We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
joeschmo1
Orlando, Florida

Smart Stay

Review of Sabal Palms Inn
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 May 2010
If you want to pay more money, you could find a more luxurious hotel. Value wise - Sabal Palms Inn cannot be beat. The rooms are very clean with nice size kitchens (fully stocked. They have bikes available to cruise the island. We took full advantage of the gas grill too (save some money on eating out). Would highly reccomend Snappers seafood restaurant for dinner - had Neptune plate - Lobster tail and skewers of large shrimp and scallops $32 and well worth it.

I am a native Floridian, we avoid the tourist traps to get value. Sabal Palms has everything you need. A georgeous beach that is not overpopulated. The water is warmer than the east coast. Feels kind of like a spa. We found shells galore including sand dollars in perfect condition. The inn has a western exposure - meaning that you will get to enjoy spectacular sunsets from the deck outside your room. There are 3 fishing piers within walking distance. Bring a cast net so you will be able to catch live bait (fyi to fishermen). Fort Desoto is also very close. The park has nice beaches, trails and good areas to canoe / kayak.

For anyone who is wondering - There was NO sightings of oil. This was my first stay at Sabal Palms Inn and look forward to returning soon. Enjoy!
Date of stay: May 2010
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₹28,234
  • Algotels
3.8 km from Sabal Palms Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₹36,001
  • Expedia.com
    ₹38,742
2.0 km from Sabal Palms Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₹28,336
  • Booking.com
4.6 km from Sabal Palms Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₹23,013
  • Algotels
2.8 km from Sabal Palms Inn
Free Wifi
Beachfront
₹23,212
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
4.7 km from Sabal Palms Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    ₹17,202
  • Official Site
4.8 km from Sabal Palms Inn
Pool
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    ₹16,337
  • Algotels
4.1 km from Sabal Palms Inn
Pool
Beachfront
Jimmy B's Beach Bar
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
    ₹18,086
  • Booking.com
4.8 km from Sabal Palms Inn
Free Wifi
Beachfront
₹17,976
₹16,533
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Skyscanner.com
5.2 km from Sabal Palms Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₹15,576
  • Algotels
3.5 km from Sabal Palms Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in St. Pete Beach
Reviews (771)
Filter reviews
771 results
Traveller rating
564
150
32
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
564
150
32
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pass a grille beach chairs spa pool gas grill directly across the street laid back small hotel restaurants within walking distance unit florida
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
697 - 702 of 771 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2010

we have gone to sabal palms for at least 6 years. we feel more like family than guests. can not say enough about the friendly staff, always helpful, and joe the owner is always overseeing the property which is very maintained, including the pool/spa area. rooms are very clean and comfortable, the view from the porch is spectacular, the beach is just across the street, can not ask for anything more.. we are so looking forward to our next visit. would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation.
cd109

Date of stay: May 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicole59
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 May 2010

My husband Ben & I stayed Sat. May 8 and Sun. May 9 at the Sabal Palms. We arrived very late the first night and were uncertain how to find the hotel. When I finally decided to call at nearly 11 p.m. a sleepy voice answered the phone as the staff where gone for the night. Edmignio was very helpful and curteous directing us toward our destination and arrangements were already set into place for our late arrival. Our Rm #10 was in the back of inn so we did not have a gulf view and we were in the basement. However, it was clean, attractively furnished and newly updated. In front a small setting area with television. and in the middle the furnished kitchenette. In the back was a very comfortable queen sized bed. I had some difficulty sleeping the first night as someone in the room above stomped about like an elephant! Sun. morning we were greeted by Edmignio's wife Yudith who was very friendly and helpful checking us in. Edmignio was busy cleaning the grounds which always looked spotless ! Like the Coconut Inn...our towels were changed, bed made, and trash removed on Sunday. There is a very small heated pool, free use of beach chairs, bikes, and a gas grill for the guests. Again, right across the road from St. Pete Beach. Beautiful !!!

Date of stay: May 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bensannette
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 May 2010

We've enjoyed this inn for years but recent improvements motivate this review. The quiet, beachfront location offers fabulous views, the rooms have been updated , rates reasonable and manager Eddie and staff find the perfect balance of relaxed and responsive . And, the sunsets are free!

Date of stay: May 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachfanJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 May 2010

We transferred to the Sabal Palms from the Coconut Inn because we wanted to stay an extra night and the Coconut had no vacancies. At the Sabal Palms we were given a ground level room which is not the best (very low ceilings!) but was perfect for an extra night. The unit was very spacious with a small kitchen and living room. Everything was extremely clean and nicely decorated. The place was really quiet so sleep quality was great. The wi-fi connection worked perfectly, the staff was very friendly and helpful, and the location unbeatable. I cannot wait to go back and stay at one of the upstairs units to fully enjoy all this place has to offer.

Date of stay: May 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 May 2010

I grew up in Florida and love going to the beach for vacations back to visit family. The location on Pass-A-Grille is amazing. The beach is beautiful--no hotels within a twenty minute walk (The Don Ce Sar is the closest), cute neighborhood, convenient shopping and restaurants on bike. This Inn is a great value all around. The staff was very helpful and friendly.

Date of stay: May 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews