We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,407)
Filter reviews
1,407 results
Traveller rating
844
313
132
75
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
844
313
132
75
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean front historic building cabana room north villas golf resort pool area beautiful view of the ocean shrimp and grits tennis courts low tide southern hospitality family vacation get away saint simons echo pools oleander
Filter
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 1,407 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2017 via mobile

We have been coming to the King and Prince since 1982 when it was much smaller. It has grown in size and retained its old world charm. The Cabana Rooms are our favorites. We try to come two times each year and always have a wonderful, relaxing visit. Highly recommended.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhonda G, Rooms Division Manager at The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

We are honored that you have continued to choose us year after year since 1982. We appreciate your kind words and hope to see you again soon for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017

We live in Savannah and love to drive down to St. Simons for a very relaxing stay at
The King and Price Hotel. The rooms are lovely and the pool, ocean and Echo restaurant are top notch. We call it our "Happy Place".

Room Tip: Relaxing Ocean Resort
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhonda G, Rooms Division Manager at The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Thank you for such a wonderful review. We could not be more happy that we are your "happy place". Hurry back for another visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017

I stopped in early afternoon for a quick bite/drink. The heirloom roasted apple salad was amazing. warm brie/figs/roasted apples/ walnuts. Just a wonderful taste experience. The service was outstanding and the ocean view was delightful.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tfdividender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen L, Manager at The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

We very much appreciate this five out of five rating and review! Our culinary staff works diligently to offer the best seasonal ingredients possible and we are always pleased when we receive feedback such as this!
Thanks again for the excellent rating and observations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

Booked ocean front room in Oceanfront Building, unfortunately it was on the second floor behind a cloth covered arbor and the view was less than desirable -- no room available on a higher floor. Room had beautiful bedspread, bolster pillow, drapes, etc.... All this freshened update was applied to dirty basics. It's an older building on the coast, one can expect old, but not dirty. One set of stairs down to the beach was damaged during Hurricane Irma leaving only one remaining set on the far end of the property. All beach chairs on pool decking, not on beach d/t tides. The location was walkable on the beach but not to town. When tide is low you can walk a mile out in the ocean d/t the sand bars. Ate one night at in-house restaurant -- love it. Had spa treatment - loved it. Lobby was impressive and I hear it is spectacular at Christmas. Despite all I would stay again. Make sure you know the building and level you book. Kudos to all staff we encountered, they were professional / pleasant. Parking was never an issue even though there was a wedding there.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Not_retired857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhonda G, Rooms Division Manager at The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. Unfortunately, we do not maintain the beach access stairwells, these are County maintained. They were damaged in the recent hurricane and will be repaired soon. The beach is also public property so we do not provide chairs for this area. There is a rental company that rents chairs and umbrellas available on the beach. We hope these issues do not deter you from future visits and we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

We visited the King and Prince for the Georgia Florida Football game weekend. We arrived on Friday night around 9:00pm and parking was a premium. We did find a spot and checked in without and incident. After checking into our partial ocean view room on the 2nd floor we moved out car to the lot that was secured by and electric gate. We used the pre-order breakfast door hanger and ordered room service breakfast for the next morning prior to going to the football game.

Saturday morning our room service breakfast arrived right on time and was correct. The order was tasty and warm. We were able to sit a few minutes on our balcony, sip coffee, and enjoy the view.

Our room was of reasonable size. The bathroom was large and well stocked. We realize we were in the historic building; therefore the room was a bit dated. The balcony really showed its age. Our bed was comfortable. However the Wi-Fi in the room just did not work. It was so slow that it was unusable. We realize this was a football weekend and there were lots of drunks walking the halls and being loud late at night. I guess that is just part of the GA/FL experience.

Up until Saturday morning things were going pretty well but then things fell apart. We had signed up for the hotel’s transportation to the football game in Jacksonville (a 75 minute drive at $100 per person). They had a mimosa and bloody mary bar while you checked in and went to your assigned bus. Well they sent my wife and me to the wrong bus. We left 15 minutes late (really not too bad). Our bus hostess was very nice as was our driver. We were in bus 3 of 4. As we got to Jacksonville we followed the lead bus. That was a BIG problem as the lead bus got lost. What should have been a 90 minute ride was stretching into 2 ½ hours and we were nowhere near our parking lot. After 3 hours the bus was just stopped fairly close to the stadium so we bailed from the bus. We had to jump a ditch but made it to the game. We later learned the bus got to the appropriate lot at 3:00pm which with the 30 minute walk you would have been late for the game. It was a 4 hour drive because of getting lost.

Well after the game it only got worse. 9 of our bus mates were 1 ½ drunken hours late. We were scheduled to leave at 8:00pm but they arrived at 9:30. Now this is important, the hotel knew we were going to be late. We arrived around 11:00pm. My wife and I asked if we could get food from the restaurant or room service and were very rudely told no. The hotel had bought some pizzas for patrons who were not on the busses but no arrangement were made for us. A decent hotel would have kept the kitchen open for their guests, not the K & P. I strongly brought this to the attention to the manager of the front desk, Katrina Batson, and she could have cared less. She was probably the worst front desk person I have ever seen. Thankfully a gentleman who worked at the hotel offered to get us something to eat (you see we have a medical need for food). There were other bus patrons who were madder than me.

Sunday morning we just wanted out of the hotel. However the gated parking lot was blocked by a parked car and we had to get out the entrance lane.

I mentioned to Sunday’s front desk folks that our stay sucked and they had the “well we don’t care attitude also”. I had asked the general manager to give me a call. As of Sunday evening no one has even acknowledged out situations.

The really bad thing here is we have been visiting the K&P for over 30 years. The service there used to be first class but now it is not even 4th class. You know using TripAdvisor’s rankings the K&P is the 6th best hotel on the island behind the Hampton Inn and Best Western. This is truly a shame. We will not be back to and establishment where they don’t care about their patrons and expect top prices.

Room Tip: Stay away but if you must stay ask for a 2nd floor room in the historic building. You might get a balcony.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank colt07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingprince, General Manager at The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor although we are very disappointed that it is not a five star review. We are glad that your visit started off well and you enjoyed your room and breakfast on Saturday morning. It seems the challenges started with the charter bus service we contracted to take our guests to the Georgia-Florida football game in Jacksonville. I do apologize for the fact it did not go as smoothly as in the past and for the inconvenience created when the bus left the parking lot later than planned. Historically the buses return between 10 and 10:30 pm each year and in the past we have offered pizza with positive results so we offered it again this year. We have not experienced a need for other foods for medical reasons until your request this year so next year we will have the ability for a limited sandwich and salad offering. I also apologize for your interaction with our Front Desk and the fact they did not seem to care, I assure we do care about all our guests no matter the circumstances. It is not our intention to purposely create a situation that causes a King and Prince guest to leave unhappy and in your case that is exactly what we did and I am very sorry for doing so. In closing I would like to point out that the King and Prince is currently ranked third of ten hotels in our area and has received the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Award for the past five years so we do have the ability to make our guests extremely happy. We do strive daily to serve our guest with true Southern Hospitality but admit we are not perfect and can make mistakes and regret very much that it happened to you and your wife on this recent visit We only hope you will give us another chance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews