We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (262)
Filter reviews
262 results
Traveller rating
200
45
9
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
200
45
9
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages no see ums laundry room other guests beach chairs each morning bug repellent repeat customers fresh fruit your feet few steps free bicycles sand fleas extra towels front porch air conditioner full kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 262 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2017

We were looking for a comfortable laid-back atmosphere and were attracted to the online pictures of the Blue Dolphin Cottages. We found the rooms were exactly as pictured, but the charm and comfort exceeded our expectations. The managers, staff and owners treated us like house guests. The extras like bikes and beach chairs added to the fun. We visited a couple of the highly rated public beaches, but found them disappointing compared to the beach right outside our back door. We learned that several of the other guests are yearly visitors to the Blue Dolphin and we would love to also make a yearly trek.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Becky622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

We are glad we met your expectations. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

My husband and I booked for several days in late September to celebrate his birthday in our favorite vacation spot. Little did we know when we made the reservations that Hurricane Irma would soon be spending some time in the area. We were able to spend only 2 days of our vacation at the Blue Dolphin before we had to leave the island to get home to get our own place in Florida prepared for the hurricane. But these two days were lovely as usual. Beth greeted us warmly and even upgraded our room because, due to the circumstances, there were a few available rooms. While the Blue Dolphin is not a luxury chain hotel, this is exactly why we love it. We don't need a pool (the Gulf is just steps away), an activity director, valet service when you park a long way from your hotel, multi room suites, daily maids, or a mint on our pillow. This is truly old time Florida comfortable accommodations at its best. Breakfast is provided each morning and is simple coffee, tea, and individually wrapped croissants, bagels, muffins and fruit (a changing variety of bananas, grapes, cantaloupe, pineapples, whatever is in season). You can eat along the garden path, take it to your room, or carry it to the beach or other fun destination. There are no servers or white tablecloths, but it is perfect for us.The rooms are comfortably furnished with white wicker furniture with tropical bedding. They have always been clean. There are laundry facilities and extra towels and sheets are available. We really love the back door which allows access to a shell sorting table at most rooms, along with a hose to wash the sand off your treasures, and to clean the sand off your feet. There is one motel type unit with limited kitchen facilities, but we don't cook much when we're on vacation, so this would be fine for us. The other units are either studios or 1 bedroom, with a fully equipped kitchen. A few face the beach,but you can see the beach from the front porch of most of the units.The beach is excellent for shelling and sunset watching, and they provide very comfortable chaise lounges and umbrellas, shelling tools, and bikes. I read that people complain about no-see-ums as if they are only found at the Blue Dolphin. Whenever they are around, they are everywhere on the island. I hate them too but always use bug repellent; Beth has suggested one and I also use Skin So Soft Bug Guard. I also wear loose long slacks and blouses especially at night when they are out. This is just the perfect place for us and we talk with people who come back year after year, with multiple generations . I hope we can find time to finish our cut-short vacation before the end of the year.

Room Tip: Look on their website for photos of each unit, how it is furnished, and the price.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

We are glad to see you had a wonderful time. Please come and see us again. Finish that vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

We fell in love with the simplicity of this place. Take a walk back to the 60's with the Blue Dolphin Cottages. The rooms are simple but accommodating. Impressed by how fresh and clean the cottage was when we first walked in. Every room is just a few steps to the shell drenched beach. Wish we could have stayed more than the 3 days we did. Everybody is friendly and excited to be staying here. The views are spectacular. Very desirable location, in the middle of a very nice residential area, away from the maddening crowds and traffic.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Trekwaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
murphye51, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

We opened in 1961. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Great place to stay. Off the beaten path and not a crowded beach at all. The manager of the blue dolphin was so helpful and had an answer for all questions we had. The beach was so close to the room we were there in 1 minute or less. We had a great time and will be back next year

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mikegudgel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

We are glad you enjoyed yourselves. Until next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

The Blue Dolphin is a great little place. The cottage is just steps away from the beach. It is just a perfect spot to be. It is not a public beach so there is not alot of people. The noseeums were pretty bad but that is everwhere you go in Sanibel. The Blue Dolphin is were we will be staying in August evey year from now on. Wonderful place.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Penguin1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

We're glad you had a wonderful time. See you next August.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews