We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“We keep going back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bilmar Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bilmar Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Certificate of Excellence
Clinton, Iowa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We keep going back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

This hotel/complex is perfect for relaxing and unwinding. The rooms are clean; the service at the restaurant (Sloppy Joe's) and beach bar (Bazzies) is great, and the staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oldteacher25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,074
    601
    168
    51
    42
See reviews for
708
713
69
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (703)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

Our room was cheerily painted and decorated, immaculate and overlooked the beach as advertised. Also, it appeared to be well insulated as Sloppy Joe's Bar was below us, and with the door closed, virtually none of the evening noise bothered us. There were two problems though. One was when we showed up about 4:30PM our room was not ready yet. Which surprised me. But if you look, it does say check in time is 4PM which is later than what I am used to. And they did get it ready shortly after our arrival. Before 5PM. Just letting people know, so you won't be surprised as we were.

The other problem was the A/C. Our room was extremely hot when we got there, but the AC was off. So we turned it on, and went to dinner with relatives that live in the area. When we got back, the fan was running but no cool air, so I called the front desk. They sent someone up right away. He said the compressor was not working properly, fiddled with it, and made sure to show us how he fiddled with it and it started producing cool air. And he made a note it needed looking into. Well, during the night it kicked off again. And we just didn't feel like having someone come up yet again, and when I fiddled with it, it didn't come back on. I tried opening the door and let the cool breezes cool off our room but some yahoo was standing down by the pool on her cell phone talking very loudly. She was the only noise out there and this certainly was not the hotel's fault. Anyway, we seat it through. I told they front desk upon check out and they apologized again and very sincerely. And judging from what I have read, I am sure they have fixed the unit and promptly.

But otherwise, a lovely room and yes, the street wads rather crazy out there, but given the time of year, that was to be expected.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeresaSammis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
307 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

Had the best vacation at the Bilmar! Great for both relaxation and fun. Beautiful, white sand beaches of the Gulf of Mexico are steps from your door. Stayed in Ocean view Studio in Tower building; 2 Queen beds, flat-screen TV with cable, wi-fi access, fridge & microwave and balcony overlooking the beach. Great restaurant, "Sloppy Joe's" (Old Key West & Ernest Hemmingway!), good food, music & people. There is an additional restaurant "Bazzie's" on the Beach for casual eats and cocktails. There are 2 fabulous pools and sun-deck, along with 24-hour fitness center. Staff welcoming and professional. Resort and rooms clean and modern. Will be back!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Topolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburgh, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

This is a great, locally owned, resort hotel right on the beach in St. Petersburg FL. Our room had beach views, had updated furnishings and fixtures and was very clean. We had the Gulf Front Efficiency Suite which worked out great for the two of us. It had 2 beds, a mini fridge and microwave. All we had to do to get to the beach was walk down the stairs out onto the sand.

They will give you a tag for parking in the main lot in front of the hotel - we were able to find spots each day in this lot. If that fills up there are 200 additional spaces in the overflow lot across the street next to Walgreen's. There are also two pools on site if you prefer that to the clear Gulf water. There are two restaurants on site - Sloppy Joes for lunch and dinner, and Bazzies that does breakfast, lunch and dinner. We had breakfast and dinner at Bazzie's on different days. Both times we got good service, good food and huge portions. We ate lunch at Sloppy Joes and they were also good.

We spent most of our time on the beach but there are a lot of things to do nearby. John's Pass Village and Boardwalk has a ton shopping. Busch Gardens isn't far. The Salvador Dali museum is a 20 min drive into St. Petersburgh (this is a great museum, parking in the free spaces is limited though so expect to pay $5 to park in the garage). On the way there are tons of places to eat and go out. Right along the strip right outside the hotel there are many shops and restaurants that are within walking distance. Two nights in a row we walked a couple of blocks up the street from the hotel to Middle Grounds, an amazing restaurant that is open for dinner every day. They use all fresh ingredients and they almost always have a "fresh caught" fish special. There is also a good Mexican restaurant right across the street. The inside is more like a bar but out back they have tables where you can sit an enjoy some great food.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amalthea345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
media, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2011

After a long, cold, snowy winter in the northeast I longed for the warmth of Florida. In 2010 my husband and 20 yr. old son stayed here for the first time as a home base to travel to Phillies spring training games. This year I decided to travel along (minus the games). I reserved our room in Jan. and waited anxiously for March to arrive. I reserved a beach front balcony room the same that my husband had the previous year. We arrived and I couldn't wait to sit on the balcony and gaze at the sunset, beach and water. So, imagine my displeasure when going to the balcony and finding a 4 foot wall around the entire balcony. You almost had to stand to enjoy any view. I was very upset as my husband said their room last year had a railing, not a wall. I politely went to the front desk to plead my case. I explained how disappointed I was having looked so forward to the view from the balcony and stating that it should be disclosed that that particular room DOES NOT have a view equal to the rooms with a railing. Needless to say, Heather was very polite and checked many options to try to find us another room. She was unable to find anything but promised she would continue to check for us as she was working until ll:00 that evening. I thanked her for trying and thought that was that and I would NEVER return to the Bilmar again. We proceeded to Sloppy Joe's to have dinner As we were dining Heather came into the restaurant hoping we meant be there. She asked if I could spare a moment and go with her to see another room that had an amazing view. I did, and it was a beautiful room with an outstanding balcony view. It is so difficult to get good customer service today so when Heather did all this for us, she restored my faith by giving us outstanding customer service. We spent 3 nights in that room and had to move to another room for our 4th night and Heather made sure it was also a lovely room. Thank you Heather for making my experience at the Bilmar a delightful one. I hope your manager realizes what a dedicated employee he has in you.

To the manager: You should make your customers aware of the rooms that have such an obstruction to the view. It is not a pleasant surprise unless you know ahead of time and it doesn't matter to you. Are you very lucky to have such a dedicated and courteous employee on your staff. Do what it takes to keep her!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ischultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBBR, General Manager at Bilmar Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 March 2011
Dear Mrs. Schultz,

Thank you for recognizing Heather’s outstanding dedication to customer service. She is truly a shining star on my already hospitable Team. I apologize for your original disappointment in your guest room view. While most hotels and a couple of rooms with some view obstruction I agree it is best to alert this to the guest before they check in and offer options if available. I will work with the guest services staff to better assign this room to an appropriate and hopefully volunteering party in an effort to exceed each guest’s expectations.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other Trip Advisor fans and for communicating your positive experience with Heather.

Sincerely, Clyde Smith – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
1.2 km away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,592 reviews
0.1 km away
Treasure Island Beach Resort
Treasure Island Beach Resort
#11 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.4 km away
Treasure Bay Resort & Marina
Treasure Bay Resort & Marina
#13 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.7 km away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#20 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.6 km away
Westwinds Waterfront Resort
Westwinds Waterfront Resort
#8 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilmar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilmar Beach Resort

Property: Bilmar Beach Resort
Address: 10650 Gulf Boulevard, Treasure Island, FL 33706-4819
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Treasure Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
#8 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
#8 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,719 - ₹ 26,763
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bilmar Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bilmar Beach Resort offers a traditional Florida beach get away with an aray of modern amenities. We have a central location on Treasure Island and are close to all the Tampa Bay area attractions. With over 15 million in recent upgrades including our signature restaurant Sloppy Joe's on the Beach we provide the service you desire with the relaxed atmoshpere you deserve. We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Bilmar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilmar Beach Hotel Treasure Island
Bilmar Beach Treasure Island
Bilmar Hotel
Bilmar Beach Resort Treasure Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing