We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Petaluma, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quaint”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We came out from Cslifornia for a cruise and I wanted to see Sanible Island because I read Randy Wayne White. We didnt want to spend alot on a hotel becsuse the main purpose was the cruise. Our room was under 200 , the only room under 200 on the island. It was an easy walk to the beach with many shells. I would do it again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tluth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carole W, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. Let me also thank all the other reviewers who have encouraged guests, like you, to stay with us based upon their reviews.
We are glad to hear you enjoyed our beautiful beach and World class shelling,and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    168
    45
    18
    23
See reviews for
197
197
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We chose these cottages because we could take our dog with us - the location is wonderful. We stayed in a cottage on the marina side of the resort and very much enjoyed the view out of our front door. A short walk takes you over to the beach side of the resort for shelling and sunset watching. You also have access to Tween Waters Inn facilities which are very nice - Olympic sized pool, hot tubs etc. We liked being at the end of Sanibel, near Captiva but it did seem a bit of a drive if you wanted to eat at a Sanibel restuarant or for going to the grocery store but as we has always stayed near the center of Sanibel in other visits, this gave us an opportunity to see more of Captiva.

We rented bikes one morning at the Castaway marina for the reasonable price of $10 for half day and biked past the amazing houses over to South Seas Plantaion.

The outside of the cottages and the grounds in general are well kept and again, in just a beautiful setting. However the inside was, as my titile says, a bit pet funky, not smelly, just a bit worn and definatley not high end but I realize that is what most pet-friendly properties are going to be. We had lovely weather esp. for January, not hard to understand why Sanibel Island is one of the nicest places in the world to visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in #29, quite roomy, big bed, nice location, easy to access both the marina and beach part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carole W, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay on beautiful Sanibel Island. We appreciate all guests comments and are happy that you could bring your pet with you on vacation.
We continue to upgrade our cottages to enhance our guest experience. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I live in Naples, and my sister and her family came to SW Florida for a visit after Christmas. We decided to head up to Sanibel for a couple of days, so we did our research online and with the help of my sweetheart, Elizabeth, we chose Castaways.

The reservation process was easy, and despite my overlooking the wrong dates on the confirmations, the reservation staff did a great job of accommodating the dates and cottages we wanted.

The cottages were clean, good sized, rustic with modern conveniences and all around, the ideal getaway. We had units 27, 28, 29 and 19.

I also brought a flats boat with me and after visiting the "marina" to pay for launch and dock fees, we put the boat in and tied her up right in front of our cottage. There is a little tackle shop in the marina and you can get a bite to eat as well as bait.

The location was perfect, the Lazy Flamingo restaurant (original) and a little convenience store were within very short walking distance, and the beach was right across the street.

We had a wonderful time and will definitely be back to do this again at some point in the future.

Room Tip: My only recommendation is that if you are a light sleeper, I would choose a cottage away from the &q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carole W, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Hi John
We are glad that you and your sweetheart Elizabeth enjoyed your stay at Castaways. We thank you for taking the time to submit a reveiw and appreciate all of your positive comments. We look forward to seeing you back on beautiful Sanibel Island in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Was in Florida and decided to take my daughter to Sanibel and Captiva Island. We arrived but had nowhere to stay. We went to the Chamber of Commerce and they advised to try Castaways Beach and Bay Cottages. They accommodated us at the last minute and gave us a great deal. We stayed in the 1 bedroom suite cottage right on the water. It was clean and so comfortable. There was a complete kitchen which made our stay cheaper because we cooked our own food. The staff were very nice and provided us with information on things to do. Great stay and would definately stay there again. The place did not look worn...they are cottages, they were clean and fresh. It doesn't matter if there was no shelving in the bathroom because you only sleep there. Believe me when I say that these cottages were very nice inside and worthwhile staying there.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lizzbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

First, we've lived in Florida for 35+ years and have stayed at our share of these quirky west coast cottages. The Castaways looks a little worn at first but it grows on you. We can only review #8 so keep that in mind. Nice porch, roomy front room/kitchen, tight bedroom and bathroom. No shelving in bathroom is a little inconvenient and the bed and dresser leave little room to pass. But its in a good, central location for restaurants and it sits on a great shelling beach. We had a nice extended weekend. Would we chose the Castaways again? Probably not.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnsbobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
14.0 km away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,297 reviews
3.3 km away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
14.3 km away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 km away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
677 reviews
9.8 km away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,775 reviews
10.7 km away
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Waterside Inn on the Beach
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaways Cottages of Sanibel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaways Cottages of Sanibel

Property: Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Address: 6460 Sanibel Captiva Rd, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-2016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sanibel Island
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,992 - ₹ 13,475
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castaways Cottages of Sanibel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterview cottages, efficiencies, or motel units are surrounded by the Gulf of Mexico and beautiful Sunset Bay. Discover miles of sandy beaches, shelling, fishing, swimming, or just relaxing Island style. The Castaways is a touch of paradise you're sure to remember. World-class shelling and bird-watching. Great fishing from our private docks or in the Gulf of Mexico.Marina with canoe,kayak and bicycle rentals, charter captains, bait and other sundry items.Three restaurants and general store within walking distance. Heated swimming pool. Pet-friendly units available for guests who want their 4-footed friends to enjoy a true family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Castaways Cottages of Sanibel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaways Beach And Bay Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Castaways Beach And Bay Hotel
Castaways Beach And Bay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing