We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a good choice of hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North
Ranked #15 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Palma Mallorca
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Not a good choice of hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

This is a very dirty run down hotel, we had just stayed 2 weeks at Indigo Sarasota which we found 1st class and spotlessly clean, on the strength of this we booked to stay 10 days but found St Pete´s not in the same league.
We stayed in a suite which on arrival had not been cleaned properly, rubbish under the bed, bathroom very, very small and no water pressure for a shower, bathroom dirty, the suite had no storage for clothes. Some days the room was not made up untill after 5pm, the local area is run down, no hotel transport as in Sarasota allthough the website tells you their is. This is no dought a franchise trading of a good group name, I have complained to head office but no response.

Room Tip: Not worthy of a tip
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheshirefred_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear cheshirefred_11,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay with us. I am deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. I look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,
Katie J
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    167
    93
    51
    47
See reviews for
100
165
26
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Stayed there the last week of March and hotel is close to many bars, restaurants, waterfront and attractions. Would
stay there again. Friendly and helpful staff. Also, the Gulf of Mexico beaches are a short drive and a bikers paradise with miles of trails. St. Pete is a sleeper town that has now grown up and a great place to visit (next door to Tampa) and would be a great place to live. FInally, Tropicana Field is a short walk from the hotel!

Room Tip: Our room on the 2nd floor was quiet, there are only about 75 rooms I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maestro88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

I have stayed here a couple times last year. I must say this is one of the best hotels in downtown St Pete in my opinion. The staff is top notch. My room was spotless and it was very roomy. So for the $ it was well worth it. You can walk to most things in downtown. I try to think of something bad about my experience there and nothing. I would and will recommend to anyone I know. Keep up the good work

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ramage2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Stayed 3 nights while attending the Florida Book Fair. The hotel was ideally located for the book fair and for tourist activities as it was only minutes away from the Pier and the downtown core of St. Petersburg.

The hotel is an older building that's been renovated recently (last 5 years or so) - the decor can either be described as quirky, funky or garish (it's certainly not a bland Holiday Inn). The age of the building meant the rooms can be a bit odd - the bathroom was tiny, anyone on the larger size will have trouble moving around in it. The rest of the room was nice if smallish - it's what you'd expect for a nice 3 star hotel. The wifi is reliable and speedy with no limit on the number of devices you can connect but the business centre computers are glacially slow so be patient if you need to print something up.

Overall, I would be happy to stay there again as long as I wasn't bringing a lot of luggage or people with me.

Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ecbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

We used Priority Points to stay one night in March 2012. The hotel was easy to find and had great curb appeal. Checking-in was a breeze and staff was very pleasant. Our room was on the second floor and after riding up in the jumping elevator, we used the stairs. The room was pleasant sized and clean but the bathroom was tiny. There was no storage space in the bathroom for toiletries, had to use a small dresser in the room that looked like a pressboard cabinet from Walmart. There wasn't even a hook to hang a towel. As for the pressure in the shower, that was non-existent.The mattress had seen better days, it was lumpy and was not a good night's sleep. Not even all the light bulbs worked.

The location was good and convenient. What surpised me is that we came in late after dinner, using the back door facing the overflow parking. There was no sign of any kind of security. The door opened easily, didn't need the hotel key and I didn't seen any kind of security camera. We just easily walked in at 11pm and went right up to our room. As a woman who travels along alot, that was a bit unsettling.

Since I used points I wasn't too upset but if I had paid full price, I would have been disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littlechaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, ihgcare at Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Dear Littlechaos,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced.

We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and create memorable experiences. We take all feedback seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations. We will address these points and I hope that when you return you will see the improvements that have been made.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Sincerely,
Brenda Johnson
Case Manager
IHGCare
Reference # 27489206
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.4 km away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#3 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
0.8 km away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#9 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
0.4 km away
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ponce De Leon Hotel
#19 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.2 km away
Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown
Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtow...
#12 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North

Property: Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North
Address: 234 3rd Ave N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-3322
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,560 - ₹ 22,796
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a 100% smoke free sophisticated boutique hotel whose focus is delivering guests peace, serenity and renewal. Quite deliberately, the Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg Downtown has been designed as an oasis for travelers who yearn for an escape from the common hotel, but still need the convenience of a 24-hour fitness center, pool, whirlpool and Phi Restaurant. Just a short drive to the Tampa International Airport (TPA), Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg Downtown is within walking distance to The Pier, Museum of Fine Arts, Mahaffey Theater and one mile from the Dali Museum and Tropicana Field, home of the Rays. Nearby attractions include: Sunken Gardens, Great Explorations and art galleries. No visit is complete without a trip to the electric nightlife of Central Avenue and Jannus Landings. Hotel Indigo offers each guest a blend of modern contemporary living with the best in traditional hotel hospitality. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvets with covers, pillow shams and plenty of fluffy pillows while you relax and watch our 32' LCD televisions. Complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel is at your fingertips or use our business center if you prefer. Relax and enjoy our quick serve Bistro The Phi Restaurant and Lounge for cutting edge cuisine or grab a latte where we proudly brew Starbucks coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and IHG so you can book your Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing