We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Effort”

The Rooftop at Ocean Lodge
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Our incredible Ocean View Restaurant and Lounge has an unparalleled view of the Atlantic from its rooftop setting. We are sure to become your favorite spot for friends and guests for a one of a kind culinary experience.
Reviewed 28 May 2021 via mobile

We called to make a reservation around noon and spoke with a gentleman who promised to have somebody call us back to book the reservation. We didn't hear back so I called again around 4 and spoke with Leonis. She made our reservation and was very attentive to our request.

Upon arrival we were finally greeted by a young man behind the bar with "did you have a reservation?". The place was virtually empty at 6PM. That should have been a red flag.

He made little effort to locate our reservation and seated us at a table near the back that didn't in any way reflect our preference.

Luckily Erin swooped in and found our reservation and moved us to the table that was reserved for us by Leonis. It was awkward and unwelcoming.

The setting was lovely but the food was poor. The Chicken Parm looked like something from Chef Boyardee. The signature drinks were about $12 each and neither of my girls could drink them. My daughter's tasted like it was made with green jello.

I hate to be so rough but this place has perhaps the finest views on SSI but I have no doubt the weakest management team on the island.

Go for a glass of wine and go elsewhere for dinner.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank MountainMan30523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2021 via mobile

Service is a little slow but the Greek ravioli and salmon entree were delicious. The calamari and Greek meatball appetizers were excellent also. Wine list is average but they only charge a $10 corking fee. Views are amazing but beware of added gratuity on bill.

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank VanillaAce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2021

The rooftop bar is outstanding and provides great views of the sunset and ocean. Limited food and beverage service except during high season (Memorial Day to Labor Day)

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2021

We went to this restaurant after reading a mixture of good and bad reviews. This is our first visit to St Simons. We have been here 3 weeks. The view is great. The food is OK. The service is OK at best. What really negatively differentiated this restaurant was the automatic tip that was included in the bill. No one told us. It was not highlighted anywhere. We were NOT a large party but a party of 2. I find this to be presumptuous. I am told this establishment is under new management. If so, that management needs to stop this practice immediately. Other choices on the island are better and they are not presumptuous. It is a shame, because the restaurant has so much potential.

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank sandyrupprecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2021 via mobile

We visited St Simon back in November 2020 and found this beautiful gem. We came here twice that trip and fell in love with the place. When my husband and I returned in December and then January 2021 we visited on five different occasions ! That is how much we love it. If weather allows, sit outside. It easily has the best view for sunset on the Island. The
Patio and restaurant are simply beautiful and the food is exceptional. We love the Greek ravioli and the caprese salad (it’s huge!). The filet was delicious as well. The chef came to check on us each meal. The staff was friendly and attentive and the food arrived quickly and hot. Nice wine selection and full bar as well. Parking was free and easy and we felt the prices were very reasonable. Can’t wait to go back!

Date of visit: January 2021
1  Thank Nld1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rooftop at Ocean Lodge also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to The Rooftop at Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.