We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute, cozy, private, right on the beach!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Dolphin Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Southworth WA
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Cute, cozy, private, right on the beach!”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

For some people, this is the very best place on Sanibel. Every good thing you read in the other reviews, believe it. A few tiny cottages steps away from an excellent shelling beach. Everything is clean and tropical.

So I am going to talk about the things you might not like, not that there's anything wrong, but my idea of paradise might not be to your taste, so you won't be disappointed if you highly value the very very few things that aren't provided. No use filling up this heavenly resort with people who aren't utterly contented!

They provide beach chairs and umbrellas but no uniformed staff rush out to set them up for you. Hint: use the shovel to dig a hole for the umbrella stick. No one will bring you mixed drinks. And not at all crowded because the cottages are in a residential section on a dead end road. Did I mention how good the shelling was? We went to numerous beaches up and down the Gulf Coast and all over Sanibel and felt that the best shelling of all was right outside our door.

The rooms are very small. The beds are ordinary, comfortable, but not amazing. No luxury linens, just nice clean plain sheets. The kitchenettes in some of the units are very very small although decently stocked with utensils, salt and papper, and coffee supplies. You will have to bring sugars, oils, soy sauce, and so on. Although we loved our unit, it was hard to cook meals, which we love to do. If you are a breakfast and lunch kind of cook (they do have a nice coffee, pastry, fruit complimentary breakfast) then you will be just fine. If you dream of cleaning fish and making your own complicated ceviche, make sure you get one of the bigger kitchenettes. On the other hand, they have a nice charcoal grill by the beach. We had steak, avocado salad, and wine on our little patio, and watched a spectacular sunset.

Rooms are not cleaned or bedding changed during your stay. The room is spotless when you arrive. There are plenty of fresh sheets and towels, but you do the maid service. On the other hand, the staff could not be more helpful.

You cannot park at your doorstep. You have to schlepp your bags down a short tropical sand path. They provide a wagon. If you travel with loads of luggage, that might matter to you.

My husband and I stayed for eight glorious days, slept well, ate well, and brought home a lovely bunch of shells. You may be able to find a quieter, cozier, cottage by the beach on Sanibel, but we couldn't.

Room Tip: We were only able to nab a center room. End units have more windows. The very best units are the two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank judyjupiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    44
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
51
148
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Blue Dolphin is a great get-away-from-it-all place. It's very quiet, a beautiful setting, newly renovated bathrooms and kitchenettes, and is right on the beach in a peaceful residential neighborhood. All the units are close to the water, but the units with Gulf view are probably worth the extra cost. Although Blue Dolphin has free cruiser bikes, you almost certainly need a car, as distances are great. But Beware: if wifi is important to you, check carefully before you book, because during the two weeks we were there, 90% of the time the only reliable way to get wifi reception was to sit outside at one of the tables near the office, and even then sometimes the connections were very slow. The staff said they planned to get rid of wifi completely (!) because they had paid a lot of money to have a technician come in three times during the time we were there but the "fixes" never lasted for more than a day. Another point: the no-see-ums are out and biting for an hour or two around dusk every day, so bring insect repellant. Definitely use it if you go to the Ding Darling Nature Reserve, no matter what time of day!

Room Tip: The room that is right by the parking lot will naturally be more noisy. The efficiencies are quite l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank invertpaleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freedom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Stayed during Christmas week. While the island was booming and traffic was hectic, the Blue Dolphin was our Island getaway. My husband and I felt like we had our own private island. The beach was quiet and beautiful. I believe only 10 cottages to share the beach with. The rooms were comfortable and clean. We left our windows open at night and listened to the waves. No Pool - who needs one, you have the ocean. When we go to hotels we hardly ever see managers about. Not here. The manager was always walking the grounds. Made sure we were in need of nothing. Gave us good suggestions for local photo opps. This is not our first time on the island or the only place we have stayed but it will be from now on.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Dannie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We went to Sanibel Island for two days/ one night in early November and would highly recommend going here, only you should stay at least 2 nights. Our room was facing the water which was great, and there were bicycles on the premises to borrow. We rode our bikes through the nature reserve, and took walks on the beach during the day, and enjoyed the starlite sky at night. The beach has thousands of beautiful shells. We had 2 twin beds and a smaill kitchenette in our room. The beds are firm and nothing special but the room rate was about $155/night, so reasonable.

Room Tip: ask for the room that faces the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 121Bev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Beach and outside areas great. Chairs, umbrellas. But room is not great for 250us per night. Hard beds pillows, no real covers, just an old bedspread. Its ok, but not worth the price. 5 miles from town one way, so bad location for biking, not close to anything. But good if you want to get away. No pool. Breakfast not good, coffee good. Breakfast is commerical grocery bought packaged items, not fresh. Give you plain eng muffins not toasted and no butter. Does give fruit, but no juice.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank rugermojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
7.4 km away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,347 reviews
7.9 km away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
284 reviews
2.5 km away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Waterside Inn on the Beach
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
598 reviews
4.0 km away
Shalimar Cottages and Motel
Shalimar Cottages and Motel
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
335 reviews
7.4 km away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Dolphin Cottages? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Dolphin Cottages

Property: Blue Dolphin Cottages
Address: 4227 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5199
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sanibel Island
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,602 - ₹ 20,799
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly refreshing vacation awaits you at the Blue Dolphin Cottages. We are a family owned, intimate and charming motel situated directly on a tranquil, white sandy beach on the beautiful Gulf of Mexico. The Blue Dolphin Cottages offers a selection of accommodations in its 10 units, either bright and airy efficiencies or spacious one bedroom suites, all with completely equipped kitchens, phones and cable television. Each unit has a comfortable sun deck surrounded by lush tropical landscaping. With our compliments, you will enjoy a delicious continental breakfast every morning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Dolphin Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Blue Dolphin Sanibel Island
Blue Dolphin Hotel Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing