We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and Enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The James Madison Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Madison B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Enjoyable”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

My wife and I spent a most pleasant afternoon and evening at the James Madison Inn. After
a very friendly greeting, we settled into an immaculate room on the so-called "market side." Our "luxury king" room had a terrace, and the bathroom had a double vanity and great shower.

In addition, the bed was the most comfortable I had ever slept in. When I happened to
mention this at checkout, we learned that the mattress was made locally at Georgia Sleep Shop
in Madison. We had an excellent dinner at Town 220 (behind the inn), and breakfast was more
than satisfactory downstairs in the inn.

Room Tip: Our room on the first floor was totally quiet. The "park side" did not seem to be having...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Princeton Tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    32
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
157
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Stayed at this charming place last year as a last minute get away, and returned this month for the same. The rooms were once again just as gorgeous as last year and furnished with impeccable taste.
Linens are the most luxurios, and even the upholstered chairs and room darkening drapes were custom made out of the finest fabric. (maybe not so important to some, but believe me it adds to the overall feel). Ive never stayed in a hotel or Inn of any kind that allowed you to turn the thermostat as cold as we did, which was heavenly after returning from a day in the 90 degree Georgia heat. All rooms have ceiling fans, fabulous hot showers, and too many special comforts to list.
I travel often, rarely write reviews, but couldnt continue to keep silent about this place. The town of Madison itself is full of southern history and beauty. And while its not my choice for a family vacation spot with the kids, it is certainly among my favorite places to browse shops, learn some great southern history, eat in some fine restaurants and relax in an environment of days gone by. Oh, and this hotel (more like a fine southern mansion then a hotel)is across from distance of the main town park where many festivals take place, and within walking distance of the great shops, restaurants and spas that Madison is also known for!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmtlsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We enjoyed the James Madison in during a BRAG bicycle weekend. The location of the inn was absolutely perfect. The service was high quality across every person we met. The breakfast (included) was basic but the rooms were nice and we'd absolutely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you have a view of the square, there's road noise - you may prefer a view of the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank altanta-annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

this was my third year in a row staying here while participating in the BRAG spring tune up bike ride. the staff is friendly and accomodating. the rooms are lovely, with high quality linens, towels, toiletries, etc. Very high end accommodations.

Room Tip: marketside is quieter, parkside is better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johninatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We selected the James Madison Inn as it was a sponsor of our weekend bike ride in Madison, GA. The location is very convenient to downtown restaurants and shops - easy walking distance. The Inn is quaint with just two floors and 17 rooms and has the feel of a large southern plantation with ornate wood trim and chandeliers. While the wooden floors with carpets are beautiful, you can often hear people walking in the hallways. In addition, the walls are thin as we could hear the person in the next room snoring. The rooms have wonderful balconies with a table & chairs. Some of the rooms overlook Washington Street & a park while the other rooms overlook their
back parking lot. Sitting on the balcony we could watch the activity in the park across the
street and downtown - which was fun - however, at night we heard every car that drove by. The staff was terrific - very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golferandrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison
4.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Madison
4.4 km away
Hampton Inn Madison
Hampton Inn Madison
#4 of 6 in Madison
3.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
27.2 km away
The Lodge on Lake Oconee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.1 km away
The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee
4.9 km away
Days Inn Madison
Days Inn Madison
#3 of 6 in Madison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
4.5 km away
Quality Inn Madison
Quality Inn Madison
#6 of 6 in Madison
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Madison Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Madison Inn

Property: The James Madison Inn
Address: 260 W Washington St, Madison, GA 30650-1210 (Formerly The James Madison Inn and Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Madison
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Madison
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,275 - ₹ 21,585
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic downtown Madison, The James Madison Inn and Conference Center is within walking distance of antebellum homes, graceful parks, stellar shops, art & antique galleries, spas and fine restaurants. It is elegantly appointed and offers a unique, luxurious way to experience Madison. Seventeen rooms and two suites in this boutique hotel set the stage for luxurious Southern hospitality. With paintings of landmarks, custom furniture and peerless service, the inn brings local lore and Southern charm to life for guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing