We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We found a Treasure!!”
Review of The Brigham

The Brigham
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Whenuapai
Price range: US$ 7 - US$ 18
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 7 July 2018

Coming home from a North Shore Hospital visit we decided to check out The Brigham as we have passed it so many times. What a LOVELY place!! We were warmly welcomed and then shown the sunny area on the deck. Being between morning coffee time and not quite ready for lunch we chose the Nibbles which consisted of dim sims; won tons and assorted little savouries with dipping sauces. Not greasy at all and very tasty. A generous helping in a little bamboo pot hit the mark as we sat in the sun and looked over the gorgeous gardens. This is indeed a wonderful spot for a wedding or special occasion. We shared a chocolate brownie with icecream and a cappuccino coffee. We felt like we had discovered a treasure having not been here before. It was quiet despite being right by the motorway and the setting! Wow!! The Brigham has fantastic gardeners. We will certainly be back for a proper lunch in the future.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 1818Chrissy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2018

Today we had a 70th birthday for two twin young men.What a great place it is inside and outside .The food was fantastic,hot and plentiful,even for the younger ones in the group from 2 years or so to the older generation .Recommended for all ages ,we will all be back again at some stage THANK YOU..

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

The Brigham is beautiful! What a lovely garden - this would be a photographers dream and is perfect for any function. The staff were great and the food was good.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kathryng001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

Great views of the garden and they have loads of seating area to choose from.

Wish the quality and taste of the food would match the venue. A bit of a let down.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Asha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBrigham, Manager at The Brigham, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Hi Asha D

Many thanks for taking time out for writing a review.
I would appreciate if you could provide more specifics as to the taste of the food, so that we can improve accordingly.
Would appreciate if you could email us on info@thebrigham.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2017

We recently attended this restaurant with a group for High Tea. Even though we arrived late the food was not ready. We had to wait 15 minutes.
We were horrified when the food arrived at the tables the waitress told us they were short of sandwiches and scones. The bread used for the sandwiches was dry and stale. The coffee was served in a glass jug usually used for serving water and was luke warm.

We were not impressed.

For $25.00 a head this was not good value.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sillyshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBrigham, Owner at The Brigham, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Dear Sillyshoes

Thanks for taking out the time to write a review on our Food and services. It's disappointing that you did not have a good experience on your high tea.
I believe we have an obligation to respond to a review which doesn't consider or explain the other side of the story.
- We prepare High teas specifically for the numbers and time booked for.
In your case, as you said, firstly you were late, imagine the kitchen trying to cater to a full Restaurant and Café serving different menus including buffets, High teas and A la Carte and then they had to re do your High tea since you were late and then secondly it turns out that your booking numbers had exceeded significantly. We still managed to serve all of you (within 15 minutes of arrival) everything on the high tea menu except a couple of sandwiches short. This was compensated by the extra filo rolls, savouries, and sweet treats. We also had to extend the seating on arrival.

Probably, you should have clarified the booking details and arrangements with the Host (person who made the booking) prior to writing this feedback.

We still appreciate your feedback and will surely work towards improving our shortfalls.

Please feel free to contact me on 09 4167369 for any queries

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Brigham also viewed

Riverhead, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to The Brigham? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing