We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Nice room, Not Hospitable AT ALL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Saragossa Inn B&B
Ranked #25 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 November 2016

We arrived approx. 6:10pm after having to call for better directions & inability to read street signs after dark. No one was in the office(after climbing the flight of stairs to get there). We call the # again, and were told that our room was unlocked and the key was inside on a table. We were also informed that breakfast is PROMPTLY @ 9:30am.Thinking that we might get locked out of breakfast, we arrived (@ the same office) @ 9:15 only to have someone stick their head out of the door and tell us we have to wait outside until 9:30. REALLY? No offer of juice, coffee, "come on in- we'll be ready in a few minutes, have a seat". We left & had breakfast elsewhere. The only time that we saw anyone in our 2 days/nights stay was in the parking lot in the dark on our 2nd night, when the "owner" (he said he was)was apparently waiting for us to ask if we unscrewed the light bulb outside of our room. WHAT??? It was pitch black dark at our entrance on night #1.Maybe somebody should have checked this before we ever arrived. We didn't know that a light was there. We were using a flashlight. When we commented on how strange it was to only be able to talk with someone via telephone, he stated that "this is the 21st Century, you know." How RUDE! Also, we were left with approx. 2 tsp. of coffee when we arrived. We bought our own @ a local grocery store on night # 1. He filled our container, 24 hours after we had gotten our own. Was it worth the price? No. Will we stay there, again? No.

Room Tip: Be careful-shower water temperature fluctuates cold to HOT to cold
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CLW55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesaragossainn, Owner at The Saragossa Inn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2016

Here at the Saragossa Inn we are a small family run 6 room B&B and we try to treat all of our guests with the same kindness and the same respect. On a rare occasion we have that grumpy guest that for some reason thinks they deserve preferential treatment. This often means other guests don’t get the attention they deserve. So, again, we try to treat all of our guests with the same level of quality service. And why would I lie about being the owner if I wasn’t.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2016

This Inn is situated in a location that is very easy to walk to all of the main sightseeing. The size of the room was fine- my only complaint is that the bathroom was old and tub appeared to be dirty. Also, the mattress having stains that are visible on the sides of the bed . The staff is very nice and the food was excellent, morning brunch. Nobody disturbs you which is a nice feature. I think they just need to do some updating otherwise I would have given it another star.

Room Tip: choose a large room, much nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brevardeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesaragossainn, Owner at The Saragossa Inn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2016

All of our bathrooms have received a complete or partial make-over. These remodels have been done to keep our baths looking appropriate for our 1924 Sears Craftsman home and to reflect the style of the guest room itself. We have kept a few of the original cast iron tubs. They may not be sparkling white but they are deep and roomy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

Nice accommodation. The bed was comfortable and we had a great night sleep.

The inn is within walking distance to main shopping and restaurants area.

We were travelling with our pet shin tsu and they accommodated us by allowing us to have a beautiful breakfast outside on the upstairs patio.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

Very close walking distance to everything! Nice B&B comfy beds and the breakfast was excellent. A little on the "rustic" side for me. But I think thats what most are expecting at a B&B. Had a good two night stay. As a total hotel snob I have more input that I will withhold because I think Saragossa is what a B&B is supposed to be, and just not what I am used to as someone who typically stays in high dollar hotels. Glad for the experience and would recomend the Saragossa in to B&B enjoyers.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Rigma84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2016

My daughter and I went to Saint Augustine on Sunday April 17th to self-tour Flagler College with her as a prospective student. She loved it so much we decided to stay and do the official prospective student tour the next morning. We had no place to stay and started to search online. My daughter had never stayed at a B&B so I thought this could be a nice new experience for her. And it was! The Saragossa Inn answered our call and met us at the property to show us the room within 15 minutes of our call! They cleaned the room for us and booked us in (through booking.com) in about 2 minutes. The next morning they cooked us a delicious 3 course breakfast! And the Inn was an 8 minute walk to Flagler and about 12 to 15 minute walk to St. George Street! With private parking in the rear. You never have to move your car. On a nice quiet residential street. What a great experience! Would definitely go back again!

Room Tip: Book the Southwind. It has 2 rooms and accommodations for 4!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Robin Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.6 km away
Castle Garden Bed and Breakfast
Castle Garden Bed and Breakfast
#29 of 31 in St. Augustine
145 reviews
0.7 km away
Peace and Plenty Inn
Peace and Plenty Inn
#16 of 31 in St. Augustine
721 reviews
0.1 km away
63 Orange Street Bed and Breakfast
63 Orange Street Bed and Breakfa...
#26 of 31 in St. Augustine
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Southern Wind Inn
Southern Wind Inn
#23 of 31 in St. Augustine
277 reviews
0.8 km away
Victorian House
Victorian House
#10 of 31 in St. Augustine
530 reviews
0.7 km away
Penny Farthing Inn
Penny Farthing Inn
#12 of 31 in St. Augustine
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saragossa Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saragossa Inn B&B

Address: 34 Saragossa St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3569
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range: ₹ 10,402 - ₹ 15,380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Saragossa Inn B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
began life as a 1924 Sears Craftsman Bungalow that has expanded over the passage of time and now houses two guest suites and four guest rooms, all with private entrances and private baths. The layout of the Saragossa will allow you all the privacy you want, yet is small enough for you to receive all the attention you need. The Saragossa is rustic and romantic, quaint and comfortable, relaxing and revitalizing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Saragossa Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Saragossa Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing