We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (435)
Filter reviews
435 results
Traveller rating
329
76
24
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
329
76
24
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bowling alley friendly staff new england style high quality fish main course lunch buffet main restaurant spa area fantastic hotel be aware sea view small harbour steak meeting facilities front desk staff relaxing experience
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 435 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2017

Located on a quiet cove this is a charming resort hotel with a nautical theme. Hotel was about a 2 hour drive from the Oslo airport. I arrived with a group and they had all of our room keys ready to hand out. Rooms were small (typical for Norway) and very much reminded me of a cruise ship in a good way with the nautical carrying through.

Room was very clean and new. Bed was comfortable and there were a couple of English stations available on the TV. Bathroom was efficiently arranged and toiletries included: shampoo, condition, lotion and shower gel.

Staff was friendly and spoke excellent English. The fuse blew on my converter in the morning and I went to the front desk to borrow one and they did not have any available so I went with my hair in a pony tail that day. That was my only disappointment.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laila A, Daglig leder at Stotvig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Dear AAS,
Thank you for your review, all your kind words are well recieved by the staff at the hotel.
We wish you welcome back to our hotel!
Best Regards, Laila Aarstrand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

Another excellent stay in beautiful surroundings. Friendly staff, clean...just greate.
The roms are a bit warm, and the beds a bit hard. But I like it to be cold and soft.
Other than that. Best hotel in The whole world.

Room tip: Any room is a Good room.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cathrine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laila A, Daglig leder at Stotvig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Dear Cathrine R,
Thank you for your review, we hope to see you back in the near future.
Kind Regards, Laila Aarstrand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017

Alright, this summer we are doing the motorhome thingy. First trip for the summerseason was a short trip to Larkollen. They have a campground there by the sea. Quite nice actually.

Our 10th wedding aniversery called for more than Gab's home cooking...the wife said.
We decided to get on our bikes and cyckle over to the Støtvig Hotel and the main restaurant.

First impression was good. The Hotel is nice, clean with a friendly and helpful staff.
The dining area is also nice with a fine view over the small harbour and the sea.
The menu was short but well put together.
The wine menu is spectaular.

For starters, the wife decided on the Norway lobster or sjøkreps if You like.
Gab went for the Trout tartar.

The wife was very happy with the sjøkreps, tasty and well presented.
The Trout looked and tasted more like Salmon. Still, the Salmon was good.

The wife did the duck for main while Gab tried the Halibut.
The duck was overseasoned and lost most of its ducky tast. The wife was not that imressed.
The Halibut was good but some of the dressings, like the peastew, overdid the fish in taste.
The kid had the tender loin. None of us was impressed with that.
The steak was not tender. It was tough and therefore left alone.
If I could come with a friendly advise, get a souse vide or get the south american tender loins from the local grocer.

The dessert was good, panacotta, icecream and sorbet.

For the level they seem to be aiming for, based on the setting and overly priced menu, this restaurant has the potential if they just pay a little more attention to quality ingredients.

The staff was nice and attentive.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Gabriel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laila A, Daglig leder at Stotvig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Dear Gabriel R,
Thank you for your review, all your comments have been forwarded to the head chef and we will take them under consideration.
We hope to see you back, and that we then live up to your expectations.
Kind regards, Laila Aarstrand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

Went here for a teambuilding trip which was very successful. This place has superb location, great rooms with most of them providing ocean view, friendly staff and loads of fun facilities such as bowling, shuffleboard, cinema, spa, indoor and outdoor pools and a couple of bars. With the proximity to Oslo, Storvig is a perfect weekend getaway for couples as well as families.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hong X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laila A, Daglig leder at Stotvig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Dear Hong X,
Thank you for your review.
We think that Støtvig Hotel is the perfect place to have team building trips to, and we are glad that you felt the same.
Hope to see you back at the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards, Laila Aarstrand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017 via mobile

My husband and I were looking for a place near Oslo so we could park the car and take the train into the city
We found this place on TripAdvisor and wow
A luxury stay at low prices
A beautiful pool,sauna and steam room
Immaculately clean and great food
I could stay here a week and skip Oslo!

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 165CathyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laila A, Daglig leder at Stotvig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Dear Cathy H,
Thank you for your stay at the hotel and the feedback from you.
The location of the hotel is one of our advantages, few meters from the sea yet under an hour away from Oslo.
Hope to see you back at the hotel.
Kind Regards, Laila Aarstrand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews