We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Phenomenal Work of Art

The carving is a work of art, not to be missed. There are very few places in the world where you... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Earlybird1997
,
Atlanta, Georgia
Beautiful

This is a beautiful carving. The laser show at night off the mountain is awesome. Going to the... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
rsbansley
,
Bloomingdale, Georgia
Read all 1,008 reviews
  
Reviews (1,008)
Filter reviews
1,008 results
Traveller rating
690
222
67
22
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
690
222
67
22
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews laser show mount rushmore cable car confederate memorial light show sky ride awe inspiring train ride parking fee amusement park other attractions jefferson davis beautiful park carvings history granite lawn
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,008 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We came to Stone Mountain to see the carving, and we were able to do that, albeit from a distance and through scaffolding. Nowhere on the web site did it say that nothing was open before 10AM, and that the train (and other attractions) don't even operate every day. We had hoped to ride the train around the mountain, but instead had to settle for driving...which was fine. On a Wednesday, there were really only joggers and bicylists to contend with.

At least we did get to see the carving, and we did get in a gift shop. And now I can say I've been there, done that.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank ClareBear5532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018

I visited Stone Mountain with my two boys. We learned quite a bit about the days of the Civil War from reading the various plaques while walking around. The ride up the mountain is a highlight, as well as standing as close to the edge as you can (safely, and with fencing all around). The views were pretty great from the summit and I enjoyed the brief history lesson on the ride up and back down!
My one complaint is EVERY single thing is an additional charge. There were extra things for kids (aimed at kids a bit younger than mine, who were 12 and 13 at the time of our visit), but each one was an additional charge. We were just starting our journey across the entire US, so I had not counted on EXTRA charges at an attraction we had already paid to enter and enjoy. Needless to say, my kids were slightly disappointed that we could not find a single "extra" that was included in the price of admission.

Date of experience: April 2018
2  Thank Tami B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

Must have been so beautiful in its natural state and cannot understand why anyone in their right mind would spend so much time,effort and money to create such a carving.

Date of experience: October 2018
2  Thank AdrianH1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2018 via mobile

Smaller than you would think lol but a great landmark to visit. The history in the memorial hall was interesting too. Would go again if we could avoid that stupid, price gouging to get into the park with the all attraction passes and $20 parking.

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank Bryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2018 via mobile

It’s one of a kind ART!!! The history and how is was made will blow your mind!!! It’s beyond believable, that and how this craving was made!!! Fabulous!!!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank JerBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews