We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Bird House”
The Birdhouse Bungalow
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Birdhouse Bungalow
living,dinning and kitchen The Birdhouse Bungalow
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
The Birdhouse Bungalow
living,dinning and kitchen
The Birdhouse Bungalow
The Bird House
off street parking
living,dinning and kitchen
open kitchen
front porch under air
master downstairs - king bed
master bath with shower
2nd bedroom downstairs -full bed
2nd bedroom
2nd bedroom bath with shower
upstairs sitting room
upstairs bedroom with full bed
upstairs sitting room looking to bath with shower
upstairs bedroom
Sarasota sunset-Dec.1st 2014
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Sarasota, Florida

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Patrick H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bird House”
Reviewed 3 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The Bird House is a warm inviting fantastic choice for a Sarasota stay. It's got everything you need, filled with history and charm, and in an amazing location. 5 minutes to Lido beach, and just north of downtown. Also, about 5 minutes from the airport as well. I highly recommend staying here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
otehockey
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
“Wonderful, a must see!!”
Reviewed 21 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The Birdhouse was wonderful!! Highly recommend staying there, it was like stepping back in time!! very warm and cozy. Katherine makes you feel right at home. Miss it already!! We will be going back very soon!! If you get the opportunity to rent it please do so. It's worth every penny.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The old time feel
Liked least: Not on the beach (the perfect bugalow if it were)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2015
A thank you in advance to all our future guests for thinking outside the box when booking the wonderful Birdhouse Bungalow .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maoMilton...
Milton MA
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect choice for us!”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The location of The Bird House is perfect for accessing walks along the bay, shops and restaurants, and the Ringling Museum. Its a short drive to St. Armand's Circle and Lido Beach.
The house itself is very comfortable and welcoming, as well as being visually beautiful. We loved being able to grill and eat in the back garden. Katherine is the perfect host. She's always available if you need her but never intrudes. We thank her for creating and sharing this unique Sarasota destination.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2015
We SO love our guests to have all the comforts of home and everything they want within walking distance.Thank you !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickieszo...
Mardela Springs, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome!!”
Reviewed 23 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We loved staying at this home. It was spacious, beautiful, and very clean. Katherine was fantastic. She met us at the house and gave us a tour. There was even a bag of coffee in the freezer. The home is beautifully decorated and unique. There were modern appliances and plenty of utensils, towels, etc.. The outside was just as gorgeous as the inside. We loved sitting on the back porch reading and watching birds. The location was very convenient to the beach, museums, grocery stores and stadium. The neighborhood was quiet and there was a park across the street. I would definitely stay here again and recommend this home to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: Leavings
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2015
We consider our guests to be very special if they have chosen the Bird House for their vacation.It has a wonderful mix of old Florida charm and modern amenities.Hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marsha H
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If we could stay at the Bird House forever, we would!”
Reviewed 2 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Bird House Bungalow for five wonderful weeks--extending by two days at the very end when we discovered we could! Katherine (Kitty) was a perfect landlady. She met us at the house, with the keys. We'd been in regular contact regarding the details of our stay and she always responded--before and during the stay--with exceptional speed and helpfulness. The house is too much to describe--colorful, artistic, comfortable, spacious. It's even better than in the photos. The kitchen was well stocked with really good appliances, dishes, glasses, and basic necessities. We were two people with two 50+ lb (well-behaved) dogs. Kitty is very dog-friendly! We only used one of three bedrooms but we put the living room and kitchen to good use. Great, comfortable bed. The lovely "on leash" park across the street was where we did our morning and evening walks. It's a short drive to "paw parks"--we used three different ones, all of which the dogs loved. Very short drive to downtown where we went to the opera and dined out. Also very close to other wonderful restaurants of all types. We visited the Ringling Museum and, (as my husband's a "car guy"), the Classic Car Museum and the charming Museum of Art and Whimsy. As NYers we appreciated having Trader Joe's and Whole Foods a short drive away and an excellent Publix supermarket a short walk away. We made friends in the neighborhood! We felt at home from the get-go. I couldn't choose to say what I liked best--everything! And there was no downside other than that we had to return to NYC in the cold! We've already booked for next year!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: There was no
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing