We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return Visit to Don CeSar a Memorable One”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Don CeSar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Don CeSar
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fairfield, CT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Return Visit to Don CeSar a Memorable One”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We first visited the Don CeSar a few years ago for a short vacation and really enjoyed the experience.  This year we opted for a bit  longer stay and found service levels to be even higher than on our first visit. The front end of the hotel was especially accommodating on our arrival.  When I asked if I could look at the room before we moved our things in, they happily accommodated.  When I came back and requested a different room location, the staff didn't hesitate for a second and quickly had a bellman taking me to an alternate room. As you might expect, the pool/beach area is the real centerpiece of this property, and we were fortunate to have plenty of room as we missed the peak spring break week.  Plus, there were several corporate events in the hotel that kept people in meetings rather than by the pool during most of the day.  Pool staff was amazingly great and the true ambassadors to this property. Poolside bartenders (while busy) always answered questions or comments as well.  For anyone who has stayed here before - the hotel has taken away (apparently at the discretion of their corporate management) the "lounge chair flags" which in the past you could "raise up" for a quick food or drink order.  Yes, a little bit of a novelty, but also practical.  Most all of the guests I spoke with (and some of the staff) would welcome them back.  No joke! So unless Loews corporate is seeing a higher "revenue per guest" -- bring them back!  Rumors are that the hotel is ready to embark on a major pool complex renovation over next year to bring up the VIP factor with expanded seating, private cabanas, etc. Yes, the wi-fi is horrible in pool area.  Assume that will be addressed at the time of renovation. It's in fact an issue throughout the hotel. Only other suggested improvement would be with the lobby coffee in the morning.  They serve Starbucks out of coffee dispensers -- which was luke warm at best.  For $3.00  for a small coffee, and this being a high end property, someone should be pouring coffee.  Staff in spa, beach club, shops were ALL friendly and extremely attentive.  Again, overall, for me, this is the best place in the area to stay, hands-down -- even with the resort fee added each day and the small rooms of a historic hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors better - but avoid views of a/c units!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGuyCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager D, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent visit. We love that you had such a memorable time. We hope your travels bring you back again soon to St. Pete Beach and our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,961
    780
    338
    167
    158
See reviews for
1,034
1,217
95
387
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (699)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

This was my second 3 night stay at Don Cesar. I was pleased to see that the self parking now formed part of the $22 resort fee as last time this was extra and $22 is alot considering hardly any of the facilities are used.
Pro's
Lovely hotel in great location
The nicest sun loungers and pool service anywhere
Great ice cream in Uncle Andy's parlour
Very good fitness centre with free fruit and lovely cold water on ice.
Con's
Noisy although very effective a/c in bedroom. We had partial gulf coast room (436) with two double beds
Very small bathroom - could only get one person in at any one time
Internet in business centre is charged for. Free Wireless is all well and good unless you are travelling from europe and have no laptop etc.
Waited 20 minutes to get booked in at reception as not enough staff on
They won't let you use the shower facilities at the fitness centre- you have to go to your room which means walking through parts of the hotel all hot and sweaty - ughh! Apparently the showers are reserved for club members !! Seems a bit daft to me seeing as we are paying guests.
Tip - if you want breakfast go down to the end of pass a grille and go to The Seahorse its lovely although closed on Tuesdays.
If you want a great evening meal then the Salt Rock Grill at Indian Shores is hard to top.

Room Tip: Fourth floor is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherylmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager D, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
We are glad you liked the location right on St. Pete Beach. Uncle Andy's does have great ice cream, it is a special place. Thank you for telling us about the AC in the room we will have it checked out. Hopefully we will see you back in St. Pete Beach again soon and please know we really appreciate you taking the time to post about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
364 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

We recently stayed 4 nights at The Don Cesar, celebrating our daughter's college graduation. What a fabulous long weekend we had! Everything was perfect ... the room .. the staff .. the pool .. the beach. We especially enjoyed our breakfasts each morning in the Sea Porch. Our waiter, Jeff, was by far the best ~~ very accommodating and friendly. We asked for him each morning. We also appreciated Sharon, the hostess, who remembered our names each day! We had a couple of great lunches at the Beachcomber Bar right in the pool area ... and we loved the samples they came around with (fresh fruit, smoothies, etc.) Everyone seemed to bend over backwards to make sure we had a most enjoyable, relaxing stay ~~ which we did! We'll be back!!!

Room Tip: While all rooms have an "ocean view," I would ask for a room with a FULL view of the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyG-818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager D, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent visit. Congratulations on your daughters graduation. We love that Jeff and Sharon took such great care of you at the Sea Porch Restaurant. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new lenox
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

My wife and I have been staying at the Don Cesar a couple times a year for a few years and the experience has always been fantastic. It is a great classic hotel with a fantastic pool and beach area. The entire staff including pool, beach, bar etc etc is very helpful, professional and very courteouos. We have never had a bad experience at the Don and we recommend it frequently to everyone going to the area.

Room Tip: Depends on what your are looking for. Only the large suites have balconies so we usually get the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 699carll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager D, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post. We love that you come down to St. Pete Beach and the Loews Don CeSar a couple of times a year. Can't wait to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean City maryland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

You will never want to leave this place, as a person in the hospitality industry ( I never let on to any staff member what I did for a living) I can say Loews much be an awesome employer.
We were greeted with smiles and good morning/afternoon etc. everyday from each happy employee from room attendants to front door/valet etc. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The pool area and food was fantastic and even with the crowded bar area..it didn't take long to get our orders to enjoy. I recommend the Mango Mojito frozen...yummy..It is nice to chat with the staff about where their home were before coming to the area. How they arrived to the area etc. Lots of shopping and restaurants within a short walk or get the free ride taxi a call and they will take you around the area. The hotel has great history and they say is haunted...but I am sure they are happy, friendly ghost...The only issues I had were with the signal for wi-fi in the room. The charge is $22.00 a day for internet, housekeeping & something else.. But, if you really need to work...most would have their own wi--fi (As I did) to work from....If you there in the warmth of the sun and the turquoise water...who would want to work. The concierge was never at their station. I found this to be frustrating and I even left my card and a note to call me. ( I did not get a return call thought out my stay) However, the bell staff and valets were great to give recommendations on restaurants and attractions.
I will be back for sure..I need to check out Loews HR/training/employee manual..there must be a big perk in there...

Room Tip: The room is not large, but comfortable for three or four people to stay. There is no fridge or micr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryriceoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager D, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you for the comments, it means alot coming from someone in the hospitality industry. We were thrilled to see you enjoy your recent stay. Hopefully we will see you back in St. Pete Beach again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
2.4 km away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#11 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,182 reviews
0.8 km away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
1.9 km away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#16 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,808 reviews
2.7 km away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
2.7 km away
Alden Suites
Alden Suites
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Don CeSar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Don CeSar

Property: The Don CeSar
Address: 3400 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-4015
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Green Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#6 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 18,735 - ₹ 36,886
Hotel Class:4 star — The Don CeSar 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as Florida's "Pink Palace," The Don CeSar, facing the white sands of the Gulf of Mexico, was built in 1928 to resemble a Mediterranean-style castle. Born in the Great Gatsby era as a playground for the rich and famous, the iconic "Pink Palace" has been revitalized and refreshed within, ensuring a future as rich and storied as its history. Enjoy newly redesigned 277 luxurious rooms including 36 suites, many with spectacular views of the pristine Gulf beaches or Boca Ciega Bay. Relax and indulge at Spa Oceana, featuring over 11,000 square feet of spa facilities, luxurious spa treatments, full service salon, and a stunning rooftop garden overlooking the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Don CeSar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Cesar Beach Hotel
Don Cesar Beach Resort
Don Cesar Hotel Florida
Don Cesar Florida
Hotel Don Cesar Beach
Don Cesar Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing