We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great July 4 Vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn on Third

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn on Third
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great July 4 Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Got away from it all 30 minutes from home at America's Best Inn. Spent 2 nights including July 4 so we could see the fireworks downtown. The inn was in a perfect location for walking all over downtown. The room was very comfortable and clean and the evening wine and beer was a nice treat. Breakfast was cereal, pastries and yogurt. The owners are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The second floor is a walk up stairs. The owners will help with your bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madams89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time for this great write up - it is much appreciated. We are happy, that you enjoyed your 4th of July weekend with us and hope to welcome you back for another great weekend soon!

Sincerely,

Stephanie and Brian Cox

p.s. Our breakfast includes ALL of the following: bagels, muffins, assorted danish, cereals, oatmeal, yoghurt, orange juice, milk, coffee, tea, jelly, cream cheese, butter, bananas and apples/oranges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    170
    24
    14
    6
See reviews for
85
271
43
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

Stayed one nite but it was great. The place is so clean and so cool that I would never stay any place else in St. Pete. It was close to Tropicana Field and a great bar called Fergs. Took a taxi to both for $5.00 a trip!! The owners are so friendly and make you feel like you are staying at their house! Great place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loggerhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Thanks a bunch for your review! Brian and I are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much and that you have found your "home away from home' in St. Pete. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Stephanie and Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012 via mobile

We came back to Americas Best Inn because of the the great owners And the location!!!! We got married on the beach a year ago and we came back for our one year anniversary!!!! When we arrived at the inn the owner opened the door for us and said "Welcome back!". I just thought that was the nicest thing ever. I really appreciated that!

If you want clean rooms and great location come to this inn!!!!! And of course the nice and sweet owners ate the best!
Thanks for making out wedding day and our first anniversary special!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prindable75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Aww, you guys are the sweetest, thank you so much! It was wonderful to be able to welcome you back for your 1st anniversary and we hope to welcome you back for many more to come.
Until then we wish you much love and happiness!

Sincerely,

Stephanie and Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

We spent nine nights here and enjoyed everyone of them. It was very clean and comfortable. It was very quiet. We were there during Tropical Storm Debbie and hardly heard the wind or rain. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. We had always stayed close to the beaches of the Gulf Coast but our son lives next to Tropicana Field so decided to give this a try. It was wonderful. The owners were very pleasant and always available. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We were there for quite awhile so we were given a larger room. But I looked at several of the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chocogirl43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Thank you, thank you, thank you! It was such a pleasure having you as our guests and are so happy that you loved your stay with us. Please come visit with us again when in town.
Until then, happy travels!

Stephanie & Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012 via mobile

Brian and Stephanie are extremely warm, real people. Unfortunately, we had to check out early so we missed breakfast, but the overall stay and atmosphere there was very homey and feel-good. They're good people and I understand why they rank #1 on Tripadvisor, they seem to love what they do and they're good at it!

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank leah98560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Thank you very much for your sweet review! Brian and I do love our inn and what we do, so doing a good job comes easy to us. We hope to welcome you back some day, hopefully for a while longer.
All the best to you!

Stephanie & Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.3 km away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#3 of 41 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
0.6 km away
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ponce De Leon Hotel
#17 of 41 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.8 km away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#7 of 41 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
0.2 km away
The Cordova Inn
The Cordova Inn
#22 of 41 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Third? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Third

Property: The Inn on Third
Address: 342 3rd Ave N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-3821 (Formerly Americas Best Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#6 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,168 - ₹ 10,308
Hotel Class:2 star — The Inn on Third 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Important information: Starting mid July 2015, our hotel will be called "The Inn On Third". It will be the same owners and innkeepers as the last 10 years, so you can expect the same great service and hospitality as in the past. We look forward to welcoming you! Charming historic inn conveniently located in the heart of Downtown St. Petersburg. This 22 guest room inn is within walking distance to world class museums and galleries, fine dining, evening entertainment and St. Pete's beautiful waterfront. Tropicana Field, home of the Tampa Bay Rays, is less than 1 mile from the inn. The Gulf beaches are an app. 20 Minute drive from Downtown. Amenities at the inn include a continental breakfast, a drink at Evening Happy Hour, wifi and limited onsite parking. We are a 2-star property know for excellent service and unique accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Inn on Third reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Inn St Petersburg Hotel St. Petersburg
Best Inn St Petersburg
St Petersburg Best Inn
Best Inn Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Best Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing