We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous vacation!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Caribe Beach Resort
Southeast Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

A wonderful two weeks on Sanibel - right on the beach where we can view the sunrise and sunset from the exact same spot in front of the property. Great place for singles or couples since the rooms are smaller and there are not the ameneties that children desire. Very quiet and peaceful. Positioned just right for visiting J.N. "Ding" Darling National Wildlife Preserve as well as other nature walks and bike rides.

Room Tip: Rooms in the A building are generally quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TraditionFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    26
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

Our family has been coming to Caribe since the 1970's for the following reasons:
-direct access to the beach in just the right spot to view spectacular sunsets
-free use of bikes, shuffleboard and loaner cupboard full of games and kids sand toys
-clean pool with BBQ's at the sides and brand new hot tub with indigo lighting
-deck box has beach chairs and umbrellas for the sun can be borrowed
-on site laundry machines if needed; drying racks provided
-well equipped kitchens with full weeks supply of coffee filters and dishwasher soap
-since we were here last flat screen TVs and free WIFI which is appreciated
-kids playground set and list of small geckos for them to chase after plus resident cats
-very helpful staff who host a weekly mimosa and bagel morning with NO sales pitches

These are the things that keep bringing us back year after year plus of course how special the island is since it doesn't have any nightjars, stoplights, minimal franchises and lovely boutiques and cafes.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank madkeen15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

We had been staying at a very large and lovely condo about 20 miles away, with no beach. We came to Sanibel for the day and knew we had to stay there for our sake and our kids. Went into the Caribe and they were very friendly and let us look at a few of the units to select which we preferred. We chose the one above the office in case our 2 year old woke up and cried as we did not want to disturb others. It was the perfect fit for us. Make no mistake, this is old school Florida, but we loved it. We had a bedroom with a full bath and a Murphy bed in the living room for sleeping. The kitchen was well stocked and there was a 1/2 bath in the hallway. The grounds were very nicely maintained and had lovely vegetation. The pool was perfect. Best of all, we were a short walk to the beautiful Sanibel beach for shelling. If you are expecting luxury, this is not the place for you. If you are there to be a beach bum and not worry about sand on your feet, this could be the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SunnyIce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
99 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2011

First, the positives: Quiet. Clean, well-maintained grounds, friendly maintenance staff, good location on West Gulf Drive. Pet-friendly. Now for the negatives: We arrived to discover the specific ground-floor room we were promised (in writing) was occupied and unavailable, though no one had warned us. The property manager agreed to our request for a 15% discount for the inconvenience. I guess the room key says it all about the need for updates on this property: when was the last time you stayed at a hotel that gave you a metal key attached to one of those brightly colored plastic fobs with the "drop in any mailbox" instructions? The room number had long ago worn off the fob, and had been retraced with white-out. Other issues: Exterior door louvers that were inoperable, ants in the kitchenette (friendly maintenance staff did lend us a can of ant and roach killer, but it didn't get rid of them), an unsupportive mattress on the Murphy Bed, a policy that directs guests to exchange dirty towels for clean ones but ONLY ON WEDNESDAY MORNING and ONLY FROM 9:00 till 10:00!!! Any other time, and guests are just plain out of luck. And one final item you may find interesting. Internet access was cut off at 12:00 AM the day of our departure, even though checkout was ten hours later. And, Surprise!, when we logged on to our home page later in the day, hundreds of miles from the Caribe, guess whose log-in screen appeared? Yes! The Caribe's! And it won't go away.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BillyBatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2009

I've been coming to the caribe since I was young, probably 5 or 6 and I am now 26 and I still come every summer with my family. Between me, my mom and my grandmother, we have 3 time shares there and it is so nice and memorable because all of the family can get together. I actually got engaged at the Caribe. I am now a mother of two and I am so glad that I am able to share the memories with my children. The accomodations are amazing, the beach is wonderful, staff is great and everything is so close and convenient. I would reccomend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank munkypie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
1.2 km away
Villa Sanibel Condominiums
Villa Sanibel Condominiums
#29 of 42 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.3 km away
Shalimar Cottages and Motel
Shalimar Cottages and Motel
#14 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
1.8 km away
Ocean's Reach Condominiums
Ocean's Reach Condominiums
#2 of 42 in Sanibel Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Sunset Beach Inn
Sunset Beach Inn
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
2.9 km away
No photo provided
Spanish Cay
#42 of 42 in Sanibel Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
1.4 km away
Casa Ybel Resort
Casa Ybel Resort
#13 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Beach Resort

Property: Caribe Beach Resort
Address: 2669 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5911
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Sanibel Island
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Caribe Beach Hotel Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing