We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveller rating
98
33
5
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
33
5
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews made to order breakfast babe ruth treasure island gluten free pancakes al capone robert kennedy library area butterfly garden order omelettes historic hotel picked fresh chef prepares life lessons a small swimming pool historic bed and breakfast travel sites turkey sausage
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 140 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2018

I stayed here on business and was relieved to break away from my usual chains for a change. The staff is wonderful and welcoming. The room was charming, as well as spacious. The four-poster bed was a nice touch and the bedding was cozy and comfortable. Take time to sit and read or relax in their living room/library area. The breakfast was amazing--so many choices, made to order. I was thrilled to find authentic homemade corned beef hash on the menu :) For the price of your average Holiday Inn, branch out and try this sweet B&B. I look forward to a return trip.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bookwormblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy B, Guest Relations Manager at Crystal Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your "break away" from the usual hotel chains. We pride ourselves on our excellent guest service and our homemade hot breakfast. Thank you for mentioning all the little things that made a difference to you. Other travelers will appreciate it (as do we!). Please visit us again the next time your are in St. Petersburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

We stayed at Crystal Bay on July 28 we came to visit a friend in the hospital. We loved the old historic hotel. Yes there are things that could be improved, but all in all it is awesome. The bed & pillows were very comfortable, the room was clean. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Patrick the manager was amazing, he upgraded our room at no extra cost. The breakfast was so delicious and the omelets were superb the home grown herbs were a great addition. Thanks Crystal Bay we will return.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kencher1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy B, Guest Relations Manager at Crystal Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

We are glad we were able to make you comfortable during your recent visit with us. We like to be helpful whenever we can. Patrick remembers you and hopes all is well with you and your family. We would love to hear your ideas for improvements. You can reach me directly at (727) 317-2809 or send an e-mail to info@cystalbayhotel.com. We hope to see you again another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

Last minute we decided to stay overnight near a party we were attending, as opposed to driving back 40 minutes across Tampa Bay late at night. Being summer time, many hotels were booked or those with availability had outrageous rates. Thanks to Trip Advisor, I found this hidden gem call Crystal Bay Hotel in St. Petersbug. Lovely, charming, and historic, it was one of the cleanest hotel rooms I've ever stayed in, and very reasonable rates. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The made to order breakfast was delicious and relaxing. Just 3 miles east of Treasure Island Beach, and easy access to the main arteries to get around Pinellas County. We stayed in a King Suite, which had a nice sitting area.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KAZFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy B, Guest Relations Manager at Crystal Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Thank you for the positive review! We will pass along your compliments to our housekeeping staff, who work hard to ensure our rooms are clean and ready for our guests. It sounds like all of our staff succeeded in providing you with an enjoyable experience. We hope you will stay with us again, maybe for a "stay-cation!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

If you would like to try something else than the standard hotel chains, this is a god opportunity.
The staff are very friendly and helpful and understandable proud of their breakfast.
Since it is an older hotel, the room are not updated but clean and comfortable.
If the hotel wants to improve something, they can remove the blue barrels with clor by the pool.
It is not nice to look at, and it is a little too easy access for children to a corrosive product.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mach66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy B, Guest Relations Manager at Crystal Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Thank you for your input. I spoke with the general manager and he says there are plans in place to build a special cabinet to safely store the pool chemicals. It's good to hear you did enjoy our breakfast and found our staff to be friendly. There are many other updates in the works so please visit us again next season to see all the improvements!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018

older hotel / bed and breakfast the staff here was the best.The rooms are older but very clean and comfortable. The breakfast are included in the room price and are fresh made eggs and omelets. they also supply fruits muffins and breads along with tea and coffee.Pool looked nice but was closed as they were waiting for a piece to fix it.about a mile from the beach.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omaddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathysThoughts, Public Relations Manager at Crystal Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the 5-star review and your understanding about the pool being closed during your stay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your room and our wonderful breakfast. We hope you will visit us again next summer!

Sincerely,

Cathy Burns
Crystal Bay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews