We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Pleasant Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL
Ranked #56 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Very Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

We recently stayed two nights at this hotel and were very suprised at the value. The room were very clean (a little outdated, but clean), the staff friendly and you can't beat the location. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    370
    333
    173
    181
See reviews for
461
519
41
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

The people at the front desk were extremely friendly. The breakfast there was more that I expected and was nice to be able to go to before heading out for the day. Our room was quiet and there is plenty of adequate parking. It was nice to be able to catch the trolley right there in the parking lot, made it very convenient. My only issue was there were a few small bugs in our bathroom which we killed but nothing that was extreme. The over all experience was good and it was nice to go in a room that was clean smelling.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not on the right side of the tree...there is a bar close by with loud music and yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights, as part of a trip to watch the Jacksonville Jaguars, and the hotel is a good, reasonably priced place to stay when visiting St Augustine

Check in was easy with the lady on reception being very helpful, and the rooms were basic, but clean and tidy.

There is plenty of free parking onsite and there is also a guest laundry.

The location is about a 10 minute walk to the castle, but it is an easy walk for most people.
Considering the cost of most hotels in the area, this makes a good budget alternative.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DerbyshireEvil_Homer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

The hotel is conveniently located – trolley service goes through this location. I only drove at nights to eat out. I knew the hotel was old and I was expecting a peculiar smell in the rooms. Not sure if it came from the carpet or the walls themselves … 30 minutes later you would not even notice it anymore. Couple of things they could pay a little more attention to – or perhaps the person that is staying: bathroom lighting was not working well (flickering fluorescent) and the smoke detector started beeping in the middle of the night as if the battery was running low. They did fix those immediately upon request. Complimentary breakfast was basic and sufficient for my taste.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jorgindelperu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LI NY
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

Worst HoJo motel I ever stayed in. Place looks great with that old tree in the center. Just be carefull you don't get run over by the tourest trams that pass by in the parking lot every 15 minutes. Their parking lot seems to be a main street with cars going in and out. Keep the kids close. The room was old, the bathtub was not cleaned. The TV didn't get every channel. Carpet needs help. We never put our suitcases on the floor. Only one ice machine working. The check-in person didn't put much of an effert to be nice. We did stay here four years ago when it was OK Now it's the same rooms just worn out. This place needs an overhaul.

Room Tip: Check for bed bugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaptainManny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hojoManager, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL, responded to this review, 18 November 2011
We thank you for your review of our hotel, and we sincerely apologize for your stay being anything less than satisfactory. However, the Trolley and Red Train Tours are our main attractions that afford guests the opportunity to be picked up on the property, and taken to see the oldest city safely and comfortably. We assure you that our rooms and carpets are deep-cleaned regularly by professionals. HoJo thanks you for your patronage and sincerely hopes that you would reconsider coming back to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.3 km away
Days Inn St Augustine/Historic Downtown
0.4 km away
Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine
0.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
#21 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
0.7 km away
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#44 of 79 in St. Augustine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
1.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL

Property: Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL
Address: 137 San Marco Ave, I-95 Exit#318 & SR 16E, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3264
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,824 - ₹ 13,494
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn-Historic St Augustine Hotel Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing