We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Get-Away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bilmar Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Certificate of Excellence
Johnstown, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Get-Away”
Reviewed 24 February 2008

First time we've booked through Expedia. A good experience, no problems at all. We flew into Tampa and drove to the Bilmar, about 25 miles. We had a 3rd floor, gulf front, room. It' was great, nicely done, comfortable bedding, and clean. The window opened for a great, warm breeze and beautiful sunsets. The beach is WIDE there, really beautiful. The pools were big and nice. Live music at the beach side bar every evening. The location, in our opinion was perfect. Away from the crowds, but easy access to lots of shopping, dining, activities, etc. We'll definitely go back.

  • Liked — Location, View, Beach
  • Disliked — Parking could be an issue
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jtownjoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,194
    650
    183
    54
    44
See reviews for
802
778
77
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (782)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2008

We stayed in a high floor Gulf Front suite in the Palms building. I loved the retro feel of the building that has been preserved but updated to include modern conveniences. Driving there from TPA was a bit dicey, but once we crossed the bridges to Treasure Island we forgot all about it!

We were pleasantly surprised at how lovely the view was and the level of amenities in the room (regular sized coffee maker, refrigerator, full set of utensils and plates, toaster). It was nice to be able to make breakfast each morning. The rooms are clean and bright. I found the bathroom a bit small, and the rooms have full sized beds vs. queen, but overall this didn't make a huge difference for us. Parking can be limited in the evenings but there is ample parking directly across the street.

There is a Sloppy Joe's restaurant in the building with a large outdoor seating area directly under the hotel rooms, so you may have trouble sleeping due to the bar noise. We shut the door and turned up the AC and it didn't bother us as much.

The beach is gorgeous and if you are looking for a low-key getaway on a budget, you'll love the Bilmar!

  • Liked — The view and proximity to the beach
  • Disliked — Loud noise from Sloppy Joe's bar
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CK719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisle, Il.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2008

My best friend and I had a wonderful time. We stayed at the Bilmar and the staff was friendly and very helpful.
We would stay here again.
The food at Sloppy Joes was excellent. Drinks were delicious too!!
The hotel was clean and no bugs. The trolley was fun to take us to Clearwater for the day, but be aware of the drivers. Not so good at times. Alittle scary.
John's Pass is a great place to shop and the food is good at the rest.
The Beach is breathtaking, its beautiful.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lynnatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Blanc, Mi
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2008

The Bilmar was actually rated pretty well by other travelers on TripAdvisor so I was excited as we made our reservations. When we arrived everything seemed nice. The rooms were decent, the bathroom okay, the view was great. But when we asked if we had a nice room (at check in) the girl at the counter said "yeah its alright". So we already had a negative view towards the hotel.

The weather wasn't great so we had rented a car and did some sightseeing and shopping. When we returned that night we could not find a parking space. We circled the parking lot for 10 minutes and the parking attendants told us that we would just have to wait until someone left. I was furious by this time (since we had 2 handicapped women with us) that I went to the front desk to complain. I told the front desk girl (a different one) if I could speak with a manager. She told me he was on the phone. So i proceeded to tell her about the parking situation and all she said was "Sorry there is nothing that i can do for you" and was rude about it. So I said okay then I will wait for the manager. 15 minutes later a manager (Chris) finally arrived. He was very nice and told us we should have gotten a parking pass when we checked in (which we did not) and he did allow us to use handicapped parking if need be. Then again the next night after coming home from dinner it happened again where we had to circle the parking lot a few times until we found a space. This happened for 2 more nights. They did tell us we could park acrossed the 4 lane highway in a Walgreens parking lot, but that was not adequate.If you have a car I would recommend you to stay somewhere else.

The positive side of the trip was the restaurant "Sloppy Joe's" was awesome. Great Salads and Wraps.

  • Liked — Sloppy Joe's Restaurant
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Spagal82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonesboro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Bilmar on our honeymoon. We booked a room with a king bed. Upon arriving and waiting thirty minutes to get checked in we finally made it up to our room. Our room had been reserved for three months with a KING bed and to our suprise we had a room with two full beds. There was no walk out balcony, which was promised, just scummy tinted windows that opened. The room looked very dated.. but the worst part of our stay was the fact that we had pre -paid and they charged our debit card again once we got there for the five day stay. We did not find out until the day we checked out. Caused us to go overdrawn with the bank and was not sure if we were going to make it home! I would not visit again.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank Akreyn40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
1.3 km away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,766 reviews
0.6 km away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#18 of 48 in Treasure Island
531 reviews
0.2 km away
Treasure Island Beach Resort
Treasure Island Beach Resort
#10 of 48 in Treasure Island
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Treasure Island
0.7 km away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#21 of 48 in Treasure Island
474 reviews
0.9 km away
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
#14 of 48 in Treasure Island
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilmar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilmar Beach Resort

Property: Bilmar Beach Resort
Address: 10650 Gulf Boulevard, Treasure Island, FL 33706-4819
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Treasure Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
#8 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
#8 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,591 - ₹ 22,235
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bilmar Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bilmar Beach Resort offers a traditional Florida beach get away with an aray of modern amenities. We have a central location on Treasure Island and are close to all the Tampa Bay area attractions. With over 15 million in recent upgrades including our signature restaurant Sloppy Joe's on the Beach we provide the service you desire with the relaxed atmoshpere you deserve. We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bilmar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilmar Beach Hotel Treasure Island
Bilmar Beach Treasure Island
Bilmar Hotel
Bilmar Beach Resort Treasure Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing