We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food...Great Service”
Review of The Sandbar

The Sandbar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 15 - US$ 59
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Since opening in 2013, The Sandbar has become known for its incredibly fresh seafood and choice cuts of beef and pork. We take great pride in having the best service staff on the islands. Check out the reviews or come in and find out for yourself!
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have been at Sanibel for a few weeks and eaten at Sandbar twice. Once sea food, the other steak. Both were excellent. Great Service. Covid Safe. Fair Price. You can call between 10am and 4pm for reservations. To me, this is one of the better restaurants on Sanibel.

Date of visit: January 2021
1  Thank 626lloydm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 1,510 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went at 5pm for Happy Hour, which was posted online as being from 4-6 (most are 3-6 in the area). We arrived and were told it was over. There was only one barstool between each party reserved for spacing and the other tables were very close together. We quickly had one drink each, which the server seemed upset about, and left. Another couple was leaving after arriving and realizing that it didn't seem safe.

Date of visit: January 2021
6  Thank amysV1933AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianSilv, General Manager at The Sandbar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are truly sorry you were incapable of enjoying yourself at our establishment. Since we don't advertise our Happy Hour, you apparently visited another restaurants online advertisement. A simple phone call to The Sandbar would have saved you from being confused and posting a nasty review. As for the social distancing comment, we are at 50% capacity and are following the state of Florida guidelines on COVID-19. While we are allowed to seat as many as 10 people at a table, we only seat a maximum of 7 people. Additionally, if you felt uncomfortable in our restaurant, you could have simply exited and refrained from leaving an untruthful, nasty review, that even included an interpretation of why other people were leaving the restaurant, after enjoying a GREAT HAPPY HOUR.....But, you couldn't do that Amy, could you? I'm sure nobody has ever accused you of being a NEGATIVE NANCY or even a KAREN. Stay safe out there Amy...it is of course FLU SEASON.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2021 via mobile

We stopped in for dinner and had a great experience. We had a bowl of clam chowder - OMGOSH!
I had the jerk mahi-mahi with basmati rice and black beans FABULOUS! My husband had a perfectly cooked ribeye with load baked potato and grilled veggies. You must have a slice of the key lime...smooooth with the perfect tang!
The lighting was spot on, menus easy to read comfortable seating and quality everything. HIGHLY recommended!

Date of visit: January 2021
1  Thank Lifesgoodinjboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2021

Great service and the food was excellent as well as the service. Homemade Key Lime pie! The Wedge salads were the best ever!

Date of visit: January 2021
1  Thank SteveV642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2021

We ate here for our anniversary and enjoyed the fresh seafood trio and fruity drinks. Our service was great for the first part of our visit but later our very nice server was overwhelmed by a very demanding and rude table next to us so she did not have as much time to check in on us towards the end. I don't blame the server for it at all as the guests at the next table kept having her go back and forth between the kitchen to find out if they could have certain foods prepared off the menu, could they have a piece of raw fish to determine how fresh it was (is this even ok with health codes?), etc. I will say it is quite a turnoff to enjoy a nice romantic dinner and then have the mood ruined by listening to 20 minutes of rude patrons bullying a server. Oddly the rude group seemed like regulars who knew the restaurant manager and other staff so they seemed to think they needed extra special service. I'm willing to give the establishment the benefit of the doubt and would come back if we are in the area again and hope for some more polite neighbors!

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jessicaz838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sandbar also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Sandbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
India
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.