We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly with lots of activities -- 2 star rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of TradeWinds Island Grand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
273 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Family friendly with lots of activities -- 2 star rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

If you're looking for luxury, stay at the Don Cesar. If you'll looking for a place to take the family with lots of activities to keep you busy, stay here.

Tradewinds
It's a compilation of several motels that have been renovated and connected with lush landscaping. They mostly pull it off, but it's fraying at the edges.

Island Grand
From the reviews it appears that the Island Grand is the best of the hotels at Tradewinds, but I couldn't really tell a difference. The other lobby and exterior looked the same. I would recommend going for a bigger room and one with a view if you want to be extremely happy.

Location
Right on St. Pete Beach. It's close to restaurants and other outside activities. It's easily accessible from the interstate.

Parking
When you try to enter this facility you are "greeted" by a security card who demands to see your ID and looks you up on a list. If your name has not been updated he doesn't let you in. The self parking lot is very full at night so you may be forced to valet or follow people to their cars. So be prepared for unnecessary stress and hassle while parking.

Check In
It's a McDonalds style queue which means there are 5-6 lines and you have to commit to one. If the person in front of you gets stuck for a long time you lose. It's a very unfair and lengthy process. They should go to a single queue.

Lifts/Elevators
Be patient. Very patient. They take forever. I've been around some slow lifts, but these are absolutely the slowest I have ever experienced. So much so that you may want to take a room on a lower floor so you can use the stairs. They really should modernize the lifts.

Beach
Beautiful and large. Can't beat the beach.

Cabanas
A "cabana" at this place is two beach chairs and an umbrella. It's not a tented room as you might think. One comes free with every night stay.

Towels
My major frustration with this hotel. You have to stand in a 20 minute queue at the adventure center to get towels. This process requires a room key and they have to look you up in the system and get you to fill out paperwork. When you turn the towels in you have to queue up for another 20 minutes (plan to do both twice a day). You will then get cards to use the next morning for more towels (and queuing).

Food
Many many restaurants with so many choices to each. You won't be disappointed. You can stay on the resort and eat in a different place every day. It's like a cruise ship.

Activities
This is where Tradewinds shines. They have more watersports and other options than any other resort in the Pinellas Beaches. You have to pay more, but it's worth the price for fun. Lots to do for kids. And there's JetLev for adults.

Room
Rooms are small. It's a motel that has been renovated. On an international scale I would give them two stars. With a view or suite it probably goes up to three. But don't expect luxury. Think of it as a place to sleep after a fun day of activities.

Check Out
Same queue as check in. But most hotels allow you to check out by TV or in a box. This one requires you to return your towel keys in order to check out. So the queues at check out are unnecessarily long. They should allow you to finish the towel process at the adventure center.


If you're in Pinellas and want a beautiful beach with lots to do, this is your place.

Room Tip: Get a suite with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angmohgao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,709
    1,229
    602
    354
    218
See reviews for
2,149
990
74
794
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,346)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
142 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

We wanted to do a "stay-cation" over the 4th of July this year. This was our fourth or fifth time staying at the Tradewinds, including for our wedding 16 years ago. Unfortunately, I feel we will not be coming back. We arrived after check in time but our room was not ready yet. We were told that many people arrived early which overwhelmed the maid. So, why were they allowed to check in prior to check in time? They should have had to wait. Instead we got shafted for arriving on time. On the upside, the beach is wonderful and there are many things for kids to do, however I feel more should be included in the resort fee after spending $321 on the hotel room which ended up being $387 after all the taxes and fees. It is somewhat ridiculous to spend $32 for a wrist band for a child to do the beach slide. We did that 2 different days. The first day our 9 year old son got his money's worth, but the second day, he only went down the slide once and ended up making sand castles all the rest of the day. It is nice they have so many amenities which allowed us to try the stand up paddle boarding, jet skiing (except a thunderstorm came up and ended that - they credited us) however it requires a long wait at the activities center to pay for these different activities. Over the holiday weekend and the real issue was the parking situation. At the advice of the reservationist, we booked an upgraded gulf front suite so all the extended family could spend time together, however we were unaware of the rule that we were only allowed to park one vehicle despite we had a room that slept six. Grandparents had a separate car to park and my sister was supposed to join us for part of our stay. She ended up leaving after one day because it was too much hassle to park her car over a mile away at the public beach access and keep going down to pay the parking meter. She just gave up. I was finally able to obtain a second parking pass for the grandparents after waiting about 45 minutes to speak with a security manager. My husband, who was joining the family after he finished work was laughed at by the guy at the guard gate and told "good luck" at finding a parking place on July 3rd. We are bascially locals and love to come to the beach but we really felt unwelcome this time around. It was good to see the fireworks at the beach, but the parking issues and all the nickel and diming really made it such a pain.

Room Tip: Call and speak with someone rather than booking online. Some rooms are only available by calling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wellsdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

We were in the Island Grand portion of the resort, beach view rooms, room was a suite with a mini kitchen (including full size fridge). We stayed for a week and had an amazing time. The beach is beautiful and we never even made it to the pools. Get in line early to reserve the beach cabanas (two lounge chairs with some canvas shade), we had ones in the front row looking at the beach which were great. The only downside (and these are minor), is that the elevators are very slow, especially when checking out, and also I wish it was a non-smoking resort. Someone was always smoking on the beach, balconies, or outside eating areas, and it was frustrating. Also, I would not reserve a pool-view room unless you are ok with lots of noise and activity.

Room Tip: We had room 7211 and it was great. But I think it was a premium room (beach view, suite with kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gremlin_337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinity, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

I would not recommend anyone to this hotel. During my 2 day stay with my 2 toddler aged kids, i had to move rooms three times on the first day. First time was because we were put in a room overlooking the rooftop air conditioning units. The second time we moved was because of housekeeping issues. (pillows having yellow stains on them and all of the bedding was stained as well) After speaking to the hotel manager and the housekeeping manager, I was assured by both that the next room would be clean, and not to worry the issue was taken care of, so i trusted them and we moved. My family and I went to out and had a nice evening, and we come back to the room later that night, we get ready to get into bed, and there was more stains on the bedding. The night housekeeping manager came up to the room, and saw for himself how disgusting the sheets were, then the night manager came up as well to see. While both managers were changing the sheets, they took the sheets off and there was a HUGE blood stain on the mattress of the bed my kids were going to sleep on. Need I say anymore....... I will NEVER go back to this hotel, it's filthy.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kissimmee, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

We normally stay at Sirata Beach Resort when we come to St. Pete Beach. However, this time at the advice of a friend we tried out the Trade Winds Island Grand Beach Resort because they said it was a little more nice. When we arrived we told the front desk two more of our siblings would be joining us. They then talked us into upgrading our room for an extra $120 for more space but failed to mention they would not allow another car into the complex and that there was only one car per room. When I went down the following day to ask the staff about valeting a second car he was extremely rude and condescending. The staff was extremely friendly the first day and once they took our money treated us like crap the rest of the time there. We normally travel to St. Pete for the relaxing atmosphere but we stupidly came the weekend after the 4th of July and it was very busy. There were also two weddings going on during the same time. The staff must be overworked because they were really rude and nasty anytime we had a question. I will not stay there again and will definitely be going back to the Sirata Resort where it is family owned and the staff are amazing. Be wary of holiday weeks at Trade Winds because it is so large of a resort. You will get lost in the shuffle of the massive crowds and rude staff.

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel during holiday weeks and ask if there are any weddings going on because se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Pete Beach
2.3 km away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,314 reviews
0.3 km away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#16 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,735 reviews
27.6 km away
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
#22 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
0.4 km away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
1.6 km away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Resort

Property: TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 18,783 - ₹ 29,777
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand spans 20 lush, tropical acres and boasts a heritage of award-winning service and certification as a Florida Green Lodge. Overlooking the tranquil waters of the Gulf of Mexico, Island Grand is located on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach, consistently ranked one of America's Top Beaches by TripAdvisor. Discover 201 things to do with a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, The Floating Water Park, children's programs, paddleboats, tennis, stand-up paddleboards, a three story tall inflatable waterslide and more. Island Grand offers multiple dining and entertainment venues along with sand-in-your-toes beach bars. Pamper yourself with a beachfront massage at Body Works Salon & Spa. Relax on a beach cabana or lounge next to one of 5 heated pools and 2 whirlpools. Our on-site resort transportation and car rental agency makes getting to Island Grand easy and stress free. It's not just a vacation. At TradeWinds, it's a totally immersive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing