We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic Gulfside Cottage was Simply relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed at the Tropical Winds for 3 nights last week while visiting family that live in the area. While the amenities met expectations, the beautiful scenery and access to the beach very much exceeded them. We travelled with our toddler son, and 2 small dogs (that require a special diet) so the cottage/efficiency unit was essential in providing them with their needs. The kitchen had pretty much everything that we needed, and the sleeping accomodations were very good. The screened in porch did a good job of sheltering us from the bugs at night. Could it use some updating? Probably. But if you are going to pick away at the little things and critique it against 5 star resorts, this place is not for you. Bottom line: it was clean and comfortable. In terms of easy access to the beach and use of beach necessities...it doesn't get better. In terms of the friendliness and receptiveness of the staff...wonderful. Accomodating to pets...fantastic. And the solitude away from the hustle and bustle of the area....2nd to none. We look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rcleach2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 161 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2012

Be warned. The rooms are old, amenities absent, neighbors in earshot and almost impossible to avoid. Not the kind of place this old introvert usually likes. I encourage you all to go elsewhere. Because I loved this place and can't wait to return. As other reviewers have said, not an elegant place, but the beach is beautiful, uncrowded, clean, quiet. I felt completely safe and relaxed. Never turned on the TV for five days, leaving only for dinners out and a bike ride. What a find! Our neighbors wereusually long time guests who'd come for years and could offer reviews on various rooms. The prize, #10, books up a year or more in advance. For example, we visited mid February 2012. The prized 10 is already booked late Dec 2012 thru mid March 2013. On the other hand, #5 (I suspect - from the unhappy manager's unsolicited comments - the room of the last unhappy reviewers) is a nice size for a cruise cabin. That's why it rents for less.

Room Tip: See above. We were in #7 and would be more than happy to return. # 8 & 9 share a screened porc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JerseyTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Like someone else said: not sure how this place got all those good reviews. It certainly wasn't the case for us! Not all rooms are the same, some of them are not shown on the website and that is for a reason so you think you are getting the room shown and when you arrive is something completely different! Overpriced for what it is. You can book another place on the island and get something much better right on the beach too. The room quality is awful; furniture in very bad condition and the service absolutely the worst! I'm not one to complaint but this was just ridiculous! The lady at the desk was not helpful or friendly at all. When we went to talk to her she got very defensive; not very good guest service! You do not get a blowdryer, iron, coffee, shampoo, nothing and the price you pay is pretty high not to have any of that! Check out which typically is at 11 or 12am; not here, you have to pay additional to be able to leave at 12. I work in this business and let me tell you this is not the place you want to stay in!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dissapointed1954828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Tropical Winds and we were very impressed by the beach, rooms and staff. Everyone was super friendly, the room was clean and quaint, and the beach was the best I've seen. Shelling was great and the beach was almost private (we only saw a handful of people the whole time). We will be back again SOON!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We just returned from an absolutely wonderful trip to Sanibel. If you stay at Tropical Winds, understand that it's all about the location (perfect) and not the room (a bit run down).

Pros:
+Location, location, location - a 2 minute walk to the water and lovely, almost private beach
+Friendliness - everyone was incredibly friendly and helpful.
+Affordable

Cons: (for #5)
-Our room/efficiency was small, which is fine, but the shower was the smallest I've ever been in. If you're taller than 5'7" or have broad shoulders or a bit of a belly, the shower could be a real problem.
-I've lived in Florida and know how tough it is to keep a beach place clean, but our efficiency just felt and looked a little dirty all around the edges than I would have liked.
-The bed was rather soft and sunk down in the middle

Honestly, I'd go back in a heartbeat, but might try to stay in one of the larger cottages/studios next time.

Room Tip: Avoid room 5, unless you're a short and slender person. The shower (and bathroom) are minuscule.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xsfritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
9.2 km away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,397 reviews
9.7 km away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 20 in Sanibel Island
291 reviews
8.1 km away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
Anchor Inn & Cottages
Anchor Inn & Cottages
#17 of 20 in Sanibel Island
212 reviews
11.4 km away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 20 in Sanibel Island
696 reviews
4.7 km away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 20 in Sanibel Island
1,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages

Address: 4819 Tradewinds & Jamaica Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-2605
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range: ₹ 10,225 - ₹ 23,120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience Sanibel with the charm of Old Style Florida! Located on the sparkling waters of the Gulf of Mexico, on the west end of the island, Tropical Winds is tucked away in a very secluded, private setting within a small residential neighborhood. Enjoy one of our beachfront or nearby cottages in our own tropical paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Winds Motel And Cottages
Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Tropical Winds Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing