We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Roaches” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dolphin Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dolphin Beach Resort
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Roaches”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We were very disappointed in this hotel and the lack of customer service. Unfortunately we discovered a dozen or more roaches in the bathroom and were only offered a different room. No apologize, just that this is Florida and roaches are everywhere. This is not the case as if regular sprayings occur, roaches will not come in. The staff acted as if we were overreacting and did not refund our money.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    327
    199
    96
    137
See reviews for
336
250
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

I will start by explaining that I am very picky and i pay attention to the little things. My daughters (4 & 14) & I planned a short road trip over spring break and our stay at the dolphin beach resort was LAST minute decision. We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed every minute!!!

The Dolphin Beach Resort offered everything we wanted..clean, spacious rooms, frig, free wi-fi, microwave, beach view & direct beach access. At first, we thought we would take advantage of the pool, but the weather was perfect for hanging out @ the beach. However, the pool is bigger than most pools at nearby hotels. The area around the pool was rather tight & congested, therefore it was nice that some of the chairs were bolted down and not allowed to be moved otherwise the pool area would be difficult to manuvour your way around.

the location is right across the street from a strip mall...grocery store, dollar store, ice cream shop, and a few restaurants...everything you could want.

The beach area in front of the hotel was never over-crowded. we rented a loung chair for some shade throughout the day (20$) all day. We never felt like our "personal space" was being invaded. Further down the beach, at some of the LARGER resorts..the beach area was VERY crowded & chairs placed very close to one another. If you want a lot of beach activity, this is not the place for you. The beach area near the dolphin beach resort was low key, relaxing, and PERFECT!

After reading some of the reviews & spending a few days here, I'm not sure why this place has such bad reviews. The hotel was clean, well matained, perfect size if you don't want to be around a ton of people. The rooms were big with plenty of space to move around, the rooms didn't smell or have any strange odor, and it was free of sand. The hallways were always clean & free of garbage, it is a place we will DEFINITLY return to.

Cons- aside from dining at various neighboring hotels, not many food choices within walking distance, The bathrooms were small, there's no safe in the room, and generally the rooms were cleaned later in the afternoon.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaciekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Just returned from a 2 night stay at the Dolphin Beach Resort. Not exactly a resort, but adequate for a night or two. The pool is nice with a view of the gulf, but no hot tub and the chairs are bolted down so you can't move them to keep up with the sun. The biggest advice I can give you is make sure you get a balcony or a 1st floor pool room with a sliding glass door. We are somewhat locals, living in Tampa, and used our points to book this room because we did not want to pay the huge surcharge for Easter week. Well of course they put us in the cheapest room without any views or much amenities. I asked to pay for an upgrade to a Gulf View, and they had the rooms but would not let me. The beds are soft, tiny, and the bathroom even smaller. We try to get to the beach at least 4 -5 times a year. I will not book again, even using points.

Room Tip: Balcony room or don't stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BidDaddy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed here 2 for nights.....it was no frills but clean,good location, everyone we encountered was helpful and pleasant. Our room had the balcony + sunset, it was spacious and had a small fridge and microwave. Easy walk to grocery store and many restaurants +tiki huts. Walk the beach in the morning + evening and rent a cabana in-between!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kateofsouthFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COLCHESTER UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Chose the Hotel to have a relaxing 4 Nights on the Gulf Coast after Orlando
The Price was the cheapest for a Beach Hotel for 4 Rooms.so it was chosen
First Day OK relaxing by the Nice Pool
Second Day a Wedding Party Occupied the Pool from Start to Finish.
Drinking in the Pool even when they were told not to .
Ruined the Day. . Next Day we went out to other places to avoid them .
Never ate in Hotel so can not comment on that
A worrying thing is a Side door to the corridors which says Do Not Use is left unlocked 24/7 and is used by every one from the Beach, Car Parks or Road.! Not very reassuring when our door was the first in ..
Publix across the road and a few restaurants.

Room Tip: Not to have one overlooking the Car Park. Rooms onto the Pool or straight onto the beach are the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAVEColchesterUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.5 km away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#17 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
1.4 km away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#20 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.3 km away
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.3 km away
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
1.3 km away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#15 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Beach Resort

Property: Dolphin Beach Resort
Address: 4900 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2480
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,867 - ₹ 21,622
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolphin Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Dolphin Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Dolphin Beach Saint Pete
Dolphin Beach Resort Saint Pete Beach
Dolphin Beach Resort Florida
Dolphin Beach Hotel St Pete
Dolphin Beach Resort St Pete
St Pete Beach Dolphin Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing