We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Judge a Book By It's Cover”
Review of Cart Barn Grill

Cart Barn Grill
Ranked #2 of 121 Restaurants in LaGrange
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Reviewed 12 June 2017

Located in what may have at one time been the building housing the stuff for a driving range, you are going to be sure you have hit a new level of dive when you pull into the parking lot except you might be challenged to locate a parking spot. Obviously there is little to no pretense.

Once you enter you will find the walls decorated with all kinds of golf stuff and that is standard since once upon a time this used to be a driving range. It is now as good of a place to dine as you will find.

Menu varies as the print it up based on what they have. Making a choice was really hard as they had a lot of tempting stuff. Where else can go go where they have an interesting Grouper, Snapper, and Halibut dish all on the same menu?

Servers were college age girls who ought to be training servers in higher end places. I eat a lot of places all over the place in all kinds of locations. I have never felt more at home or appreciated than here.

BTW they do not pour alcohol but welcome you to bring your own.

1  Thank cvbond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2017

Stopped here for dinner. Fairly long wait until we were seated at a table that hadn't been cleared. Finally cleaned it up and sat down, only to realize an ice-cold ac vent was blowing on us from above. I wanted to leave, but my wife hung in there through what turned out to be one of the worse meals on many a road trip. Shrimp was fried, as was clam cake, oh, come to think of it was all fried and tasteless.
Service was clueless. Brought us our (bland) salads, but, alas, no silverware until we chased someone down. Bill was $42.10
Learn from our agony. Avoid this dump.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BarefootTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bass1LagrangeGeorgia, Owner at Cart Barn Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

dear barefoot sorry you didn't like our place. on our crab crake and shrimp the shrimp are fried the crab cake not clam cake is sautéed in butter. on Wednesday we did experience a busier than usual day which is no excuse as to the service you received we try hard to make everyone feel at home and this time it slipped through the crack. if asked we would have turned up the air. all I can do is apologize since you live so far away

tony
owner
cart barn grill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017 via mobile

From the outside, you'd never believe this place creates the "chef style" dishes that Tony and his staff create. We had flounder stuffed with crab and fried triple tail. Both were delicious. The bread with honey drizzled butter was an extra special treat. If you plan to go- go early - like as soon as they open. The place is small and fills up quickly. It was a little pricey but for an every now and then treat, it's manageable. It's also a little dark inside with not much light - just part of the atmosphere of the place. If you are in LaGrange - go - check it out.

Thank phylwith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

The Cart Barn is located in an older golf shop with a driving range. There is both indoor seating and seating on an enclosed porch with total seating of approximately 70 people. Lunch is served from Monday through Friday, while dinner is served from Tuesday through Friday. The menu favors seafood and steak dishes as well as sandwiches, all of which are excellent. Prices for the seafood and steaks range from $18 to $27 while sandwiches range in price from $8 to $11. Soft drinks are available and beer/wine are BYOB.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DaiQin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

Tony Bishop's Cart Barn continues to be a favorite dining destination from folks far and wide. We live 90 miles away and still are drawn to his venue for a great steak or lobster.

Sadly, for his customers - happy for Tony, a huge Wolf Indoor Water Park will use his property in it's development. Tony says he will be open for about a year and then retire.

Thank Jimmyfromga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cart Barn Grill also viewed

 

Been to Cart Barn Grill? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing