We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time in Sunny Sanibel”
Review of Seahorse Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Seahorse Cottages
Reviewed 21 February 2012

These cottages are a real gem. Situated on the east end of the island, they are easily accessible from the causeway, and have the advantage of being on the less busy end of the island. The room was clean and comfortable, and quiet. The kitchen was adequately equipped. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joe848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (134)
There are newer reviews for Seahorse Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 84 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2012

Sanibel is so different from the mainland and we found staying in Seahorse Cottages was an ideal way of seeing the island. We had the 2 bed cottage which is a good size - larger than we'd expected - and it had everything we needed - easy access to the beach, bikes to get around the local area, barbecue, pool all in good shape: the place is well looked after. The owners are friendly and welcoming, all very comfortable. We had a great time. Hope to be back soon!

Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
7  Thank BobTheRechnung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Seahorse cottages are just a short walk from the beach -- and when we were there in December it was 80 degrees and sunny every day! The 1 bedroom cottage has a comfortable living room and cable TV, a good-sized kitchen area and eating area, a bathroom, bedroom with queen sized bed, and a great back porch by the pool. The pool area was fantastic with many chairs, a hammock and shower. I loved choosing a bike provided by the owners and riding up and down the great bikeways alongside the main road through the island. The cottage is just a few doors down from a deli, a cafe and the ice cream shop. It was helpful to have laundry facilities and the restaurant guides left in the room. I loved it there, wish I could move in forever!

Room Tip: The 1 bedroom doesn't have a front porch, but is on the end and nearest to the pool.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank spatzer1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Friends and I stayed at these wonderful cottages in July 2011. All three of us desperately needed a vacation and staying at Sea Horse Cottages made our Sanibel experience perfect! I arrived very late during a Florida thunderstorm and was so happy to see a note on the outside of my door welcoming me to my temporary Sanibel home. We enjoyed sitting on the outside porch with our glasses of wine every night, and walked to the ice cream store around the corner several times during our stay. We utilized the complimentary bikes and pool often. We enjoyed swinging on the swing and watching the salamanders scurry up the banyan trees. We have decided that we will make this an annual experience. Do yourself a favor.... Pick up the phone and reserve your spot at Seahorse cottages so you too can feel like you have your very own little island getaway!

K. Osmon (Chicago)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank KOsmonChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We had a one-bedroom unit complete with kitchen, living room, large screen television and extra TV in the bedroom. The WiFi worked great. Lots of bikes were available for use of guests along with wagons to cart all the beach equipment (also provided by Seahorse) to the shore. I don't think we could have made a better choice for our week on Sanibel and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Joy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
3.6 km away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,361 reviews
2.9 km away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 20 in Sanibel Island
286 reviews
0.9 km away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 20 in Sanibel Island
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Anchor Inn & Cottages
Anchor Inn & Cottages
#18 of 20 in Sanibel Island
209 reviews
16.0 km away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#8 of 20 in Sanibel Island
514 reviews
8.3 km away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 20 in Sanibel Island
1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seahorse Cottages? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seahorse Cottages

Address: 1223 Buttonwood Ln, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-7433
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range: ₹ 8,357 - ₹ 20,442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Seahorse Cottages 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seahorse Cottages is tranquil ground-level attached cottages nestled in a lush garden of tropical plants with a heated pool; located just 200 feet from the Bay beach and a block from the Gulf. All suites are comfortably furnished and include living area, bedroom, kitchen, bath and patio. Use of wireless Internet, bicycles and beach equipment is included. The peaceful setting and attention to detail makes Seahorse Cottages an ideal romantic destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Seahorse Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seahorse Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Seahorse Hotel Sanibel Island
Seahorse Motel Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing