We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
7
9
8
13
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
9
8
13
42
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2017

First our door would not open to save our life, bathroom not clean, found a used lady razor behind bathroom door. Toilet was unable to flush. Followed by the remotes for air conditioning and tv each had one battery. So it was one or the other..bedside table was broken, phone would not dial out. when we left our dogs in the room to go walk around helen, upon our retern again, could not get into the room. I guess the "manager" came up and broke the frame of the door completely off to get in. No other rooms available, so all night the door was unable to even stay shut...very uneasy feeling. When we complained, the guy was like no...I cant help you.

Room Tip: Dont go here.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

1) smelled musty!!!!
2) we kept on socks or flip flops bc the carpet was damp and old.
3) we slept w our own clothes on top of the pillow cases bc we weren't sure how fresh they were
4) I opted to skip the shower bc I would have to use a towel & the curtain was a 50 cent liner
5) The lights by our door on the outside flickered like an ambulance all night
6) The ice machine was falling apart when I tried to get ice
7) People hung out in the parking lot all night running & playing
8) It feels like the Bates Motel

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

I have no problem with the gentleman at the front desk, however the hotel itself it dirty and seedy. The housekeepers are very nice, don't speak much English being from India, but nice just the same. The hotel is underlyingly filthy. Our stay was more out of necessity than choice, but I would definitely choose another hotel to stay at. The people that hang out all hours of the night in the parking lot or on the balconies leave your safety in question, something the owner should take more seriously.
I'm sorry to say they only want your money and don't care about the overall experience you have staying there.
I would recommend this place only in case of emergency and another tip, Don't trust the WiFi, use your own network, probably more reliable

Room Tip: Probably can make a deal w/front desk for cheaper rate
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VisitHelenGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

First my daughter goes to take a shower and there is only a bath. TVs are from the 90s. Bed is hard as a brick, pool was nasty. Toilet was barely mounted to the floor. Says free wifi, but no wifi. Stay elsewhere

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

New management (husband and wife) went out of their way to make our sneak away long weekend as comfortable and romantic as possible. Always said 'yes, sure, absolutely' to whatever we asked. We were never told no. All rooms have been renovated, and outside updates like painting are being done now. It's quaint so the aged outside look doesn't bother us, but this couple worked all weekend replacing a railing and applying new paint. For the price and the exceptional customer service we feel this location was harshly judged. No, it isn't The Ritz, but it was as clean as one with equivalent customer service. Our room was spotless, comfortable, and clean, clean, clean! Our room did not offer a fridge or microwave, but we received that upgrade for free just by asking for them. Just the nicest, hard-working couple we have ever met in the hotel industry. Great soundproofing between rooms. Close to everything! Walked to dinner, shopping and a bar with ease. This new husband/wife team deserve a BIG raise and we WILL be back for more sneak away, romantic long weekends! Price is so outstanding that we have substantial extra play money. Clean, convenient and outstanding customer service. the Alpine Valley Inn is now our go-to for quick getaways! Thank you so much for such a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Room 106 - Community Center across the street offers great coupons to save even more money!
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrskarenneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary S, Public Relations Manager at Budgetel Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2017

Karen,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a kind review. We truly just want our guests to really enjoy their time spent at Alpine Valley Inn, and we will do whatever we can to make the experience as wonderful as possible. Thank you again for staying with us, and we look forward to seeing you next time you come to Helen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews