We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best B & B Ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cedar House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Augustine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cedar House Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Best B & B Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We chose to stay at the Cedar House Inn based on the reviews on T.A. They are all spot on.
We stayed two nights - March 19th and 20th - and could not have chosen a better home away from home or better location. Cyndi is a wonderful hostess and made us feel welcome from the moment she opened the door. She gave us lots of ideas of things to see and do and quite a number of restaurant recommendations. (Be sure to eat at Harry's Seafood.) We stayed in The Gables Room which has lovely bedding and furnishings and has it's own little balcony to enjoy. The bathroom has a brand new glassed-in shower and a beautiful stained glass window. The room is gets lots of light on the west side of the house and overlooks another nice old house next door. The front porch is such a relaxing place to sit and read or chat with other folks staying at the inn. The first morning we enjoyed breakfast on the porch and the fruit salad and waffles were wonderful. The next morning we were served Baked Streusel Pears served with a Blueberry Pour overtop along with what I will call a Spanish Souffle with hollandaise sauce that had a little bite to it. It was to die for! We both agreed it is the best food we have ever had at a B & B (and that souffle was the best breakfast we have ever had anywhere, anytime) and our favourite B & B (and we have stayed at many). We hope we will be able to return to St. Augustine and we will definitely stay with Cyndi again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Winnipegmelody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    656
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
510
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
235 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

This B and B was just perfect-- great owner and staff. Anything you need that isn't already available? Just ask and it will appear :) Wonderful breakfasts-

My sole "complaint" was the room size. We stayed in the Grove and the room was really just too small for us. We travel with bags, camera bags, lap tops... just not enough space to put these things. There IS a dresser in the room and the vanity in the bath also had several drawers. If you are there for a few days, unpacking into the dresser and leaving the luggage in the car would be a good idea. The room was beautiful and the bed very comfortable. Just a bit small for our us. Not a mark against the B and B, but simply a warning for those who travel with lots of items the way we do.

Plenty of space outside on the upstairs porch and a spacious front porch had lots of sitting areas.

Carriages clop by often... and it's a perfect spot to walk the old town. Only a block or so from the Lightner Museum and Flagler College. Roughly a mile to the old city gates and fort. Great location.

Cyndi and Gena/Gina were both absolutely wonderful and anything you might want/need? they happily produce it for you. The service is top of the line! The B and B is immaculate both inside and out as well.

Highly, highly recommend this B and B for a great stay. You will not be disappointed! Perfect!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wings1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

The rooms are fantistic and the service is better than to be expected. The inn is within walking distance to most attractions and places to eat. Cyndi (the inn keeper) went out of her way to accomodate our large truck and bikes. She provided excellent recommendations for places to eat and things to do later in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Playin-Hooky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

The Cedar House Inn is a beautiful old Victorian house along a quiet street just blocks from downtown St. Augustine.

The property is only a small part of the inn's beauty, the real joy is the owner and hostess, Cyndi, who radiates love and good wishes to all, her guests, her neighbors, and her family.

Add to that comfortable beds, surroundings, and delicious food and you will not want to leave.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JP_PA_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverview, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Where to start...Well this was a last minute decision to go to St. Augustine for our honeymoon let alone stay at a bed and breakfast. Neither one of us had stayed at a bed and breakfast before and thought it would be a nice experience as opposed to staying at a hotel. Well my husband is a firm believer in Trip Advisor, and that is how he found Cedar House Inn. He told me to read all the reviews and check it out and see what I thought. I liked the fact that there are only 7 rooms which to me makes it more of an intimate setting and all the reviews were raving about how wonderful this place was. So, we booked our stay, and fortunately for us being last minute there was a room available for our stay. We stayed in the Biscayne which is a beautiful room. I will say when we arrived at 230pm we went to get a coffee and came back to be greeted by Cindi. She was wonderful and so is Gina whom we met as well. They both work very well with each other and make sure everyone is taken care of. We both will say that this is the best first experience at a bed and breakfast and will definitely return to stay here again. As others have said breakfasts are gourmet, and you do not have to worry about parking. Location is perfect for everything...Thank you again Cindi and Gina for making our honeymoon spectacular, so much that we did not want to leave.
Darlene and John

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Augustine hotels
0.5 km away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
0.5 km away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Ba...
#13 of 79 in Saint Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
1.6 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 79 in Saint Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.2 km away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autogr...
#16 of 79 in Saint Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
0.5 km away
Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cedar House Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cedar House Inn

Property: The Cedar House Inn
Address: 79 Cedar Street, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Augustine
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,014 - ₹ 20,095
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cedar House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedar House Inn Bed & Breakfast is located in the heart of St. Augustine's historic district. Recapture the elegance of the charming Victorian Era while enjoying 21st Century amenities at Cedar House Inn. Romance and History come alive at the beautifully restored 1893 Victorian home of Cynthia Humphrey ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cedar House Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing