We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste of $$$”

Suncoast Watersports
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We have 4 different catamaran boat tours that run from morning until sunset. Group rates and private charters are available for up to 49 passengers.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We took the Sand Dollar Island boat tour. $35 for adult. $25 for kids. It was almost 20 minutes late. They loaded us on. The ride out was pleasant. We got to the island and was told we had about 40 minutes. By the time everyone unloaded, we had like 30 min. Then back on and we made it back to the drop off location quickly. But $60 for a boat ride and 40 minutes on a sand bar? Don’t waste your $$$. The Shell Key ferry is a better deal at $25 and $12 for kids and you can stay a lot longer.

Thank Lancaster1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff C, Owner at Suncoast Watersports, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

That’s a bummer. I’m sorry you didn’t find it a value. Most people rave about the trip and love the sand bar. If you aren’t satisfied then contact me and I will make it right but I think many people find our trip superior to the ferry because we aren’t just shuttling you and dropping you off. We make certain every trip finds dolphins and has a great time on a brand new boat along the way to and from our destination which generally has great shelling compared to the over picked shell island. I would say if your sole purpose is to go shelling for a few hours than the shuttle is a great alternative to our trip because you get more time to walk around. The downside is when they leave you have no facilities for restrooms, drinks and other conveniences we offer by standing by during your tour. Please contact me so we can help put a better spin on your experience. You should have got about an hour on the island so if you only got 40 minutes than I apologize. We are always willing to make things right with our guests. Thanks for coming out I look forward to hearing from you soon so we can discuss and find a solution. Thanks -Geoff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"mahi"
in 6 reviews
"captain mike"
in 6 reviews
"free beer"
in 4 reviews
"dolphin cruise"
in 6 reviews
"beautiful sunset"
in 7 reviews
"saw dolphins"
in 6 reviews
"the compass rose"
in 2 reviews
"intracoastal waterway"
in 2 reviews
"sand dollars"
in 6 reviews
"clean boat"
in 2 reviews
"island tour"
in 3 reviews
"brews cruise"
in 2 reviews
"crew members"
in 2 reviews
"sea shells"
in 3 reviews
"all ages"
in 3 reviews
"pod of dolphins"
in 2 reviews
"these guys"
in 3 reviews
Filter

3 - 7 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had an amazing time on the Sunset Cruise. Captain Mike and Dakota were awesome as we saw dolphins, a beautiful sunset and great drinks. We would recommend this to anyone looking for a great evening.

Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It was our second time on the sunset cruise with Captain Mike and 1st mate Dean. The first time was so fun we had to come back. This time we came with our friends to celebrate my hubs birthday and it was perfect. We saw lots of dolphins, had cold drinks with island music and saw a beautiful sunset. I would recommend this trip to anyone-Mike and Dean are the best and so much fun!

Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a great time. Clean boat, friendly staff.
Need some dark beer on the menu;) the island was nice even with lots of boats it was not crowded. Great way to spend an afternoon.

Thank Tjoines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What can I say? These guys really know how to provide a good time! Rough seas forced a change in departing location and a delay in the departure time, but they kept everyone informed of all changes by text. Once we were on the boat, they took us on the Intercoastal for a smoother ride, where we saw numerous Dolphins and the beautiful scenery. Then it was off to Shell Island, which didn't disappoint. Sand Dollars were the prize everyone was looking for, and most came back with at least one. This trip was truly enjoyable for our family. Would strongly recommend.

Thank 791stephenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Suncoast Watersports also viewed

 

Been to Suncoast Watersports? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing