We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and cozy place with great view of the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coquina On The Beach
Ranked #28 of 51 Hotels in Sarasota
Reviewed 16 August 2012

The rooms were clean, and we had our own balcony facing the pool and the beach. There was even a real stove and full size fridge with everything you needed to cook with. Just bring some paper plates and cups and you are all set.
I came with friends that come here every year to enjoy their time share for a long weekend vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for the ones that look onto the beach or pool areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wenchfirebush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoquinaGM, General Manager at Coquina On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

On behalf the entire staff at Coquina, thank you for your recent stay with us and your review.

It is great to hear you enjoyed our cozy spot on the beach. Many guests find our fully equipped kitchens a nice surprise to a typical inefficient efficiency at many other hotels. As you mentioned, each guest room offers the convenience of a full size fridge, stove/oven, microwave, toaster, coffee pot & filters as well as all the pots, pans and dishes, too.

Thank you to you and your friends and the furry ones for your recent stay. We hope to see you all back again soon!

Kindly, - Tom, GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 173 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2012

I booked this room based on the reviews. I felt like I was in a different hotel because the only thing I agree with is that it's on the beach. Check in was friendly & easy. If you are looking for an up to date, resort type feel you don't want to stay here. I don't mind older, but this place really needs a lot of work & some money put into it...at the very least paint. The room we stayed in was on the first floor over looking the pool. The room was a nice size for the four of us & had a kitchen. The bathroom was dirty, the ceiling fan had layers of dust & rust on it. There was a chair that had stains on it..nobody would sit on it. The other chairs weren't any better. The beds weren't comfortable & one of them dipped into the middle. The tile floor was DIRTY to the point of having black feet from walking on it...gross. There was a big hole in one of the cupboards which made me nervous about what was going to climb through it. We went outside to sit on our patio area. There were not enough chairs for 4...even though you have to pay for 2 extra people. I called to ask how many we were supposed to have & I was told 2. Sitting outside on the patio isn't all that pleasant when you have the heat from the air conditioner blowing on your back. There was also a big family reunion going on at that time. I wish I would have been told this event was going on at this time because I would have stayed somewhere else. They took over the whole pool area with rafts, playing basketball in the pool, their stuff was everywhere, they had the grills, they were eating dinner all over the place & running around. You felt like you were intruding on their personal space & party. The pool is small so there wasn't a lot of room to get out of their way. It's a different vibe then just having the hotel full of guests as opposed to all family. In fact, the hotel was full, but nobody else was around the pool besides them. Maybe they felt the same way? You are right on the beach, but sad to say, there was tons of seaweed. We asked for a recommendation to eat outside & we were told about the Lido Beach Resort. We went for 1 drink & left. Terrible & overpriced menu. We went to Daiquiri Deck Raw Bar & we were very pleased. I would not want to stay here again because of how dirty it was. I really have no clue what rooms others are talking about...maybe they had one that was updated? it wasn't worth the money & what we expected...it was such a let down. Oh..and no free wi fi??

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daisy2967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoquinaGM, General Manager at Coquina On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

On behalf of the entire staff at Coquina, thank you for your recent stay with us and your review.

Although we're disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your recent visit as much as you had anticipated, we do appreciate the time you've taken to provide us with information about what you did and did not enjoy about our property.

We are proud that our employees consistently provide an excellent customer experience for all our guests. From the moment you inquire about availability, to the check-in/check-out process and throughout your stay, it is our goal to make sure that all of our guests enjoy themselves.

While we would not advertise ourselves as an upscale beach resort, we still want to maintain comfortable, clean and affordable accommodations that our guests can appreciate and find value in. We strive to provide an a great alternative to other larger beach properties that while offering bigger or even multiple pools, a restaurant and/or meeting facilities, also offers a heftier price tag and busier feel.

Currently, we are in the process of replacing tired furniture in guest rooms as well as fresh paint inside and out. I am confident that a future stay with us would lend to a better experience as we are making efforts to invest in our property to continue to be a go-to on the beach for both quick getaways and extended stays.

Opening originally in the late 40's / early 50's, Coquina is one of the last old-Florida, family owned hotels on the beach. Many of our guests each year have been returning year after year since they were children and find themselves now returning with their own children and grandchildren, too. During the summer, it is rather typical to find many guests returning for their same rooms and booking additional rooms for friends and family, too. We do not typically coordinate or necessarily know when a group might be coming in together and having a "reunion”. We do apologize that we were unable to inform you that there may have been a large group of guests with multiple guest rooms that were congregating in a common area and made you feel as if you couldn't enjoy those areas too. Because we are a smaller, 34-room property, we do try to be cognizant of these scenarios and work with all our guests to ensure that their stay is enjoyable whether they comprise a large group or just a room or two.

We encourage all our guests to keep an open dialogue with us about any concerns and comments during their stay. We truly want to provide each guest with a great stay and if anything should come up, please let us know. As soon as we're notified, we promise to make every effort to remedy any complaints or concerns right away.

Currently, free wi-fi is available in our lobby, and we hope to make that available throughout the property very soon, too. Please check back with us. Additionally, at the front desk guests can find lots of suggestions for nearby and local faves for food and drinks that will have just the vibe one might be looking for.

Again, thank you for your stay and review. Please let me know if there is an opportunity to assist you in the future, too.

Kindly, -Tom, GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Love Coquina on the Beach. Nothing fancy or pretencious here. Just casual, comfortable and cozy. Large room with full kitchen and balcony. Comfortable bed, I slept like a baby! Just a charming, small , laid back place. I have stayed here 20 years ago and returned this year. Still wonderful. Its all about the beach which is just steps from any room.
At night we took a short ride to St Armand's circle and ate outside at the Columbia Restaurant which had very good food . Loved the people watching and its a nice place for a walk after dinner. In the morning there is complimentary coffee in the office.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoquinaGM, Manager at Coquina On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

On behalf of the entire staff at Coquina, we'd like to thank you for your review and recent stay with us.
It is great to hear that you were a returning guest with this summer. Even more delighted to hear that you found it just as enjoyable upon your return two decades later. As one of the first properties on Lido, originating in the late 40's/early 50's, we're delighted to hear guests are still finding our accommodations comfortable, cozy and casual.
Our quaint, family owned, old-Florida hotel strives to provide affordable beachside accommodations for our guests when they return year after year.
Thanks again for your review and stay! We hope to see you again a little bit sooner next time.
Kindly, -Amy P., Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We went for two days and had to extend our vacation. This place is charming as it can be. If you love the beach and outdoors you better plan for more than three days trip. The place is well taking care of. Staff is outstanding and knows the value of the guests. We are planing for a five days vacation next year.

Room Tip: ASK for facing the swimming pool rooms, Those rooms also have view to the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoquinaGM, Manager at Coquina On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Hi There! Thank you for your recent stay and review of our property. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us so much that you had to extend for an additional night this year.
We aim to provide accommodations that are comfortable and convenient for our guests whether it's just an overnight stay or for a week or more. Every guest room offers the full kitchen you've described with all the pots, pans, dishes you might need, plus a refrigerator, stove/oven, coffee maker, toaster and microwave to prepare anything from breakfast and snacks to lunch and dinner. For next time, don't forget guests are welcome to utilize the four charcoal grills found out at the barbecue area by the pool and beach, too.
Thanks again for your recent stay. We look forward to your return next year for five days or maybe more!
Kindly, -Amy, Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Our family enjoys staying at Coquina every summer for a week or two. We've stayed in each type of room, and all the accomodations are more than adequate. I love that even the most affordable room has a full kitchen, not just an "efficiency kitchen." Also, each room has a private balcony (for smokers) and all the rooms are non-smoking. The outside showers by the beach and also by the pool provide refreshing respite from the sand and sun, and the property's tiki hut with picnic tables and chairs is nice for some solace from the sun.

My family lives in Tampa and we recommend Coquina for it's amenities, cleanliness, affordability, and PET FRIENDLINESS ! Also, coffee is provided every day in the office and even a copy of the local newspaper, The Sarasota Herald Tribune ( for those of us who still read a printed copy).

Our last stay was in June and the only disappointment was the temperature of the pool, which was clean but oh so hot ! I, for one, want a pool that is refreshingly cool, but alas, one cannot have everything. Also, the bedding has been updated, which was one thing that our family did not like, but it's an easy way to get everyone out of bed !

Coquina is within walking distance to St. Armand's Circle, and many of the stores are doggie friendly. Even some of the restaurants have outside dining and people can bring their well-behaved pets ( on leashes, of course). Many shops have doggie cool-off stations along the sidewalks of St. Armands, with fresh bowls of water for canine companions.

Oh, one last word about Coquina - The staff is wonderfully polite, professional and cheerful. The office has a small guilty pleasure paperback library that guests are encouraged to borrow from for their reading enjoyment.

Can't wait to return in THREE SHORT WEEKS for TEN !!! fabulous days of Coquina !

Sandy

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs, you might want to choose a lower level room ( the staircases are st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allessandrini_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.5 km away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
7.4 km away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 51 in Sarasota
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
7.3 km away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
4.6 km away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 51 in Sarasota
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coquina On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coquina On The Beach

Address: 1008 Benjamin Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236-2298
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range: ₹ 10,458 - ₹ 17,993 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coquina On The Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaint, old-Florida style beach hotel on Gulf of Mexico with studio and suite efficiencies. Nestled on beautiful Lido Key in Sarasota, FL, just minutes from renowned St. Armanda's Circle and Downtown Sarasota. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Coquina On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coquina On The Beach Hotel Sarasota
Coquina On The Beach Sarasota
Coquina Beach Sarasota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing