We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a very comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Atlanta / Gwinnet Place
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Duluth
Reviewed 22 August 2017

Not knowing the Atlanta area we wanted to stay out in suburbia and drive in to do the tourist things we had planned . This property was ideal for us . Quiet , but close to the highway . There are plenty of restaurants nearby.
We had made reservations a couple of hours previous to arriving and check in was smooth . I used a hotel website to book and requested 2 beds , since there were 3 of us . What we were given was a one bed in a separate room and the fold out couch . Since a teenager was going to sleep on the couch it wasn't a huge issue and it wasn't Candlewood's fault . We didn't say anything to them . We were out all day and into the evening , so we were exhausted by the time we got back and slept well.
We usually stay in cheap , basic motels , so this made us feel more like we were coming home each night . Would stay again in the future .

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Skwiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

Although I only stayed for one night this trip, this property is very homey. Usually when I stay here it is for multiple nights. Has a full kitchen, comfortable bed, friendly staff and always clean. What more can you ask for?

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017

I could not get a decent night's sleep due to the AC always turning off and then I'd wake up sweating, have to get up and move around so it would turn on.
Also, when I got my bill, I saw that the charges increased each day. I understand charging more for holidays or weekends, but this was Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday. Trying to reconcile this in our corporate expense system was a problem. When I called to verify that the rates were correct, I was told that the hotel changes them daily based on their occupancy levels. I travel a lot but I have never heard that one before. Since that is your deal, you should warn guests when they check in that this is the case.

Room Tip: Stay away from the 3rd floor if you're a non-smoker
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Atlanta / Gwinnet Place, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

Dear Kim M,

Thank you for your stay and for posting a review on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is very important as this will assist us to achieve our goal in providing the perfect guest experience. It is good to see the high rating you have given towards our hotel location since our hotel provides easy access to great shopping stalls. However, I sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced particularly with the air conditioning system which created a lot of disturbance due to the heat, and if you found our service regarding the billing issue less than satisfactory. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services and products we offer to our guests.

Once again, thank you for your valued feedback and for staying with us. We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back and provide you a better stay.

Sincerely,

Zel N.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016

TL;DR this is a good choice for an extended stay.

I was in Atlanta for my nephew's fifth birthday, but I didn't want to stay with my brother because... family. Who wants to be holed up in a tiny two-bedroom apartment with a bunch of screaming kids? Since I'm only the aunt, I left all the children over there and went to stay in a quiet hotel all by myself.

I rolled up on Candlewood because it's across the street from the restaurant where my brother works. I figured he could give me free drinks and I could just walk across the street. That actually didn't happen, but whatever. On to the hotel review, which is what you're here for.

I didn't make a reservation just walked right in and there was vacancy. I did ask for first floor room but there were none available. Front desk clerk said, "But I can get you one near the elevator." Who would actually want that? Luckily, it wasn't -that- close to the elevator and I didn't hear too much noise of people traipsing back and forth. To be honest, unless you're carrying the weight of the universe on your shoulders you can just use the stairs. They're not the bad.

Room was nice. Very clean. I was happy with it. It's an extended stay place so you'll get a full size refrigerator, a kitchen sink and half a stove. You can borrow any necessary items from the front desk, like a waffle-maker, board games, tea pot, etc. I was only there one night so I didn't need all that.

I give this place three stars because the bed actually hurt my back. I'm a Soldier, used to sleeping in all kinds of bizarre places. I could sleep on a parking block and be fine the next day. This bed had me tossing and turning; the next day my back hurt something fierce.

Another reduction in points is the crummy WIFI. So, the website says free WIFI and other reviewers said free WIFI and the front desk lady gave me a password, but when I tried to log in, it asked me for a credit card. Uh, no. I don't do that. So, then I was thinking maybe it was because I was trying to stream Netflix. I carry an Amazon Firestick with me when I travel because cable TV and their set program times is for old people. I tried to log into the WIFI on my phone so I could goof off on Facebook, but there seemed to be something wrong with the Terms and Conditions page. It didn't ask me for a credit card but it kept asking me if I accepted the Terms and Conditions. It said to press "accept," except there was no button or link or anything on the entire page that said ACCEPT. I also tried on my iPad and got the same issue. Really annoying, actually, and this is the reason I did not extend my stay. I was in Atlanta the entire weekend, but because of the WIFI issue I moved to another hotel.

Another thing that made me leave is the air conditioning situation. I have stayed in Candlewood Suites before. Two years ago, I stayed at a property in Maryland once a month for about a year. They have this eco-AC thing that detects when there is movement in the room. So when you come in from a hot, muggy Atlanta day, you have to wait a few minutes for the room to cool down. I hate that. Also, when you're sleeping, you're not moving around like a maniac (...or are you) so the AC will cut off. I like to sleep FREEEEZING. My room was lukewarm at best. It's great we're trying to look out for the environment, or are you really just trying to look out for your energy bills? I know what time it is.

After tossing and turning most of the night, I checked out the next morning and went down the street to a hotel that had no-fuss WIFI and AC cold enough to freeze my eyelashes.

It wasn't a horrible experience and if someone paid me to stay here, I'd come back. I just wouldn't spend my own money.

This place is near shopping, entertainment and many food options. You can walk to these place if you're not lazy.

Also, don't knock on my door in the morning unless I'm overdue on the checkout time. This is so rude.

Also, for ADA people, the front door does not have that accessibility button and it also seems too narrow for wheelchairs. I guess you can come in through the side doors--with the baggage. The elevators are in this vestibule thing that seems awkward. I am not ADA but always notice things like that.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank WorfsBabyMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Atlanta / Gwinnet Place, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2016

Dear WorfsBabyMama,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the cleanliness of the room received and the kitchen amenities. However, we regret if you did not fully enjoy your stay due to the inconvenience the condition of the bed, air conditioning, and the WiFi connection may have caused you . Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. Rest assured that these concerns will be addressed to the hotel management for review to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to offer you a more pleasant stay in the future.

Sincerely,

Grace P.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2016

The price is just as good as the stay. If you are looking for a clean, comfortable and affordable place, then look no further. The place is close to a food and entertainment as well as being right off the exit of I-85.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank edwardsfamily30813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.6 km away
Quality Inn Duluth
Quality Inn Duluth
#18 of 24 in Duluth
108 reviews
0.6 km away
Hyatt Place Duluth/Gwinnett Mall
0.3 km away
Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Duluth/Atlanta
0.4 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Atlanta Gwinnett Place
0.5 km away
Courtyard Atlanta Duluth/Gwinnett Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Atlanta / Gwinnet Place? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Atlanta / Gwinnet Place

Address: 3665 Shackleford Rd, Duluth, GA 30096-4545
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Duluth
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range: ₹ 5,659 - ₹ 8,650 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Atlanta / Gwinnet Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. At the Candlewood Suites Atlanta, we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. We are a newly renovated all suite property, the perfect place for your next stay, and a great alternative to a corporate apartment. Each spacious suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your oversized executive desk with free high speed Internet access and two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD player and DVD/VCR Combo. Borrow your favorites from our free video and CD library. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. You can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. The Candlewood Suites Atlanta located in Duluth, GA ; close to the Gwinnett Place Mall, Discover Mills and the Mall of Georgia. Earn Priority Club Reward Points for each qualifying stay. Pets allowed with a non refundable fee based on length of stay. $15 the first night and $10 each additional night not to exceed $150. One pet allowed per suite, must weigh less than 80 lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Atlanta / Gwinnet Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Atlanta / Gwinnet Place Hotel Duluth
Candlewood Duluth
Candlewood Suites Duluth
Duluth Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing