We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place right on the gulf”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shalimar Cottages and Motel
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We loved this place. Wanted to stay in a cottage, but they were all booked, so we stayed in the motel part. Couldn't get closer to the water if you pitched a tent in the sand. Manager was very helpful as we arrived on Thanksgiving Day. Gave us his cell # so we could check in even though the office was closed. We will absolutely stay here again in the future. Also, great restaurant two doors down.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PamRnOcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 264 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2011

I went with my four closest friends for a weekend getaway to Sanibel Island and stayed at Shalimar. We chose Shalimar because another friend recommended it two years ago. We went at the end of October then and decided to go back again this year at the same time. This year we stayed in the motel part of the resort, as opposed to the apartment we stayed in last time, and were pleasantly surprised to see how close it was to the beach. We got two rooms together with a connecting door. And! Each room had a screened in porch and a beautiful ocean view. Our rooms were very clean and provided ample supplies for the light cooking we did. Some of the fixtures in the bathroom and kitchen were a bit rickety but all worked and were able to meet our needs. If you don't need fancy and can forego the crisp sheets and chocolate on your pillows, this is the place for you! Friendly owners, lovely views and millions of shells at your doorway.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor as close to the ocean end as you can get. It is definately worth the few extra dol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank On_the_G0_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We planned a trip to Sanibel Florida not knowing wher to stay, after reviewing lots of places to stay we chose Shalimar. It was just my husband and I so we wanted a quiet place. A place to lay our heads ,and do some light cooking to save a little money.The cottage was very clean and well stocked with all I needed to cook with.There was a coffee pot, toaster, stove,
ice box,Dishes, flatware, all the paper product we needed.
The bed was comfortable. Living space was nice, outdoor porch was screened.
The beach was great, long streachs of white sand.
The owners were very nice.
I do suggest that you get some Off Deep Woods for the No see Ums if you plan to be outside at Sunrise or Sunset.

Room Tip: Cottage #3 has a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cookie3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Spectacular views. The bathroom has mold and it was dirty with hair and black footprints in the bath tub. The wood frame doors were black from dirt. Great room design. Kitchenette and cute. Area was too buggy. No welcome package and the door can be unlocked with ANY KEY! No key for the deadbolt. We are Floridians staying in many of the locations on the island over the past 10 years. This was a "let's try this one". I'm glad we did. Would not come again. For the price $110 there are other great clean locations on the island.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank BocaEla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Not too fancy, but the clients comfort was thought of and little touches like clothes lines and video lending make for a very comfortable stay. The bed linens could really use updating.
Avoid the main floor in motel as it is loud when people walk on the 2nd floor

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carrie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
4.4 km away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 20 in Sanibel Island
312 reviews
3.8 km away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,502 reviews
6.5 km away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#10 of 20 in Sanibel Island
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#4 of 20 in Sanibel Island
389 reviews
1.5 km away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,017 reviews
11.2 km away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#11 of 20 in Sanibel Island
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shalimar Cottages and Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalimar Cottages and Motel

Address: 2823 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range: ₹ 11,656 - ₹ 26,242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shalimar Cottages and Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shalimar is an Old Florida-style resort of 33 units located directly on the Gulf of Mexico. Blending in with the natural beauty of the island, Shalimar offers many features without spoiling the natural atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shalimar Cottages and Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shalimar Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Shalimar Hotel Sanibel Island
Shalimar Motel Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing