We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Motel 6 Venice
Nearby Hotels
US$ 104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 100
US$ 90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 111
US$ 100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunshine Motel(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$ 68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 251
US$ 204
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
12
18
25
19
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
18
25
19
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot waternice pool areabeds were comfortablegreat place to stayflorida
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2011

My sister & I stayed one night at this hotel while visiting friends who were staying in nearby Englewood. Check in was a breeze and the staff at the front desk were VERY nice and friendly and let me pick the room I wanted (#121). The hotel was definitely average. Its a Motel 6 for $50 so no one should be expecting much. The room most certainly had the bare minimum in amenities - the TV had like 5 channels, there was no alarm clock and in the bathroom - no kleenex but there was a bottle opener (?!). The room was pretty clean however a couple of small bugs were spotted in the bathroom in the middle of the night. But as most Floridians will remind you it's Florida in the middle of summer - there are bugs EVERYWHERE.
The pool looked nice and was set back in between the rooms away from the road so it was nice but we didn't get a chance to use it as we spent most of our time at the nearby beach. It is also close by to some restaurants and downtown Venice.
The only complaints that I have were on the A/C and our 'non-smoking' room. The A/C was extremely efficient but a tad on the loud side. We requested a non-smoking room but I think that they don't separate the rooms out because ours definitely smelled faintly of smoke and there was an ash tray in the room with a big 'No Smoking' sign on the bottom of the ash tray which was odd. Our room connected to another and I'm wondering if it was a smoking room or if it was coming through the A/C vents...hard to tell. However, neither thing bad enough to complain or move rooms - as we were hardly in the room and only staying one night.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeannine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

The room, very small and bare, looked more like a prison cell than a hotel room. No alarm clock, no soap, no shampoo, but cockroaches in the bathroom. If you want Wi-Fi, ask at registration, as only a few rooms are connected... but best : go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauvole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2011

We chose to stay at Motel 6 when we were in Venice for one night to visit friends. I read the reviews on Trip Advisor before making the phone reservation, and opted to believe the more current and positive reviews, which mentioned that the motel had been renovated. I confirmed the reservation with a credit card, and received a confirmation number.

We arrived only a few minutes before the check-in time of 2pm, but reception was not able to confirm that our room was ready. Check-out is 12 noon, so the maids are not able to access the recently vacated rooms to begin cleaning until after that hour. The desk lady could not be specific about when our room would be ready, so we went to visit our relative, who was staying locally with a friend. We didn't get back until about 8:30pm. This delay in getting into the room would be troublesome if a person had driven a long distance to get there and needed to rest or wanted to freshen up...we had only come about 150 miles, and are frequent travelers, accustomed to being flexible.

The room was clean and furnished with the usual Motel 6 simple bed, table, chair and TV on the dresser. The bathroom shower was an interesting corner unit, with the shower head at the leading edge of the stall...seemed like a smart idea, because it avoided squirting water on the floor as the head pointed to the inside shower wall. Towels were white and fluffy. Overall, it was a good value for the rate. Nothing fancy here, and thankfully the mattress was medium firm and confortable.

I think Wi-Fi is available at the motel, but I'm not sure if there is a charge, or if is only available in certain rooms, etc. We didn't bring a laptop.

We did not use the swimming pool because our time there was short, and in the morning the temp was a bit chilly (in the mid-50s).

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veronica39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2010

Stayed here for a week after checking out of a beachfront area motel that was a total dump (that cost $150 per night!). The desk staff is very friendly and helpful--offered to call when our room was ready when we checked in a bit early. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable--the motel seemed to be fairly recently updated. Everything worked well--hot water, drains, 19 inch TV, internet, etc. The beds were comfortable. This motel has nice landscaping (palm trees, flowering shrubs, etc.) and the court yard pool area is nicely landscaped as well with palms, flowering shrubs, etc . The pool is heated. About 40 rooms face the pool on the courtyard; the other rooms face the parking lots (which have landscaping). No problems with noise from the road or the pool area in the courtyard room. The hotel is in a good location, only about a half mile from downtown Venice, and you can walk or ride your bike from the hotel over the drawbridge to downtown--the beach is another half mile down Venice Ave. from the downtown. Many restaurants are within a couple of miles--can choose from any type of fast food or gourmet restaurant. Most of the guests seemed to be retired people staying longer than one night, so this was not a high energy, partying crowd. If you've stayed in a Motel Six, you know that you won't get a clock, luxurious towels, or any other frills. Stay for a week or longer and the rate is $45 per night. Some rooms have a fridge and microwave. The motel has wi-fi, but the cost is $3 per day (many area restaurants have free wi-fi). There is also a coin laundry for guests. This property offers the budget traveler a nice room, good location, and quality that is better than most other motels in the area. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2008

Okay for a short stay at cheap price. Many other places to stay but twice the price. No alarm clocks. Very rough bath towels. Mattresses not very thick. Rooms smelled musty. 19" TV. I only stayed one night. Very close to shopping. 10 minutes from beach. Pleasant staff.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JKSKFultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews