We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vistas on the Gulf
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Miramar Beach Resort(St. Pete Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palm Crest Resort Motel(St. Pete Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort(St. Pete Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bon Aire Resort(St. Pete Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hideaway Sands Resort(St. Pete Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort(St. Pete Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kimpton Hotel Zamora(St. Pete Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Dolphin Beach Resort(St. Pete Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveller rating
145
48
26
13
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
145
48
26
13
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssecond bedroommanagement companyrented unitthe living room furniturebeach chairsgreat condopete beachwasher and dryerpool and hot tubwithin walking distanceoffice staffbeautiful beachboogie boardsgrocery storepool arearestaurants and shoppingeasy access
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
200 - 205 of 246 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2011

This is the third time we've stayed at the Vistas. The location is great, and the grounds are generally well manitained. I love the fact that there is a kitchen and washer/dryer combo in the unit - travelling with small kids is definitely convenient. This time we were in unit 303 - Gulf view. Pluses: great view; entry key pad instead of card keys; lots of cookware and utensils in the kitchen -very well stocked. Minuses: the bed in the master bedroom is terrible, and both my husband and I could not get comfortable. The state of the sheets is also questionable - my 3 year old slept under a torn sheet. The DVD player in the living room did not work, and one of the round patio tables was cracked - a hazard for kids. I agree with some of the other comments regarding cleanliness - when we arrived (late afternoon), the floors did not look like they were swept, the carpets were dirty, but the bathrooms were the worst. Also, one of the front burners on the stove did not work. Like other units we stayed in before, this one also had beach chairs and toys for the kids. Generally, we like this property, and plan to come back again, but would like to see these units better maintained.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BeachBumx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

I have just recently returned from a two week stay at Vista on the Gulf Unit 302. There were some good things about the unit , but many many short falls...The location was great ,walking distance to grocery stores,Walgreens and many fabulous restuarants.We had a an end unit which made for a great view of the beach and amazing sunsets.The unit was no as large as they had led me to believe. would not really recommend this for any more than 2 people unless only staying for a night or two.We arrived an hour after check in the unit was not ready and although a huge problem , upon entering it was only surface cleaned. The bathrooms(2) were flithy and needed to be recleaned ,(hairs all over the floor ,bobby pins still on the floor from last tenant) most of the dishes needed rewashing, found a candy stuck to the sofa that was who knows how old.very little storage space,dry good had to be stored in baskets on top of the refridgerator,fridge was turned up on high unbeknown to me as the numbers on the dial were worn off, this led to a freeze of some of the foods i bought ,salads meats fresh fruit etc that i had to throw out. About 4 days into the trip the annual plight of the love bugs as the are known started. although not the owners fault our balcony and the pool were infested with these bugs. We were unable to use either .The bugs were coming in under the patio door if you were venture out to retrive something or even try to sweep them away for some enjoyment on the patio the would cling to your closes. Needless to say the were all over the condo as well.basically leaving us without the balcony except for the late evenings for more than half our trip.We payed extra money for the gulf front view so felt a little ripped off.the love bugs only live for a day or two and then die off,the stairwells were covered with these bugs and for 10 days it wasnt swept or cleaned ,you can imagine the state of the bugs..

there was a guest book in the condo and many others in the past left comments about the lack of cleanliness , the owners said they addressed this issue with their service , I think its time to revisit the issue.

Although I have stated some negative comments I would like to say that the Location was great. If you wanted to chance the no bug problem and a change of cleaning service Go for it... The view is amazing!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jbatsonyqx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

My college-aged son, my husband and I stayed in #404 in March. The condo was absolutely PERFECT! It was spotless, the view from the balcony was to die for and the 2nd bathroom and den afforded all of us the little extra privacy you don't usually get in a standard hotel. The owner has a full array of everything you could need in the kitchen and provided frre wi-fi, beach chairs, umbrellas and coolers. There are two flat screen TV's in the den and living room and a third TV in the bedroom. The paint on the walls looked fresh. The overall feeling of the condo was that the owner was diligent on maintaining their unit. The staff in the office are extremely helpful and the maintenance staff keep the property in sparkling condition. The beach is right out your door and it's wonderful. I give #404 and Vistas a two thumbs up!

Room Tip: Call the owner of #404 at 574-532-2171
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Floridabound064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

we were in 501. Heard other rooms were better maintained but 501 was a filthy mess. Pool was way overchlorinated it bleached out a new swim suit in 1 week.
Rooms were tiny kitchen was tiny no knives or other cooking amenities. Tatty sheets very dirty and way overpriced.
Stay away!!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nbstl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2010

I stayed at Vistas on the Gulf #408 and had an amazing time. The condo is located directly on the beach, the pool was always spotlessly clean and very warm. and the beach was beautiful. We looked at other places on the beach and Vistas on the Gulf was the best value for our money. Even though this is listed as a 1 bedroom the den was converted into a small second private bedroom and the couch in the living room folded out into a bed. This place easily sleeps 6 people and has 2 bathrooms. There was also a dining room table, fully equipped kitchen, a good size balcony and a washer/dryer in the unit. Felt more like a home then a rental unit.

#408 came complete with all kinds of beach chairs, umbrellas, coolers, beach toys, wave boards, etc. which made our beach experience perfect. There is a sand bar right off the beach that you can easily swim out to. Bring your snorkel gear to see all kinds of fish, crabs, shells, and even dolphins. At times the dolphins would swim very close to us out on the sand bar - It was fantastic! We saw them everyday. The sunsets on St. Pete Beach were some of the best I have ever seen. There were also plenty of great restaurants and bars that you could walk to from the condo. The location was perfect.

The downside to this unit was that it faced another building. However, we still got a view of the pool and a partial ocean view. We looked at other units with a better view and decided to go with #408 as it was kept up much better - not all units are alike! Some of the units we looked at were cheaply furnished and/or outdated. #408 was nicely decorated, it looked like it has been recently painted, it had a large plasma tv in the living room and cable tv in both bedrooms. The condo also had a really comfortable leather couch and recliners. Unlike the other units, this unit had curtains which made you feel more at home (The other units have cheap looking vertical blinds with some of them missing). There were a lot of little nice touches in this unit and we would definitely stay here again.

TIP: There are a few management companies that rent out these units. The main one is Liberty and they have an office on site. They are very friendly, and go out of their way to help you. If you book with a different management company, the people onsite can't assist you if you get locked out or need anything. You could also probably save money by booking direct with the owner which is what we did. Call Terry at [--], he is very helpful!

Overall, it was a wonderful, relaxing vacation and I look forward to going back for years to come.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank krayoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews