and generous. If you stay, ask her to make the oven-baked pancakes for breakfast, YUM! It's a quaint little Inn very near the beach. We stayed in the Lighthouse room on the 2nd floor. It was a little stuffy at times but we had a balcony with a screen door that we left open most of the time and it made the temperature perfect! We enjoyed sitting on the swing on the front porch in the mornings and playing cards under the gazebo at night! It was quiet! Yes, the Inn is very near 2 nursing homes, but you don't see them and you really don't think even about it. I have no idea why it was an issue for some.

The town itself is quite lovely. On our 2nd night we had dinner at the Sundae Cafe (fortunately for us Kathy mentioned we'd need reservations and we followed her advice!). I was thrown a bit by the outside appearance, but don't let that keep you from trying it! It will be at the top of my list when we return!

Overall it was truly a nice visit. No one seems to be in a big hurry and folks recognize the value of kindness to tourists. And if you are in the mood for some more vivacious fun, Savannah is about 20 minutes up the road!

We will return!

Room Tip: Beware that there are a few rooms that you have to traverse stairs for the restrooms... at least one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tybee Island
0.7 km away
Desoto Beach Hotel
Desoto Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Tybee Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
16.4 km away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
2.6 km away
Admiral's Inn
Admiral's Inn
#5 of 8 in Tybee Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Hotel Tybee
Hotel Tybee
#2 of 8 in Tybee Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.3 km away
Surf Song Bed & Breakfast
Surf Song Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 8 in Tybee Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
2.9 km away
Hotel Beachview Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tybee Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tybee Island Inn

Property: Tybee Island Inn
Address: 24 Van Horne Ave, Tybee Island, GA 31328-9780
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Tybee Island
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,106 - ₹ 18,751
Hotel Class:3 star — Tybee Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twenty minutes from Savannah, a several minute stroll from the beach and two blocks from the Tybee lighthouse, Tybee Island Inn captures the beach casual essence of Tybee with style. Sleep Your Seashore Fantasy in king and queen guest rooms inspired by the sea- Mermaid, Dolphin, Lighthouse, Sea Cabin, Captains Quarters, Savannah Beach and Sunset all with private baths, air conditioning and cable TV. Other amenities include private decks, gardens, gazebo ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Tybee Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tybee Island Hotel Tybee Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing