We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't do it!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Beachers Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beachers Lodge
Ranked #18 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't do it!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

We ended up staying here at the last minute during the tail end of spring break season. The fact that they had an opening should have been a warning. They told us we got the last two rooms when we made the reservation over the phone but when we were checking in I heard the front desk person telling someone on the phone that they got the last two rooms! They had gotten our reservation confused and the man at the front desk was so unhelpful. The rooms are actually individually owned condos that are rented out for various lengths of time so there may be quality differences in the units but the two we rented were very worn out. The shower drained very slowly, the furniture was worn and to top it off the housekeeping lady chewed out my daughter for packing too much stuff (we had been traveling for 10 days and each had one suitcase). The only good thing about the place was the location on the beach and a great restaurant nearby (South Beach Grill).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whizgeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crescent_Beach_Lover, General Manager at Beachers Lodge, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
We are baring it all at the beach! Our new booking engine allows guest to see what rooms are actually available. (You will know if you are booking the last 2 rooms and which ones they are) We feel that it is important for our guests to see the quality and the amenities of the room that they are reserving. We do have individually owned condos and they are all a bit different. We have pricing that reflects the quality of the furnishings. If you want the nicest suite on the property, you can reserve it. If you are looking for a "budget friendly" suite, you can reserve it. Our staff is very knowledgeable on the room offerings and are here to assist. We typically get compliments on how friendly the staff is, so this report is out of the ordinary. We know that cleanliness is of the utmost importance. We have full time staff that is focused on cleaning furniture and carpets, any report of issue with furnishings is given top priority. Make a reservation in advance or last minute, you will still be able to select the room that is just right for your beach vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    128
    38
    24
    15
See reviews for
164
141
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

We just got back from there for the weekend. It was a great location.. but the sliding glass door would not lock, and the air conditioner did not work in the sitting room.. the internet would not work.. we called them and they said they would fix it but they never did... The pool was NOT heated!!

Room Tip: I would avoid 104
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crescent_Beach_Lover, General Manager at Beachers Lodge, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
We hate to hear that our guests had issues during their stay. Some times the free services that we offer can become more of an aggravation than a service. We are currently having issues with the Wifi at the pool area. We have been working all weekend to get things up and running, however the availability of parts and shipping slow down the process. Each condo is different, and our website allows you to choose the room that suits your style and vacation needs. There are Gold rooms that are best of the best, Silver rooms have standard amenities and Bronze rooms are a more economical option. Same great views, but different quality levels and price points to choose from. Guest service should not be an issue, we love to take care of the needs of our guests. An air conditioner problem reported to the front desk would get immediate attention from our staff, even it it is after the maintenance staff leave for the day, we would have someone called in to take care of an ac issue as soon as possible. While our location is good, we really do have some suites that are even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Beacher's Lodge is in Crescent Beach, about 10 miles south of St. Augustine on Anastasia Island. It is an all-condo property, but we were able to get a weekend rental and there is an office onsite staffed until 11p. The property does allow pets, but there were no problems with noise or mess. WONDERFUL ocean-front view from the private balcony - easily the best part for me! The room is small, we stayed in 408 which has a separate bedroom, sofa bed, and full kitchenette. The bed was comfortable, the unit was air conditioned but we preferred to open up to the natural breeze. There are ice machines, laundry facilities, and vending available. We did not use the pool, but it looked nice and there were several people using it and lounging around it. There is a walkway to the beach over some protected dunes, but no more than a few hundred feet (no problem to tote chairs/umbrellas), with a locked gate. Wireless internet is available and was reliable during our stay. Daily housekeeping provided. Do note that there is not a lifeguard on this beach (at least in early May). It is also a driving beach, as in much of this area, so you have to be careful of cars - they have to pay to get in to drive on the beach and only 4x4s really should attempt as the sand is soft here. Nice sand on the beach, good to walk on, but not many shells.
We had a slight problem with the office upon check-in but it was resolved in a timely manner and they were pleasant. (They wanted us to pay for a prepaid room and the keys to our original room didn't work so they gave us another room) We didn't eat very near the hotel, so can't recommend restaurants in the area.
We were able to rent bikes at a small place a block north (Surf Station) and they have other rentals of surfboards, etc. Riding on the beach was hard into the wind but delightful with the wind. In St.Augustine proper, we recommend the Red Bus tour and the Ripley's Ghost tour - we enjoyed both!
Overall, a great relaxing weekend with a fantastic beach view in a quiet place near St. Augustine. Recommend it!

Room Tip: Rooms x08 are on the corner near the ocean walkway and the pool. Very slight noise from people comi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank homemh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

This is a very OLD hotel that someone has made into condos. We stayed in #126. The kitchen was poorly furnished....just the very basics and NO dishwasher. At $165/night I expected better. The pool was our biggest complaint - they advertised that it was heated...but it was FREEZING!! They told us that if the ocean temp got above 70, they turned the heaters off. First - what does the ocean temp have to do with the pool temp....and 2nd - 70degrees is really COLD. Many people complained while we were there and we suspected that the heater was broken - but we were told if we departed early, we would not receive a refund. HORRIBLE HOTEL. During the 2nd week in May you can't expect the ocean to be warm yet....but if a hotel advertises a heated pool, you expect it to be HEATED.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crescent_Beach_Lover, General Manager at Beachers Lodge, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
We want to make sure every guest enjoys their stay here at Beacher’s Lodge. After speaking to this guest directly, we were able to correct some of the misinformation and reach a resolution to this guest’s particular issue. The pool at Beacher’s Lodge is heated. The ocean temperature has nothing to do with the heaters being on or off, the pool heaters were set for 84 degrees and they were functioning. However, the issue with the pool that particular weekend was the high speed winds competing with the heat generators. The pool temperature was 80 degrees when measured…which admittedly is too cool to be considered comfortably heated. When this guest reached management, consideration was given on their stay, (the nightly rate which actually averaged $129 a night for our largest oceanfront one bedroom condo – On the Pay for 3, Stay 4 Special). In light of the events, we did contact our pool heater service company and verified that the heaters are working properly. While we thought this had been resolved already with the guest directly, we still thought it was appropriate to respond to this TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

The folks at Beacher's Lodge were great! We had a slight problem with our hot water heater but it was taken care of immediately! Gorgeous view! A few miles away from the hustle and bustle of downtown so you can really enjoy how beautiful the beaches and scenery are in St. Augustine. Yet it is still close enough to downtown that its only a short drive to enjoy all the sights downtown has to offer. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tooleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
8.2 km away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
7.8 km away
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
9.4 km away
BEST WESTERN St. Augustine Beach Inn
BEST WESTERN St. Augustine Beach...
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
#5 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
9.4 km away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
16.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachers Lodge

Property: Beachers Lodge
Address: 6970 A1a S, St. Augustine, FL 32080-8103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St. Augustine
#18 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
#21 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,447 - ₹ 15,299
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachers Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beacher's Lodge is a condo hotel right on the beach... Beautiful Crescent Beach at the south end of St. Augustine. Only 10 miles to historic St. Augustine, just off the beaten path. Each suite is decorated differently but they all have great views of the ocean. Full Kitchens and the amenities of home, at hotel pricing. Enjoy the view of the ocean from the comfort of your living room. One of the few hotels directly on the beach. Some condos at Beacher's Lodge allow pets, but not all. Heated oceanfront pool is enjoyable year round. Enjoy more than a hotel room can offer in our one bedroom condos and our kitchenette suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Beachers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacher`s Hotel Saint Augustine
Beachers Hotel Saint Augustine
Beachers Lodge St Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing