We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”
Review of El Toro Bravo

El Toro Bravo
Ranked #27 of 1,038 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 8 - US$ 18
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: When it comes to Southwest Mexican cuisine, there is only one place in Sarasota that creates a one-of-a-kind dining experience that keeps visitors and locals coming back for more. Family owned and operated, El Toro Bravo combines fresh, flavorful food along with honest prices and outstanding service.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

My husband and I were in Siesta Key for a day and decided we were in the mood for Mexican. This place was outstanding. Our first inclination was to find a place near the water or with a view, certainly not a place in a strip mall, but we are SO glad we tried this place. Everything was fabulous, definitely the best meal we've had in a long time. As we ate, we were actually reminiscing that some of our favorite restaurants over the years have been located in strip malls. Weird, but true. The owners are the chef and hostess, and the servers are kind and attentive. I sincerely hope we can eat here again someday!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MofromMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    120
    35
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Mexican”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Unpretentious place in a strip mall. Very good Mexican food in a casual atmoshere. Relaxed Service.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank staroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester MA
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT!!”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We had dinner there tonight and there is a reason the place is crowded at 5:30 PM. The food is excellent and the service was even better, We were greeted promptly at the door and seated. The restaurant holds maybe 35 people. Immediately, a basket of homemade tortilla chips was brought over with some delightful salsa. The place is very efficiently run. Many of the customers must be repeats, as they were greeted with hugs and kisses by the staff. My wife ordered the sangria, which was quite tasty and not overly sugary. Very crisp. For dinner she had the chicken fajitas and I had the Mexican steak. Both were outstanding. My wife thought this might be one of the best Mexican restaurants she has been to. The place is very. very clean. Portions were more than adequate. Vegetables were very fresh. The salads looked spectacular. Even though the place was crowded and small, it did not appear that people were stacked on top of each other. Conversation could be held at a normal tone of voice. El Toro Bravo would be a great place for couples, young and old, as well as families. The atmosphere is not glamorous, but the food more than makes up for that.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nuds78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“AWESOME.”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

If you want genuine Mexican food of the highest quality, you have to visit the place. Excellent service and a warm welcome. The owner, Rubin, ensures that you have a memorable visit, The food is spiced but to the right degree. I will visit here again. VIVA TORO.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank leonard j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Fajitas!”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

The only genuine TexMex Fajitas in the Sarasota area.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Toro Bravo also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to El Toro Bravo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing