We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice rooms, Wonderful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sailport Waterfront Suites
Ranked #17 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 February 2012

The rooms are laid out a bit strangely, but the view of the bay is top notch and they are very clean. The staff is very helpful and personable. There is a sweet little beach with umbrellas to lounge on.

Room Tip: not sure, my room was very nice, on the third floor in the middle.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caramello51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,909)
There are newer reviews for Sailport Waterfront Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,571 - 1,575 of 1,909 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2012

Stayed here for a weekend getaway. Although our suite (306) needed updating, it was clean and accommodating. Friends in other suites had updated kitchens, carpet and granite desks areas. Overall, the grounds are very nice. Great heated pool that overlooks Tampa Bay. There is a small "store" behind the lobby desk but the selection is very limited and pricey. Since we didn't rent a car, it was great to have a complimentary shuttle service that will take you anywhere within a 5 mile radius. This worked out well for transportation to and from the airport, breakfasts/dinners and a trip to Walgreens. The two drivers were very nice and professional. I would recommend this destination, but request an updated suite.

Room Tip: Request an updated suite overlooking the pool and bay. Be aware, the bedrooms are located right off...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carpod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

My husband and I at the last minute decided to visit Tampa Bay and cancelle my birthday vacation to New York due to bad weather last weekend. We decided on Tampa Bay because of the great weather expected. After reading all the reveiws on hotels in the area Sailport sounded like it might be nice. I called Friday morning at 5 a.m. after checking flights & was told there was plenty of rooms so to "Come on down". I was told I didnt need to make a reservation. After arriving at the airport later that afternoon, I called the hotel for pickup at the airport & was told they would be there in 10 minutes. The shuttle driver Ed was there to pick us up within 10 minutes and was extremely nice and acting as a tour guy pointing out places to eat or visit while we were in Tampa. shuttle runs till 10p.m/ and will take you anywhere within a 5 mile radius, which they gave us a map when checking in. Jerry was very friendly during our check in, giving a choice of which room we would prefer, one facing the water where the sun sets or one facing the pool towards Whiskey Joe's across the bay. It didnt dawn on me till we were checking in that I hadnt dicussed room rates when I called earlier that morning, but luckily he still offered us the Winer rate. We were very impressed with the room. It was very clean, had a beautiful veiw of the Bay, had a full kitchen with everything you could need (blenders, toasters, coffee maker, wine openers, pizza cutters, pots pans, dishes, silverware, etc.) The bed was very comfortable, it isnt really big but I slept like a baby. There is even a little t.v. in the bedroom on the dresser & a fairly large closet. We really enjoyed the room and also sitting out on the little man made beach they have. There is also a bbq grill you can use and a sand volleyball court by the "beach". Also a little fishing dock you can walk out on. We took advantage of the shuttle, since we didnt rent a car. Ed the shuttle driver was awesome! I felt like he was our personal driver. He took us all over. We went to Bahama Breeze (nice place to eat on the bay with a small bar outside w a live band- dinner choices of seafood etc, at about $18 per plate), Hurricane Grill was a fun little place down the street that has a very small outside patio that the bar opens up to- they are experts on sauces 34 to choose from! Everything from mild to hot, and from normal flavor to raspberry, or mango that they will toss wings, chicken tenders, pulled pork for sandwhichs or hamburgers. We really enjoyed making our on lunches & the staff Devin #1 Devin #2 were very friendly and good conversation. We also went to the mall, Sweetpea's their grocery store to buy stuff to make dinner on our last night stay to enjoy our veiw from our balcony. If you stay at Sailport be sure to visit Whiskey Joe's! Its right across the bay, they have unique food (seafood & burgers, etc. & the BEST fries Ive ever had- deep batterd fries :) There is a huge sand beach area at Whiskey Joe's where you can listen to a great band that plays "beachy" music raggae, Jimmy Buffet, Sitting on The Dock of The Bay etc. My husband and I enjoyed hanging out on the beach playing "bags" (my 1st time- alot of fun) and sitting by the bonfire pits. Our little vacation was such a great relaxing one. We are ready to go back and have only been home a few days! I cant express how nice the staff was. And we were pleasantly surprised that the suite looked like it did on the website- they arent old pictures. And Im a cootie freak, and I walked barefoot on the carpet. That says alot in itself! Sailport is the best hotel for its price, its like your own 1 bedroom apartment on Tampa Bay. Also if you go there is a little place down the street called Crabby Bills, we stepped in for about 30 minutes, it was packed and seemed like a cuteplace on the water too. I cant wait to go back! Thank you again Ed for shuttling us around, and being a great tour guide! We really had a wonderfull time & you made the trips fun!!!--Jen & Sean (Dallas)

Room Tip: We stayed in room 330, we were on 3rd floor over the pool facing Whiskey Joe's. I really enjoyed...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Thak you ... You have said it all. We are perfectly located and have the best staff in the TAMPA market. At Sailport we pride ourselves on Quality and Service and I am glad we exceeded your expectations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I read a lot of negative reviews on Sailport Waterfront Suites and honestly, I just don't get it. We stayed in a comfortable, one bedroom condo. No problems whatsoever. Bayfront units, clean, security at the gate, pleasant staff, good prices. We liked it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joemccarthysghost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We do have a great staff, beautiful clean rooms all on the water overlooking the beautiful Tampa Bay. There is no better place to stay in Tampa to see Tampas beautiful Sunsets. We look ofrward to your next visit with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We had several rooms stayed here 3 nights we had a 2 bedroom suite over looking the Bay the rooms were clean and comfortable we loved it, the sunrises were beautiful and the sunsets were postcard perfect, people in our group were 6 to 65 several rooms and no complaints the help was great, Eddie and Paublo at the front desk and Tony who drove us where ever we wanted to go and pick us up when we called, they arranged for us to be picked up for our cruise,the 2 bedroom suites that we had had 2 bathrooms and showers large living room with Balcony a very clean swimming pool a volleyball area, and places to lay out in the sun as in a beach area just not connect to the water a fireplace on the beach area with chairs around it, everything outside very clean also you could go to the desk and get fishing equipment so the water was close enough you cold fish from property,I can not see why anyone could have a complaint if staying here, for someone to say it wasn't safe I can tell you they have security at the opening of the property they have security on the property some of our family walked to close by eating and had no problems and they will be happy to take you in a van where you want to go.They have clean Kitchens with dishwashers, full stoves full refrigerators, coffeemakers, everything you need we can't wait to go back again, All together we had 4 rooms and 11 people and we all loved it very relaxing, and it is beautiful.

Room Tip: If you need a 2 bedroom get one they all come with a sofa sleeper and we would not want to use that...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.8 km away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
0.3 km away
Bay Harbor Hotel
Bay Harbor Hotel
#46 of 163 in Tampa
1,703 reviews
11.8 km away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 km away
The Westin Tampa Waterside
3.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
5.1 km away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sailport Waterfront Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sailport Waterfront Suites

Address: 2506 N Rocky Point Dr, Tampa, FL 33607-1406
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Tampa
#14 Green Hotel in Tampa
#17 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#26 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: ₹ 9,046 - ₹ 14,447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sailport Waterfront Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on beautiful Rocky Point Island, overlooking the sparkling waters of Tampa Bay, Sailport Waterfront Suites is ideally situated within minutes of Tampa International Airport, with easy access to downtown Tampa, St. Petersburg and Clearwater. Our location is convenient to all area attractions and points of interest, including Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, the Port of Tampa, Historic Ybor City. The Tampa Bay Performing Arts Center, Tropicana Field, Amalie Arena and Raymond James Stadium Are all nearby. At Sailport, our island atmosphere is suitable for business travel as well as family getaways. Attraction packages are available for Busch Gardens, SeaWorld and more! All suites feature full kitchens, private balconies with water views along with free high speed wireless internet access. Enjoy waterfront relaxation in the heart of Tampa Bay and Rocky Point Island. Guests love our breezy ambiance and the spectacular gulf coast sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sailport Waterfront Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sailport Waterfront Hotel Tampa
Sailport Resort Tampa
Sailport Hotel Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing