We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our one and only!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sanibel Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sanibel Inn
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Sanford, FL
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Our one and only!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

My husband and I never stay anywhere else other than the Sanibel Inn. We stayed there once again this weekend and took advantage of their wonderful Summer Escape package where you get the 4th night free. Our room, as always was great! The new couch and porch chairs were really comfortable. The hotel staff was amazing and the Sea Star Cafe was a great little place to eat when you didn't feel like leaving the grounds and driving somewhere else. The young gentleman that was at the beachside bar Sunday afternoon went above and beyond in making us feel welcome and took great care of us, our drinks and our food order. The same goes for the people in the restaurant and the gentlemen setting up chairs and umbrellas. Everyone had that great "How Can I Help You?" attitude. We had that great relaxing feel throughout our entire stay where the staff just pampered us and made us feel like we were special guests.

My only "complaint" is the parking. They do not have spaces clearly marked out in front of the buildings and this allows for inconsiderate people to take more than their fair share of the parking spots. I can't tell you how many times we went out and came back to find no place to park in front of our building because people would take up a lot of room parking and would even park at odd angles just so they could ensure their huge parking spots. They even took to parking in front of the walkway and the entry to the stairs so you even had a hard time trying to walk to the building. 95% of the time we were there, we had to park way on down and away from our building.

If management ever reads this I would suggest using the concrete parking markers so people will have a better idea of where to park because people are people and if you let them have free reign and give them a foot, they will take a yard. If anyone else reads this...please be considerate to others and park decently as you are not the only ones having to park in your area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zdavis29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    441
    141
    60
    35
See reviews for
413
572
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

I have been to the island many times and have always enjoyed my stay at this property. Recent renovations have given an old friend a new flare.....and emphasizes why we return every year. The staff of the Inn is always accomdating and friendly, the restaurant had great food and soooo convenient if you just don't feel like driving anywhere. The walk to the beach is 150 yds at most from the pool area. It's great that you can also use the other properties for amenities if desired.....from golfing, to the pools or the spa. Accommodations are available to suit a couple to a family ~ a suite to a condo. Enjoy, and become part of the GENERATIONS OF SANIBEL!

Room Tip: Couples should consider the suites; families should consider the condos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

This was our 5th stay at Sanibel Inn in six years. It is a great property at a great price. Still as good every single year. The front desk, housekeeping and beach staff are all great (did not experience the bar or restaurant). The rooms are always clean and fresh and updated every year. The buildings are always freshly painted and the property is kept impeccably. The pool is very nice and the bikes are great. The beachfront rooms are really great - fantastic view and well kept. It's always been a great stay in every aspect and we've never experienced anything negative. If you're looking for a 5-star resort with tons on amenities, this is not it (nor are there any anywhere on sanibel), but if you're looking for a very nice place with good service and great views on a wonderful beach, this is it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigbacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Point, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

The Anibel Inn is the place to stay! It was my third time on the the island and the second time at Sanibel Inn. I won't stay anywhere else.
The rooms, wheather you are in the standard room or a suit, you'll love it. The beds are very comfy with 4 soft pillows and a feather duvet. The carpeting is new and the entryways are bamboo so you don't track sand into the sleeping area. The bather rooms are roomy and well stocked. Oh and they was a mini Kurick coffee maker int the kitchenette. And wifi.
All the rooms have lania's with teak table and chairs.
The pool is large and clean. Plenty of seating around too. There's a bar in the pool area for drinks and lunch. Umbrellas chairs and kyaks and bike on the premises.
The staff was all very friendly and helpful.
The day we were leaving we had until 5pm to flight and wanted to go to the beach check out was at 11. So the lady from the front desk told us to us the on site showers. The supplied shower soap shampoo conditioner towels and blow dryer.
I give Sanibel Inn a 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

The Sanibel Inn meets most of the expectations for which the many positive reviews you will see prepare you.

However, we started under a cloud that marred an otherwise beautiful day.

We booked for three days. However, when we arrived, we were told the computer indicated that we had a fourth night free (plus many other freebees) -- as a special running from May to September..

We were surprised because we were unaware of such an offer being available. "No problem, it's yours," we were told quite insistently.. "We might have to leave on the evening of the fourth day," we said. "Lots of people do that," we were told. Hooray! An unexpected gift!

Our room was not ready. When, we returned for out card key we were told. "Oops, the fourth night is now not free because it was not part of the offer of your on-line booking company ." (Something we had already told them.)

"How about the other freebees (free golf and tennis, $20.00 worth of gas, etc.)?", we asked.

"Nope, sorry."

To make us feel better, they also told us that someone had just checked in using the same booking service so the deal was available and that we "should pursue the booking company." -- just what we wanted to spend our time doing while on vacation -- so we didn't.

(In any case I had checked half a dozen booking companies before booking and had not seen the special. TIP: Maybe if I had tried to book for FOUR days (even though my plan was three)I might have led to my seeing the fourth day free offer.)

To be fair, we got what we booked for, but holding out a lollipop and then snatching it away is very poor customer and human relations.

Offering us an upgrade to a better room or some other token indicating their regret for raising our spirits and then causing us disappointment would have led me not to write this review.



  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
1.7 km away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,062 reviews
1.1 km away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.1 km away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
6.6 km away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
6.5 km away
Sunset Beach Inn
Sunset Beach Inn
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanibel Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanibel Inn

Property: Sanibel Inn
Address: 937 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6994
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,024 - ₹ 37,696
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanibel Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in nature at Sanibel Inn. The Inn offers a wide variety of accommodations and amenities surrounded by beautiful gardens and tropical palms. Come to Sanibel Inn to discover why Sanibel Island was just ranked #1 Favorite Worldwide Destination by Arthur Frommer and #5 Top US Beach by Trip Advisor. Just like the tropical flowers in the gardens, Sanibel Inn reflects the colors of the island. From the brightly painted exteriors to the warm soothing interiors of the guestrooms and suites, Sanibel Inn provides a relaxing and comfortable beach hideaway in one of the newly renovated guestrooms and one bedroom suites. Sanibel Inn also offers two-bedroom condominiums that are perfect for families or larger group of friends who wish to stay together. The Sea Star Café is located at the Inn and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner with traditional café fare with an island twist. Sanibel Island is all about nature. Discover nature up close by bike via the 22 miles of paved bike and walking trails. Visit J. N. Ding Darling National Wildlife Refuge to see a variety of migratory birds and explore an undeveloped mangrove ecosystem. Take a walk on the beaches and find rare shells such as the Junonia or 200 other species of shells. Take to the waters of the Gulf by kayak for a different point of view. Feel like a friendly tennis match, Sanibel Inn has a newly refurbished court on the grounds of the Inn or visit The Dunes Golf & Tennis Club. Sanibel Inn guests are also invited to golf at The Dunes where the greens wind through 75 acres of natural lake view fairways and Audubon Cooperative Society wetlands. After a morning of exploration, unwind by the pool and bathe in the warm Florida sun. Just steps away, the Beach Bar offers cool libations and poolside snacks. Sanibel Inn offers a gateway to the various activities on Sanibel and the perfect spot for a relaxing day in the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Sanibel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Hotel
Sanibel Island Resort
Sanibel Inn Beach Resort
Sanibel Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing