We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Weekend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

Villas by the Sea is a great spot for golf groups or a family reunion. We started working with manager Ryan Merritt in April. We were a golf group of 15 couples over New Years weekend, each having our own ocean front villa with LR, dining area, kitchen, bedroom and bath. The villas were clean and comfortable. Can't say enough about Ryan. Rob Ellis, head Pro at the golf club was excellent in arranging special rates for our Saturday tournament. It was Ryan Merritt who recommended Latitude 31 to us for our New Years Eve group dinner. Hat's off to the Villas. We were there a few years back for a group weekend and we'll be back again!

Room Tip: The ocean is right out your sliding glass door and across the grass. If you have a group event, boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara4301951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We were so happy to have your group with us. We hope you make Villas by the Sea Resort and Jekyll Island an annual event. You were a pleasure to work with and I look forward to working with you again. -Ryan Merritt, DOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    159
    62
    49
    51
See reviews for
181
186
12
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pooler, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

We have been on the island several weeks working on the construction of the convention center. We have stayed in a few hotels for as much as double the rate. The rooms are very spacious and fully stocked with everything you need from home. The first week we stayed at a hotel closer to the job site. we rented the 2 bedroom suite with a "kitchen" it had a mini fridge, tiny table with 2 chairs and a 2 burner stove, a one cup coffee maker... Not near sufficient for preparing meals for the crew. Although they had a hot breakfast every morning we had to eat out lunch and dinner.. At the minimum of 15.00 per meal, per person it became quite expensive over time not to mention tiring. I visited a few other hotels and finally found the villas... THANK GOD.. The rates were a little more but when after staying in the very dated stale dirty so-called suite the villa was heaven.. The guys all had their own bedrooms and privacy, I had a spacious kitchen to prepare 3 meals a day.. We had an actual dinner table to enjoy dinner. Everyone there treated us like family and was very helpful and informative. However yes they are individually owned and some furnished and decorated better than others, but as far as I could see they all rated far above the local hotels. If you are looking for an elegant 5 star resort you will be disappointed but if you are looking for clean, spacious, convenient, comfortable, scenery, and friendly neighbors and staff... The Villas By the Sea will surely meet your expectations and needs. We will call them our home away from home while on this journey with Brassfield & Gorrie i.e., Jekyll Island Convention Center. A warm hearted thanks to the staff at the villas :) See you all next week! JH & SH EPI Solid Surfaces

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EPISolidSurfaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thank you for your kind words and nice review of our resort. Our goal is to make all of our guests feel at home while staying with us. I am glad you noticed the extra attention we show towards our guests. Our Villas are ideal for families, groups and couples. Having separate bedrooms and full kitchens are a plus when away from your own home. Our rates are sometimes seasonally slightly more than other island hotels but most of the time they are about the same or less per night. We also offer great specials and packages that save you even more that are featured on our website which you can find online by searching for Villas by the Sea Resort Jekyll Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okatie
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Villas were clean and well equipped. Staff was friendly and helpful. Wish we could have stayed longer than 2 nights. We're coming back to this great spot. Beats a plain old hotel anytime.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
We are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us. Our Villas are much better than a typical hotel room and priced about the same or less per night. After working here for many years I couldn’t imagine staying in anything other than a condo. We are also unique because we rent nightly, provide all the towels, dish liquid, etc that most “condo” rentals do not offer. We are a condo resort that operates like a hotel which means you get the best of both here at the Villas by the Sea Resort. Thanks again for taking the time to review us and we will look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callahan, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

My wife and I were looking for a place to stay on the Island and we made reservations to stay at the Villa for our Anniversary on New years 2012..When we arrived we checked into our room ,while it was nice and what we had asked for ,we found it a little on the small side as we had our 6month old daughter with us.Our fault not theirs..We went up to the front desk and asked Renee if she could get us into something a little larger..Renee went above the call of duty and quickly had us in a larger unit..When we got into our new room we were blown away by its space and great views..We will definately come back and stay for our next anniversary ..The rooms, the view ,all are great..A+++

Room Tip: ask for a condo style room if more than two
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jason g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thank you very much for such a nice review. We are very lucky to have great staff members working here. We do our best to make everyone feel like they are at home while staying with us. I am glad we were able to make your time with us comfortable. We look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

This facility is adjacent to Driftwood Beach and Clam Creek natural areas on Jekyll Island. Both are great attractions for nature photographers. The units have kitchens usually with adequate utensils and appliances. The units are clean. Each is designed differently by the individual owners of the units. This is not a hotel; the units are condo units that you rent. On major holidays the housekeeping services are scarce, but otherwise these services are excellent. Beaches farther south are better for some people, but Driftwood Beach has been named the fifth most romantic beach in the world and for photography are superior We have returned to this site every year for six years. It is the best we have stayed in on the island. Other facilities we stayed in have since been demolished or are no longer in service.

Room Tip: Three bedroom units oceanside have best views. Units on the north end are closer to Clam Creek and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hugh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
We appreciate your comments and review of our resort. We are also thankful and lucky to have guests like you that visit us time and time again. We will continue to provide clean and comfortable rooms as well as friendly customer service to keep you and others coming back. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon here at Villas by the Sea Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jekyll Island hotels
3.4 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
7.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
4.7 km away
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
#1 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#2 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
6.3 km away
Days Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
3.4 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 8 in Jekyll Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center

Property: Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center
Address: 1175 N Beachview Dr, Jekyll Island, GA 31527-0704
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,776 - ₹ 19,842
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas by the Sea Resort is an enchanting oceanside resort and conference center on Jekyll Island, Georgia. AAA 3 Diamond Rating. Choose from one of our 160 spacious one, two, or three bedroom villas whch are individually decorated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas By The Sea Hotel Jekyll Island
Villas By The Sea Resort And Conference Center
Hotel By The Sea
Resort By The Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing