We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plan on going back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Carver, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Plan on going back!”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

My Family and I stayed here for a few days to take our daughters to Dolphin Plus in Key Largo (which was amazing!!). The room was clean and the view was great!! The kids loved the pool area, though the pool house is under construction right now and we are not fans of having to use a porta potty when the little had to go. But otherwise we loved the pool. The beach had a great view but you couldn't really swim there, .it was very shallow, rocky and full of seaweed.
The girl at the front desk was awesome! Her name was Johanna and she gave us some great tips on restaurants in the area. We LOVED The Conch House. It was delicious and soo cozy! Overall,
I would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lnickerson96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    714
    736
    434
    259
    179
See reviews for
1,017
718
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (578)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vernon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

My husband and I booked this vacation through our travel agent. When we checked the internet to see what this place looked like, we began to have reservations about going. The reviews were not kind. We almost cancelled. Our biggest concerns being the continual reference to bug bites and how unclean this place was. You never know what you'll find when you book on-line. We've had problems before while using Travelocity and others of the like. Well, we were SOOOO glad we decided to go anyway. This place was absolutely BEAUTIFUL! We were there for 8 days, 7 nights. We stayed in building #3...room 3404...a unit that is owned by Mr. & Mrs. Spurgeon...and what a lovely unit they have! It was clean and well stocked with all the kitchen needs for a couple vacationing. We prefer to have a full kitchen when we travel so we are not forced to eat out every day. This couple makes sure you have damn near everything you'd need to cook a variety of foods. My husband is a chef, and he had no problem whipping up several wonderful meals there. They have several locations that have grills and picnic tables for all to use...which we did. The pool was clean. There were plenty of lounge chairs. The hot tub was wonderful, too. The bathhouse is still being worked on, but our unit was near the pool, so i guess it didn't matter to us whether we had access to the bathhouse or not. The grounds were absolutely breath-taking. Flowers were blooming everywhere! The beach area was small, but neatly kept. They have lighted palm trees in both the beach area and the grilling area, which was a nice touch. There is a guard shack at the entrance where we were always greeted with a smile as he opened the gate for us. The entire staff was very friendly and helpful. They perform a mid-week cleaning, which we passed on...we didn't find it necessary, since we hardly spent any time on the inside, except to sleep...and escape from the blazing Florida sunshine! There is a restaurant, a little store, and a bar, on site. There is ample parking, with plently room, still, for all the boats on trailers that belong to owners/renters. From our balcony,though it was kinda small, we had a beautiful view of the ocean. Paradise...that's what this place is, and we look forward to returning there next year. Thank you, Mr. & Mrs. Spurgeon, for sharing this little piece of paradise with us.

Room Tip: We recommend a room on the 4th floor...the view from there is incredible...the lower floors may have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Terry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We booked an Ocean View Room for our 30th Anniversary, we stayed 4 nights. Our first room was a disappointment. Due to a hidden gift from Gay Pride Week (I think). You know its fine to be proud but everyone doesn't want to share with you!!!! You are staying in peoples homes don't belittle yourself. Be proud of being a decent human being also, not just in being Gay!! We were immediately given a fantastic room. The view from both rooms was spectactulor. Staff were very friendly and accomodating. The room was great! Thank you Mr. Day for sharing your beautiful home with us. The grounds are gorgeous!! Has a manned security gate. We enjoyed walking the grounds exploring and enjoying the tranquil beauty here. It would be a dream come true to own a condo here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TandJWil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delaware
Level Contributor
78 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We spent three days here right after Easter. Based on the reviews, we called ahead and asked for a renovated room. Our room wasn't ready until 5 p.m. but it was nicely renovated. We were in building 2. The beds were rather hard but overall the accommodations were fine. It is nice to have a full kitchen but ours was woefully understocked. There wasn't even a pan!

The grounds were beautiful - many different tropical flowers and well cared for. The pool was nice although as previously mentioned the pool bathrooms are under renovation. The tennis court is well maintained and we used it several times. The beach is not much. My kids wouldn't go anywhere near the water except when they went out on the ocean kayaks. It is small, very rocky entering the water and water is full of grasses. This seemed to be generally true of the beaches we saw around Key Largo so don't go to the area for the beaches!

My biggest complaint about this place is the thin walls. We could hear everything from both side units (we were on the top floor so at least we didn't have above noise). The one side of us appeared to be occupied by an owner who got up for work each morning at 6:30 and turned the tv on (it was off by 7:15). There was banging on the wall in the small bedroom late one night from the other side. We did call security late one night because the tv was blaring next to us and they said call any time.

There is a bald eagle nest out on a large pole in the mangrove trees. I wish we had brought our binoculars because it was fascinating to watch the bald eagle family throughout the day.
Overall, we enjoyed this place although I am not sure it is worth the cost.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room and take a small pair of binoculars!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Upon our arrival on Synday, April 1, 2012, we were greeted by baby roaches in the unit and a cup filled with brown water and cigarette butts on the balcony. While no apology was made, a housekeeper was sent over to remove the cup and a custodian brought a can of Raid, which I persuaded him to let us keep. (I asked several other guests if their accommodations had any insect issues and of the four other guests I asked, no one had. And, these were baby roaches, so I was tolerant about them.)

The hotel's website boasts free wifi in the cafe but, when I walked over to use it and could not pick it up, I was told that the policy changed in January and there is no free wifi. The manager did offer to give us a $50 credit toward the purchase of a week's usage, but, with multiple devices, that offer was not sufficient nor gracious in any way. And, again, no apology was made for the false advertising.

We stayed in Unit 2410. There was clumpy dust coming out from the ceiling vents and in between slats on the loucered doors. Evidently, housekeeping has not been cleaning under the bed, as a family of dust bunnies was in residence (I am tolerant of dust bunnies, but not so much the roaches). This unit has been renovated but is not nearly as nice as the photograph on the website. The renovations are shoddy, though, with tiling that looks like it was installed by grade school kids or the visually impaired.

During my stay, the restrooms at the pool were under renovation, but am happy to report that the tile that I saw installed up to then was both in good taste and of quality workmanship. It was a bit off-putting to share a port-a-potty with the laborers.

The beach is very tiny but a nice feature to have. The water is VERY shallow for quite a way from the shore but a path has been cut through the seaweed to the open water. There were comfy lounge chairs and a tree for shade at the beach. It was nice to find oversize beach towels in our room, which appear to be a standard amenity. The slips for boats are well-maintained and there is a pleasant area along the dock for picnics, with umbrellaed tables.

From the way the buildings are situated, it seems every room has a view of the ocean. The balcony is very tiny and allows for two people at a time to sit on it. Unfortunately, because smoking is allowed on the balconies, if you are intolerant of second-hand smoke, you won't spend much time out there, as the neighbors' smoke wafted our way frequently.

You won't find Range Rovers and BMW's in the parking lot--Ocean Pointe is not for that crowd--yet you will feel very comfortable bringing your cooler to the pool.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavernier
1.3 km away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
559 reviews
10.6 km away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#10 of 20 in Key Largo
1,503 reviews
10.8 km away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 20 in Key Largo
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
14.3 km away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 20 in Key Largo
3,418 reviews
1.8 km away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo

Property: Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Address: 500 Burton Drive, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,614 - ₹ 21,938
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Pointe Suites At Key Largo Hotel Tavernier
Ocean Pointe Hotel
Ocean Pointe Tavernier
Ocean Pointe Suites Key Largo
Ocean Pointe Key Largo
Ocean Pointe Suites At Key Largo Tavernier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing