We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best wedding night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bilmar Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2010

My husband and I stayed at this hotel the night of our wedding. This hotel is very clean, comfortable, and nice looking but the room location and service were not what we expected. Although our room was very nice, our balcony over looked the restaurant area. This bothered us because we had specifically requested a room with a private beach view balcony. We explained that it would be our wedding night, so having a second floor balcony right over the food and bar area was not what we wanted at all. Our room service experience the next morning was extremely sub-par. We ordered two breakfast meals, over an hour after we had ordered we called because they had not arrived, they apologized and sent someone up. Unfortunately, they only brought one of the meals. When we called down again to explain the problem they took another 20 minutes to bring up the second meal. We complained to the manager who brought up the meal and she told us we would not see the charge on our bill. However, when we checked out, the charge was on the bill and we had to argue with the clerk and another manager to have the charge taken off.

Hopefully our experience was not the norm because the look and cleanliness of the hotel are nice. I would still recommend this hotel to others but also want to note that with the way this part of the beach is set up, the hotel is really far from the water. So, if you want to wake up by the sound of the ocean, you may want to look at staying on another beach, like Madiera beach.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FSachon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBBR, General Manager at Bilmar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2010

Dear Mrs. Sachion,

Please accept my apologies for the location of your honeymoon room and the mistakes with your room service breakfast. I noted you confirmed the reservation through Expedia which sometimes limits our ability to pre-assign rooms but after you arrive we should have done a better job to ensure you were comfortable had the room you needed for your important occasion. Your room service experience is not the normal standard we set for any resort department and I am truly sorry for the errors and inconvenience at check out. I have shared this experience with the appropriate departments and will certainly strive to improve this department.

Thank you for sharing the positive aspects of your visit and your willingness to recommend us to other travelers. Your opinion is vital to our future success and we look forward to your next visit. Please feel free to contact me directly and I will make every effort to ensure a quiet relaxing Bilmar experience.

Sincerely,

Clyde Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,865 - 1,869 of 2,176 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2010

My daughter and I were pleasantly surprised to find a clean and comfortable room with a slider right onto the sand of Treasure Island Beach. It had a refrigerator and small microwave which was nice. Sloppy Joe's Restaurant was only average and I wouldn't recommend it for anything other than snacks and drinks. The hotel has a six or seven story section that overlooks this restaurant and one of the two pools. I would guess the noise level would be a problem in those rooms. Food at the breakfast cafe was better and the pool in the three story section was much quieter. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lpappas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Right off the bat at check-in the staff surprised us by offering a 4pm checkout so we could go to the beach that afternoon and still return to the room to shower and change before we left. The room was really nice, and the beds were really comfortable. The view of the hotel's beach from the 7th story was amazing.

Breakfast at the restaurant that sits between the pool (there are actually 2 pools on opposite ends of the hotel) and the beach was surprisingly fast, inexpensive and really good. (Side note: hats off to the bartender there who knew how to make great drink!)

The staff was really helpful and gave great restaurant suggestions, sightseeing tips and local info. They were all trying so hard to make sure everything was perfect. As far as price, it was less expensive than I would have expected by $50 easily.

To sum it up; for the value and experience I'd thumb my nose at any other hotel in the area. My wife and I went for our anniversary and I'm so glad we did. Only regret? Not calling in sick to work the next day to stay longer.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeachMegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

Very impressed with the Bilmar. We stayed 8 nights and was impressed how clean an ocean front hotel was. Location was great for the Tampa Bay area. Sloppy Joes restaurant was great for food and drinks. The Floridan restaurant with award winning cuban sandwiches within a block also walking distance was homemade icecream shop.2 pizza places.mexican, New Orleans snowballs and much more. The Trolly system was confusing to us on where to get off.. Walgreens and Publix grocery also within walking distance. Very friendly staff and hotel and Brazzies bar. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beckie38242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

We were on the 6th floor, so not only was the room nice, the views were breathtaking. Watching the sun set over the wide white sand beach into the blue water Gulf was a nightly event. Staff were friendly (especially Shaunna @ the front desk); pools and hot tub were clean and the food was delicious @ Sloppy Joes. At least 9 restaurants w/in one block! A delightful, relaxing vacation. Already planning the next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevenp53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
1.3 km away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,802 reviews
0.9 km away
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
#14 of 48 in Treasure Island
696 reviews
0.7 km away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#23 of 48 in Treasure Island
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Treasure Island Beach Resort
Treasure Island Beach Resort
#10 of 48 in Treasure Island
226 reviews
1.1 km away
Island Inn
Island Inn
#32 of 48 in Treasure Island
291 reviews
1.2 km away
Residence Inn by Marriott St. Petersburg Treasure Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilmar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilmar Beach Resort

Address: 10650 Gulf Boulevard, Treasure Island, FL 33706-4819
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Treasure Island
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
#8 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
#8 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range: ₹ 10,031 - ₹ 24,034 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bilmar Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bilmar Beach Resort offers a traditional Florida beach get away with an aray of modern amenities. We have a central location on Treasure Island and are close to all the Tampa Bay area attractions. With over 15 million in recent upgrades including our signature restaurant Sloppy Joe's on the Beach we provide the service you desire with the relaxed atmoshpere you deserve. We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bilmar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilmar Beach Hotel Treasure Island
Bilmar Beach Treasure Island
Bilmar Hotel
Bilmar Beach Resort Treasure Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing