We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,384)
Filter reviews
2,384 results
Traveller rating
1,359
709
200
59
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,359
709
200
59
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sloppy joes palms building across the street resort fee paddle boards within walking distance per day live music stove top hot tub drug store upon check flat screen tv watch the sunset long walk third floor gulf of mexico
Filter
Updating list...
1,846 - 1,851 of 2,384 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2012

First off, we are locals living in the Tampa side of the bay. We love to go to the Bilmar, and enjoy weekend trips during the slower season. To look at the Bilmar, most would just pass it by, as we did for many years. Last summer we booked it for my son's graduation escape, and were amazed. The rooms were unbelievable, all re-done with everything you you need. They have 2 pools, and hot tubs, and Bazzles has great food. We tried to book it for a few days this week during Spring Break, and no room at the inn. We stayed down the road a bit and it just wasn't the same.

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BidDaddy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed in the Palms Building (The "high rise"). I first want to say, the room was CLEAN. I really appreciate that fact. I would recommend the Delux Studio because there was a little more square footage to this room and it has a balcony. The views of the ocean from the balcony, especially at night were fantastic. Mornings were relaxed because we bought breakfast food at the Publix grocery store just down the block and were able to eat in rather than going out for every meal. Dishes, silverware, and cookware were all provided. We never used the two burner stove but it was nice to have the option. The room has a few flaws. For example, there was a pretty large gap between the door and the door frame in our room and the bathroom is very small. But, all in all, the room was a good quality and the price was very competitive.

Staying on the beach gave us the option of letting someone stay in the room while the others went down to the beach without worrying. It's a nice option for teenagers who like to sleep in. No one was ever too far away. Each person had a room key and could come and go to our location on the beach as they pleased. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. The hotel has towels to check out for either the pool or the beach. This was very convenient. You could trade in for new towels when ever you liked.

I hope to stay at the Bilmar again. It was a comfortable and relaxing stay.

Room tip: Stay in the Palms Building (High Rise) they have balconies. The views are excellent at night. Get a Delux Studio because it has more square footage and a little more room is always nice.
Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TCT94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Staff was very friend and helpful. The service for breakfast was very slow. We found it quicker to go next door to the Thunderbird hotel for breakfast. We found the wireless internet to be hit or miss. The told a few times that had to reboot the system. A rental car or taxi is a must. They advertise a bus service that is supposed to run every 20 minutes however our experience was more like an hour plus on three different days. While a Florida vacation show not include a ton of tv watching it would be nice at bed time. The TVs in the room are small and don't have HD service.

Room tip: I would shop around a little more.
Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EDWARD J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBBR, General Manager at Bilmar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Bilmar Beach Resort for your Treasure Island Get Away and for sharing your experience with other travelers. I have shared your observations with my team and assure they will be addressed to enhance the experience of all of our guests.

Many guests find the county Trolley system and the free beach taxi service to be an effective way to go short distances up and down our beach communities but both services do get pushed to the limit during the peak spring break season. Another option is to rent a car for just a day or two from area companies so you can venture out without having your vehicle parked a whole week while enjoying the immediate area.

I am happy to report that we have begun upgrading our TV’s to 42 inch LCD (vs. current 27 inch LCD). We have completed the Deluxe Studios and plan to continue the upgrade in the Gulf Front and Pool Side Efficiency rooms. Also our Free Internet service has had repairs done to correct a bad fan that was causing the system to have occasional failures. I understand the importance of staying connected and assure you we will monitor this service and continue to make the improvements necessary.

On behalf of the entire Bilmar Team; thank you again and we hope to have you as our guest again soon.

Sincerely, Clyde Smith – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The location is perfect, Publix a couple blocks away to stock up since our room had kitchenette, great view, and enjoyed the cleanliness. There is a beach boardwalk that we enjoyed walking/jogging on each day. The staff was very friendly. Highly recommend!

Room tip: we were in the penthouse of the palms building
Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jr905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We just vacationed here with our four young kids and had an amazing time. It is clean and in the heart of treasure island. This is the place to be if you are looking for a newer hotel among the old where you don't have to leave the resort. They have two pools and two restaurants. Food was great at both. Although it is on the beach side, It is a long walk to the water because the sand goes on for almost 1/4 mile before the water starts. I would recommend a ground floor room when traveling with small children because of the walkways and balconies. They showed a movie outside and the pool was open pretty late which was great. Nice to have a kitchenette and Publix is a very short walk away. Clean and relaxing!!

Date of stay: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MomofFourGreatKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews