We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must Try”

Carmelo's Marketplace
Ranked #47 of 580 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Must Try”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

As others have said, don't let the fact that it is in the same building with a convenience store deter you from trying Carnelo's food. I had one of the best sandwiches ever and the pizza looked so good I intended to go back and try it but ran out of time.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    59
    13
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hole-In-The-Wall You Don't Want To Miss”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Carmelo's Marketplace is a joint Shell gas station and Pizzeria restaurant. They have everything you could possibly need in one store, and is a destination only locals know about. They have excellent pizza-for dining in, delivery, and take out. New York Style Pizza is no understatement, and the rest of their menu is delicious. I highly recommend it for the dining experience, because what goes better with pizza then a full beer and wine bar? Add it to your must-sees in the Oldest City.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Snack”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Well, we only stop by late one night for a snack, so we had a slice of pizza (hawaiian and Carmelo's Special) taste was good and staff friendly.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank chichi058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in Saint Augustine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

I eat a lot of pizza, having moved to Vilano Beach from NYC. Carmelo's ranks with the best NY pizza's. I was quite afraid of the area not having decent pizza - which is true of so many other cities. Along with the great pizza, the service is top notch. Just a great staff!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank grnlght
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Love love love!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

We went to Carmelo's during our vacation last year and we loved it so much we ate there twice. My family fought over the leftovers. We still talk about Carmelo's and how we are looking forward to our trip in a couple of weeks to eat there again! If it was up to my kids we would eat there everyday during our tri. We can't wait to eat there again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulaLaLaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carmelo's Marketplace also viewed

 

Been to Carmelo's Marketplace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing