We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely experience!”

Umi Japanese Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Umi Japanese Restaurant is not available through our online partner for your requested time.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 378 Restaurants in Winter Park
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 15 - US$ 30
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Umi offers a unique twist to the traditional Japanese cuisine in Central Florida. Every menu item is prepared by using meticulous methods starting from the preparation down to the execution. The dishes express refinement and art in the chefs final presentation to you. Locals and world travelers alike are treated to a dining experience to share small plates cooked from the robata grill, kitchen and the sushi bar, or dive into our Signature sushi rolls and Moriawase platters. You'll find Japanese, Korean and European flavors in our food and in the masterly crafted desserts that are a hit amongst locals. Navigate to our online menu and come in to see and taste for yourself! Chef de Cuisine César Cruz and Head Sushi Chef John Park select only the finest and freshest produce, seafood and meats sourced locally and from around the world, insuring that each handmade dish is prepared just for you. Are you a world traveler and love artwork? The restaurant walls are lined with authentic Japanese artwork from the 17th, 18th and 19th centuries used for decoration. Japanese screens, woodblock prints, masks, tables/stands, ceramics and wood carvings are just a few of the things you will spot while dining.
Reviewed 11 February 2019 via mobile

The food was amazing and the service was very very kindly!! Thanks Michael! My daughter Valentina felt happy because she can ate a Japanese food really teastful in Orlando!

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank tatiana m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2019 via mobile

Our first visit to Winter Park so after a bit of shopping it was time for lunch. Sushi is one of our favourite lunch types so when we walked past Umi we felt it was an obvious choice.

We sat inside - decor is simple but not particularly Japanese. Many of the usual Japanese dishes are on the menu but there are a few special sushi rolls as well. We ordered some edamame beans whilst looking through the menu.

My wife had a mango sushi special and I had the tempura shrimp noodles in a miso broth. Both tasted very good though I wish I had chosen one of the other broths on offer as the miso didn’t pack much flavour.

Service was attentive and friendly.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Neale1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2019

The best Japanese food that is not an hibachi restaurant. Fresh seafood perfectly cooked in the appetizer (seared tuna (listed as raw) over brussel sprouts and mushrooms in a most interesting sauce) and yakisoba with scallops and shrimp. Truly the best prepared seafood I have ever had -- Japanese or not. The yakisoba noodles excellent. DP had the chicken bibimbap which was good had the sauce been delivered with the dish versus half way though. Other than that service attentive. Price reasonable at $50. Absolute will go back for the sushi and yakisoba!

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank golftravel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2019 via mobile

Such amazing changes to this location.
They have done a Grand Job. So happy to have Sushi in Winter Park. It’s a lovely restaurant in a beautiful place. On a Warm January Nite, such a great atmosphere. Friendly, and cozy. Yummy too

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank cathryn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2019

We are frequent travelers and regularly seek out Japanese restuarants. Umi is absolutely the best one we’ve ever visited. Every aspect of our visit was pleasing. Louie, our server, was excellent and helped us navigate thru the menu. We decide to go the “tapas” route and order a number of shared menu items. There was no rushing us and he suggested that we order several items at a time which we did. This resulted in a lovely leisurely dinner. We chose 6 different items and neither of us could chose a favorite - everything was superb. The restuarant is conveniently located and was very comfortable. As I write this, I’m thinking about going back for lunch since we’re only here got two days and are attending a wedding this evening.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bermudaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Umi Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Winter Park, Central Florida
 
Winter Park, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Umi Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing