We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love finding these little places” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dolce Italia

Dolce Italia
Ranked #5 of 1,026 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A warm welcome to Dolce Italia, celebrating our fourth anniversary. Four years ago we opened with the dream of creating a little gathering place to enjoy good food and good company. You have helped us realize our dream, and we wish to thank you by providing our very best hospitality, ambiance and flavor. We came here from Ischia, Italy to share our passion for creating wholesome Italian Cuisine from our own family traditions. In return, you made us feel like a part of a big happy family here, so we don't miss our Ischia so much. My father created the sculpture of the enchanted Castle Aragonese on our wall to remind us of the beautiful place we were born and raised. Over the last four years, our dreams have come true. We remember each of our customers with fondness, we enjoy every evening that you spend with us, and we feel very lucky to have such a wonderful family of patrons. "La Nostra Casa e la Vostra Casa" (Our Home is your Home) Tiziana & Filippo & Dolce Italia Family
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Love finding these little places”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Great food, great service, great company! We ate here at 6:30 with some friends that met us halfway from Bradenton and us from punta gorda! Great little find on trip advisor!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thefoodieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

709 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    574
    74
    36
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Real Italian Food Prepared And Served By Real Nice Italians”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

There are a few staples on the menu but the main items are the specials prepared each day by mama who cooks each one from scratch. I had the mushroom & sausage risotto which was very tasty and perfectly prepared. My wife had the veal marsala which she raved about. The desserts were imaginative and home baked and delicious. Each dish was individually prepared, none of this bulk pasta and sauce so common in faux italian restaurants in America. These are real Italians serving real Italian food in a Trattoria atmosphere. Papa out front and mama cooking in the back. We met the brother-in-law who is moving to Ottawa to be a chef. They are lovely people serving lovely food! I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Libbersboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
419 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,663 helpful votes
“All the potential to be great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

This is a fun family restaurant that offers respectable southern Italian cuisine and boasts an environment that’s stereotypically Italian. The staff is delightful, and you’ll walk away cheery. We ate the chicken picatta and veal marsala with antipasti as a first course and a delicious Strawberry cake for desert. Prices were reasonable, but the main meal was a little uneven. The meat was quite tender and generous, but it was accompanied by no vegetables and only a tiny dish of pasta in tomato sauce. You don’t need to be a culinary expert to recognize that tomato sauce juxtaposes with light lemony picatta and savory mushroom marsala about as well as lions get along with hyenas. The waiter/owner explained to us (he is jovial and means well but quite gregarious) that this is what Americans want and we could have asked for it to be served the traditional way, as a bed for the main dish and its sauce. Nevertheless, we were disappointed that nobody asked *us* proactively, and, furthermore, that the traditional method wasn’t employed by default. Is this an indication that other corners are being cut to appease the American palette rather than those of us who want the real thing?

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Cherry_Wonderdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siesta Key, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“For this Italian like eating at Moms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

This is a down to earth place to eat. Wonderful food and desserts. The owners are lovely people and Anna is a great cook. Very fair prices.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
2 reviews
“Very authentic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We have been there for dinner twice and have found the food to be excellent!
We have eaten at many restaurants/osterias in Italy and this place equals if not surpasses them. The food is authentic Italian and everything was fresh including the homemade pasta noodles.
Tiziana, Anna and Pippo are truly concerned with their guests enjoyment...and make you feel as you are eating in their own home.
We definitely will return next time we are in Sarasota.
Raffaele & Antonietta G.
Ontario Canada

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RaffaeleG155021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dolce Italia also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Dolce Italia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing