We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick getaway”
Review of Buccaneer Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. George Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Buccaneer Inn
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Quick getaway”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

My wife and I spent a relaxing Friday and Saturday night. The room looked and smelled clean. Everything looked nice except a large worn spot on the carpet. The mini-fridge was nice. The bed was comfortable. The only thing I would change is the guests that hung outside their room smoking.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jose R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    65
    47
    27
    42
See reviews for
73
82
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort White, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

The bed is very hard. It is an old beach motel and smells like it. Buy your ice before you cross the bridge as the motel does not give ice. The pool courtyard is in need of crub appeal. I can say the location is good and that is the best thing going for this motel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dorothy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. George Island hotels

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We had a very nice stay at The Buccaneer Inn! Our room was facing the ocean with a large balcony. Our room was spacious and updated. The bathroom was very nice with its own heater and a wonderful jacuzzi tub. We will be coming back.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank farleym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moultrie
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

There are alot of better places to stay on the island. I have been coming to the island for 20 plus years. The Buccaner is not that bad. See St. George Island started out as a nothing island with a few old block houses that people stayed in for hog hunting. Then the park came so the Motel was built. Really it was just built for a one stay for people just coming to stay on the island. St. George Island is beautiful and I have watched it become trashed and commericialized from other people. Quit complaining and enjoy it.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

This is the first time we have been to St George and read the reviews of the Buccaneer Inn and decided to stay there. It is really the only motel on the island, it is mainly beach house rentals. It is a beach hotel. We stayed on the 2nd floor in the free standing building that has a private balcony that looks right on the beach. The room is big with a king bed, refrigerator, but no microwave. Since we were there in Jan, it was off season so there were not a lot of people around.
But I would highly recommend going to Eddy Teach's raw bar for food and beer/wine. That's where the locals go, and it is very interesting.

Room Tip: The rooms in the free standing building are more expensive, we paid 130.00 a night (including taxes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. George Island
0.4 km away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#1 of 2 in St. George Island
186 reviews
13.6 km away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
364 reviews
14.3 km away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 km away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
379 reviews
14.1 km away
Rancho Inn
Rancho Inn
#4 of 5 in Apalachicola
138 reviews
13.8 km away
Coombs House Inn
Coombs House Inn
#1 of 3 in Apalachicola
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buccaneer Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buccaneer Inn

Property: Buccaneer Inn
Address: 160 W Gorrie Dr, St. George Island, FL 32328-2728
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > St. George Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in St. George Island
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,875 - ₹ 13,887
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently updated, queen and king beds, non-smoking, outdoor swimming pool, grills, conference room, kitchenettes and regular rooms. Family environment. No pets please. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buccaneer Hotel St. George Island
Buccaneer Hotel Saint George Island
Buccaneer Motel Saint George Island
Buccaneer St George Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing