We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WILL NEVER GO THERE AGAIN”
Review of The Wharf

The Wharf
Reserve with OpenTable
The Wharf is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 30
Description: Now Open! The Wharf is the region’s finest waterfront, casual dining, and entertainment venue on the pier.
Restaurant details
Description: Now Open! The Wharf is the region’s finest waterfront, casual dining, and entertainment venue on the pier.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We will never go there again. My husband and I have been here many times over the years. Our daughter and her family were visiting and we took them there today. Waited over 1 1/2 hours for our food (after asking twice how much longer). Only after we told them we were leaving did they say it was being "plated right then." 15 minutes later, the food arrived. I ordered a fish sandwich and it was RAW. I told them to take it back and didn't have time to wait for them to cook it. When the waitress brought our bill, she said "we took the fish sandwich off the bill." YES, I DIDN'T GET AN EDIBLE FISH SANDWICH." My husband and I waited to talk to the manager and he was useless. Just kept saying, they didn't expect to be do busy. IT WAS SPRING BREAK IN GEORGIA, IDIOT. They didn't even comp anything on the bill. The other food my family got was definitely not worth the price. We will NEVER go back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank jcodyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 111 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018

Arrived @ 7:30pm. Not too busy but had to wait 15 minutes before we were seated.
The location and setting are outstanding. Watched the sunset over the marsh.
The service was slow. Our server had no sense of urgency. Our food took well over 30 minutes and was lukewarm. The appetizers were good. The entrees were just ok.
I actually stood outside of the kitchen to retrieve one of our orders.
The server just kept apologizing but continued to move along at a slow pace.
No sign of a manager anywhere.
It’s really a shame to have such a great location and beautiful restaurant - yet, such poor service and ok food. Won’t be back.

Thank Greg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce W, General Manager at The Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for your comments. We did have some challenges at the restaurant this week that the Director of Food and Beverage is working on as we speak, which should help correct the issues in your review. We do take all of our guests' feedback to heart. We appreciate you stopping in for dinner and are happy you did enjoy the setting and our beautiful sunset. We hope you may change your mind and give us another try in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Have absolutely loved this venue since the 90's when we first started coming here. Was so glad this place reopened after being closed for so long. Went on a Saturday night and sat outside with a large party of 8. Band was great but service was way too slow....waaaaay too long to get refills on drinks. One from our party ordered the low country boil and everyone else received their food, but no low country boil. It was finally delivered approx 15-20 mins after everyone else got their meal. We told them to take it back because everyone else was finished with their meal by then. No apology from server and no explanation from management. I'm not the type of person who complains to management but I would've thought someone from the management team would've come out to say sorry and perhaps offer some type of complimentary food/beverage to make up for it, but none of that happened. Will go back for a 2nd chance because the venue and views are so spectacular....hope for a better experience next time!

Thank burtonscotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce W, General Manager at The Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for giving us another try. We are sorry that there were extended wait times on your food when dining with us on Saturday. This feedback has been shared with the management down at the restaurant and they are working on improving in this area. We are glad to know you enjoyed our improvements as well as the entertanment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

It took 1.5 hours before we were able to complete a meal of fish tacos! When we walked in, the restaurant was nearly empty as was the Lanai. The hostess said, “we can seat you but your food order won’t be placed for 30 minutes!” HUH? Our reservations were done through Open Table. Good view of the pier,bridge and water. DO NOT book a boat cruise before you eat. Would never go back! Obviously there are management and kitchen issues here!!

Thank HGKCFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce W, General Manager at The Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

We do appreciate the feedback and apologize for the extended wait on your meals during your recent dining experience at The Wharf. The manager of the restaurant as well as the Director of Food and Beverage are working on correcting these issues. (The boat cruise operation is a separate entity from the restaurant.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

The menu is extensive and our food was good. Our waitress was nice and took good care of us. Our only complaint was that the restaurant was a bit noisy. It didn't ruin our experience however. If you plan on dining in prime time make a reservation.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce W, General Manager at The Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thanks for dining with us recently. It sounds like you had a nice time! We appreciate you taking the time for a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wharf also viewed

Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to The Wharf? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing