We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Vacation with Young Children” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of TradeWinds Island Grand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family Vacation with Young Children”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

Very old dumpy hotel not a 4 star hotel, 1-2 stars at best.
4 star hotel it was 20 years ago NOT Now .

This hotel is a total dump and a rip off. Over priced. Rooms are small and carpets,curtains needs replacing. Air-conditioning not working properly. Elevators small, slow, and smelly. Make sure you check your restaurant receipts every time I was overcharged. Every time. Service is good, but the product is 2 star at best. Never this hotel, will never recommend. I will give my honest opinion this hotel is trash, don't believe it's webs-site.
I will send my complaint to Florida Division of Consumer Services and everybody who is not happy to do the same.

https://csapp.800helpfla.com/CSPublicApp/Complaints/FileComplaint.aspx

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank drn1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustLetGo8, Guest Relations Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
As Director Of Guest Satisfaction for the TradeWinds Island Grand Resorts, I would like to take this opportunity to provide further information regarding the review above. After requesting further contact with this guest, some basic yet limited information was provided. The reservation was for the correct rate and room type which was a standard hotel room, the basic smallest, lowest rate room in our inventory. After registering at the front desk and going to this room, the guest returned to the front desk and asked for anything else that was available with a view. With limited availability, we sold out later that night, this guest was upgraded to a Gulf front room with an additional $70 charge per night. Since this was still within our main season towards the end of Spring Break / Easter, had occupancy been lower the upgrade very well may have been complimentary. The statement about the room carpet and sheets being old was surprising since we just completed a $20 million renovation of all 588 guest rooms this past March. This was done as we realized the demand that our guest have for a superior guest room product. Regarding the comment about activity charges, as a family fun resort, our activities department has numerous programs available to all children. However, there may have been some confusion as there are no per child per hour charges of $34. The resort fee charge of $25 per day is documented on all wholesale and dot.com reservations and includes several amenities, overnight parking, wireless, fitness center, two person cabana, tennis courts, paddleboats and many other business functions. Over the course of this three night four day reservation, I’m sure that they were able to utilize these while here. However, there really isn’t much that I can do about the Florida State Tax.

TradeWinds has made a commitment to ensure guest satisfaction, and my desk is actually in the main lobby of the Island Grand. It is there, as I walk around property several times daily or either by phone or email that I’m available to assist in resolving any of our guest concerns. That being said, there was no attempt to contact me while this guest was here during their stay. Regardless, please accept my apology for TradeWinds Island Grand not living up to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,712
    1,230
    603
    354
    218
See reviews for
2,154
990
74
794
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,348)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pinckney, Michigan
Level Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

I stayed there the end of April 2012 and had a fantastic experience. The experience started with the service at the desk. Check in was a breeze staff supper friendly and helpful. The grounds are immaculate, beautiful flowers everywhere and the beach is magnificent. There were plenty of Cabanas and we never had a problem getting one. There was also no charge. We also enjoyed the free paddle boats that take you around the hotel grounds, just a fun little activities that kids and or adults can enjoy. My husband and I love tennis so we really had fun playing every morning on the well groomed clay courts (never had a problem getting a court). They give you free beach towels (as many as you want) and they are nice large blue beach towels (not the okind that are just a little larger than the white bath towels get you get at some hotels). There are so many things to do at this hotel. There are all of the usual water activities (for a cost, which is steep but the going rate) like parasailing, kayaks, water slides and more. There is also a bungy activity area for kids, several pools and whats nice is that there is an adult only pool, my only complaint is that I think the hot tub should be in that area but it's not a deal breaker. The beach is exceptionally clean and the water clear and wonderful on a hot day. We took the dolphin cruise to Shell Island. It was a nice little trip, takes about two hours and we collected really nice shells. Theres also a trolley/buss service so if you don't have a car (which we didn't) you can go all around the area ( recommend Johns Pass) gread for souvenirs. You could also go to Maedira Beach, Treasure Island, downtown St. Pete or Tampa or Tyrone Square Mall (which I did with my daughter and highly recommend if you want the mall experience). Our room was Ocean view and it was truly that it over looked the pool and then out into the ocean. The beds are soft and comby, we had the room with a small frig, microwave, sink and coffee maker. Just enough to keep your snacks. Theres a big flat screen TV which was awesome. We only ate at one of the restaurants (Beef O"Bradys) but we enjoyed the food. Nothing else to say except that I highly recommend Trandewinds Island Grand and would return again and again and again...

Room Tip: Next time though I would like to try and get a room with a balcony. Not all of the ocean front rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank techtraveler67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, FL
Level Contributor
195 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

I'm the meeting planner for a large academic group. Over 500 attended our
recent meeting at The Tradewinds. Everyone enjoyed it there. The hotel's
catered food was excellent and better than in its restaurants. Service personnel were very friendly, particularly housekeeping.

The place is much too hectic for my own vacation. However, it did a great job hosting our group. And, families with young children will enjoy it.

Room Tip: Splurge and book an ocean front high floor balcony room. It's quieter and it offers fabulous sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baycityart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

If you want a top end family spot on the beach with everything you need and want right there, this is the spot to be. We've been there several times and look forward to coming back as soon as we check out. Can,t wait to come down again.

Room Tip: All the rooms we've had were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

First timers, found the TradeWinds to be more then up to expectations. Every employee acted like they were individual hosts making our stay more then enjoyable. Our room was clean and neat with no banging on doors to get in to clean and arrange. More then enough on-site restaurants to meet our needs and above average in service and attention. We did not have children with us but it appears to be a kid friendly enviornment with many activities and a beautiful long beach adjacent to the resort. Nothing negative to comment on, great stay and hope to return with additional family members.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Pete Beach
2.4 km away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,318 reviews
0.4 km away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#16 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,739 reviews
27.5 km away
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
#23 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
0.5 km away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
1.6 km away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Resort

Property: TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 18,709 - ₹ 29,596
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand spans 20 lush, tropical acres and boasts a heritage of award-winning service and certification as a Florida Green Lodge. Overlooking the tranquil waters of the Gulf of Mexico, Island Grand is located on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach, consistently ranked one of America's Top Beaches by TripAdvisor. Discover 201 things to do with a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, The Floating Water Park, children's programs, paddleboats, tennis, stand-up paddleboards, a three story tall inflatable waterslide and more. Island Grand offers multiple dining and entertainment venues along with sand-in-your-toes beach bars. Pamper yourself with a beachfront massage at Body Works Salon & Spa. Relax on a beach cabana or lounge next to one of 5 heated pools and 2 whirlpools. Our on-site resort transportation and car rental agency makes getting to Island Grand easy and stress free. It's not just a vacation. At TradeWinds, it's a totally immersive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing